wazua Sun, Jun 21, 2026

18 Pages«<1415161718>
Is UK's Government Blind and Deaf?
#151 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 9:46:37 AM

There was a time I used to wonder why people would go on their knees and pray to Baba Moi, "tafadhali mtukufu Rais, baba was taifa, baby wa watoto wote.....etc etc" I'm happy now that I'm grown up enough to be able to document it for my children.

Sasa ni jubiree is right wapende wasipende na watadu?

2.5 billion is about 12500 greenhouses. 5 million blankets, 7 million bed sheets, 250000 beds etc etc

That is what we mean by gov't spending.

Leasing jets, new carpets, statues for dead people we don't like, and entertainment contracts to someone on the inside is what we call CORRUPTION.

It is ok to have press conferences, go to every TV and radio station, come to wazua at 2pm and tweet to death. But sometimes you do have to wash your car often. Buying a black car so that the dirt doesn't show doesn't make the car any cleaner. It's still dirty.
theman192000
#152 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 10:05:58 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
samsa wrote:
jguru wrote:

a dialysis machine costs 102 million. patients wait for months to get treatment at Kenyatta hospital because the obsolete machines available are always down.do you see anything to celebrate when these fellow Kenyans are suffering?
boost supermarket butcheries with my tax.ABK.

and the small Matter of IDPs most of who voted for JUBILEE in the hope that they can return to their shambas or get compensation? na hii baridi yote in camps?

Slight correction.

A Fresenius, Braun, Baxter or Nikisso dialysis machine costs approximately USD 35000 i.e. 3 million.

Consumables, water, electricity and nursing costs an average of Ksh4500 per dialysis session per patient.

Some kidney patients at KNH have taken KNH to court over provision of dialysis services at KNH.

It's a very sad situation what these patients go through.

When did these machines break down? Why have they never been addressed? Why remind us of it now?
Why cant we hold those who never attended it accountable? has it been brought to the government and the same government returned it 'unpaid'?

I was going to ask the same. It's the responsibility of the accounting officer (KNH CEO) to seek funding from the government. We may berate government's expenditure, rightfully so, but even the bible says ask and it will be given unto you, seek and you'll find, knock and the door will be open unto you. We should put the CEO to task about that.

Now, I'm not in support of the extravagant spending. It's too much. As in very much. But if it happens, lets look at it from another angle. Government spends sh2.5B to do the celebrations. Companies will be paid and will definitely have made profits. That profit will be taxed. Anything they buy will already be taxed. Through that, the government will recoup some of the moneys paid out, making the net expense lower than the sh2.5B. Just saying.

@Jguru, and @Rankaz13 and all the docs here. Please note I am not accusing anyone.

Is it true that some of these gov equipment and meds are stolen from public hospitals and dispensaries and end up in personal clinics/practices/pharmacies etc?

If u've worked in govt hospitals (level 5s) Is it true that these hospitals were supplied/well furnished with equipment but there were no docs to operate them the,so they started disappearing or rather they were transferred to God knows where?

Such pilferage may indeed have happened in the past, I recal stories of antiTB medications disappearing to some of our neighboring countries especially back when they themselves didn't offer free/subsidized HIV & TB treatment. However, over time, stringent accountability measures have been put in place and are thoroughly enforced so that this is now no longer an issue. The Pharmacy & Poisons Board has officers on the ground who carry out surveillance on the same.

As for equipment, nowadays the most likely scenario you'll find is equipment lying idle in the store because there're no technicians trained to operate the same. I still recall the sad story of a hospital that had a brand new mammogram machine lying in store because there were no staff to operate the same.

When you hear people talk of shortage if HCWs, it's important to actually note that the shortage is at all levels/cadres, not just doctors. There's a biting shortage of especially nurses, lab technologists, anesthetists (usually C.Os), laboratory technologists, biomedical technologists, nutritionists, etc all of whom are really important in creating an effective healthcare team. So much so that even when the doctor is there and ready to work, the absence of some of these core members renders him/her unable to perform her core duty, that of saving lives. Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be any concerted effort in officialdom to address this shortage.

On the issue of dialysis machines, it's truly sad when a patient has to travel from Mandera to KNH for dialysis. Given the cost of outright purchase and operating such machines, how difficult is it really for the same to be provided to Mandera district hospital for instance? I keep asking, what really is the value of a Kenyan in present day? Why, why, why do our people have to continue suffering so much in such a country as rich as ours? Some of the things I've seen around this country are enough to put a grown man to tears, unfortunately. People keep suffering and dying all because we couldn't be bothered to equip their local hospitals so that they can access service as, if and when they need it. By the way, the patient requiring dialysis will most obviously have renal failure. If you investigate further, you'll probably find that whatever caused the renal failure initially was something treatable but since the health facility was so far away or was not adequately staffed and equipped, coupled with prohibitive cost of accessing alternative private health care, the problem is let to fester. And at a time he needs us most, it turns out hata dialysis machine hakuna. Seriously? HCWs are only human, and I can tel you it is painful to look at another Kenyan in the eyes, see the pain in their eyes, and tell them there's nothing more you can do for them. Not because one is inept, but simply because the facilities at their disposal are so woefully inadequate. Not easy i tell you.

Hii maneno ya classification eti sijui level 4, 5, sijui nini is honestly inconsequential to a large extent. When you are sick, you expect quality service at whatever facility you check in to regardless of those levels. How is it that private hospitals have better equipment than the gov't? Kwani wana pesa nyingi kuliko serikali? Seriously? I ask again, what really is the value of a Kenyan life? How many more must suffer before we can collectively say ENOUGH, and call our gov't to account? How is Zambia able to pay its doctors several times more than what the Kenyan gov't pays its own? Malawi? Is anybody listening? Does anyone even care?

My two cents:

I agree that the CEO of KNH and the board are responsible for the proper equipping of the hospital. From the comments made before it seems that patients pay for dialysis treatment and therefore the procurement of several dialysis machines at 3 million a pop will pay for itself and become a money spinner.

On the issue of shortage of medical practitioners, we as parents also need to take responsibility in the careers we guide our children towards. I know of several parents whose children are sitting at home without jobs because there are no jobs in the sector that they were trained.

It is indeed unacceptable that patients travel from as far as Mandera to access dialysis services in Nairobi. Me thinks this is where devolution comes into play. Put pressure on your county government to deliver this services locally.

Finally on the 50 year bash what I can say is that last year or the year before we did not have a bash yet medical services were not availed adequately to the populace. So let us not give the excuse that this bash is what is standing in the way of Kenya achieving universal healthcare services for all its citizens. That would be very simplistic thinking.
#153 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 10:22:56 AM

Justice League wrote:
samsa wrote:
jguru wrote:

a dialysis machine costs 102 million. patients wait for months to get treatment at Kenyatta hospital because the obsolete machines available are always down.do you see anything to celebrate when these fellow Kenyans are suffering?

and the small Matter of IDPs most of who voted for JUBILEE in the hope that they can return to their shambas or get compensation? na hii baridi yote in camps?

Slight correction.

A Fresenius, Braun, Baxter or Nikisso dialysis machine costs approximately USD 35000 i.e. 3 million.

Consumables, water, electricity and nursing costs an average of Ksh4500 per dialysis session per patient.

Some kidney patients at KNH have taken KNH to court over provision of dialysis services at KNH.

When did these machines break down? Why have they never been addressed? Why remind us of it now?
Why cant we hold those who never attended it accountable? has it been brought to the government and the same government returned it 'unpaid'?

I was going to ask the same. It's the responsibility of the accounting officer (KNH CEO) to seek funding from the government. We may berate government's expenditure, rightfully so, but even the bible says ask and it will be given unto you, seek and you'll find, knock and the door will be open unto you. We should put the CEO to task about that.

Now, I'm not in support of the extravagant spending. It's too much. As in very much. But if it happens, lets look at it from another angle. Government spends sh2.5B to do the celebrations. Companies will be paid and will definitely have made profits. That profit will be taxed. Anything they buy will already be taxed. Through that, the government will recoup some of the moneys paid out, making the net expense lower than the sh2.5B. Just saying.

Clearly, the Jubilee apologists have refused to see the obvious. I can't believe someone can make this kind of argument supporting the wastage of public funds.

Using your logic, should we allow corruption to continue unabated since its beneficiaries invest money within Kenya?

Either you are trying to increase the number of your posts or you simply didn't understand what I said. I stated categorically that I'm not in support of the sh2.5B planned expenditure (toa goggles). I'm not a Jubilee apologist neither am I a Cord supporter. I simply stated IF it comes to pass, IF the government goes ahead with the celebrations as planned, there's the other side of a coin. Stop reading what you want to read, look at my statement objectively. It may appear warped, but that will be the reality, which, again I repeat for your mortal mind to understand; IT IS WRONG!!!
#154 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 10:40:32 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:

This is warped. What the Kenyan SME's require is not government contracts. They need a favorable working environment to expand their market share within and beyond the borders. This comes in the form of cheap energy, less bureaucracy, no corruption, good roads etc. The government does not have to hold extravagant bashes to stimulate growth of business.

Please don't get me wrong. Government does business with SMEs for provision of goods and services. People in business look for such contracts in whatever form they come in. True, the government needs to create that favorable working environment, but do you think businessmen won't go for contracts, hata kama ni ya bash, with the notion that it is extravagant? These are the opportunities many people go after.

Pareto efficiency states that it's impossible to make someone better off without making another better off. The Sh2.5B can be put into more serious use like the health sector or the police force (which I hope some sane mind in gava will consider), but the reality is, if its spent on celebrations (which I still state is wrong), don't think everyone will be up in arms. There are people waiting for that opportunity to happen so that they can boost the revenues of their businesses. Check my signature.
kenyanbeef
#155 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 11:32:01 AM

The piece below is why Government Spokesman Muthui Kariuki threatened to have journalist and blogger Betty Njoroge arrested.

Enough with the propaganda already, Jubilee!

I think parents should do more than just pay for their teenagers school fees; they should go out of their way to forge a sound relationship with them, one that is not based on arrogance and violence but on mutual respect and love. Teach your kids how to be honest and clear minded adults, because the result of just ignoring your teenage miscreants is one Muthui Kariuki.

Talk about a juvenile delinquent; Muthui Kariuki is the epitome of a childish deviant. As government spokesman for the backside of the Jubilee government, Muthui is really good at his job. In between issuing threats while claiming to be accommodative, this character has the audacity to claim that Raila Odinga’s politics are “chest thumping, hateful, arrogant and toxic.”

The pot calls the kettle black. For someone who has a record ZERO accomplishments as a civic leader this hot head sure brings a mouthful of trash to the table. By the way, he is a perfect representative for the Jubilee government which, despite having several stalwarts with over 20 years experience in government, have also a record of ZERO accomplishments.

Or as one colleague expressed recently, within the first 100 days of the Kibaki administration 1 million children went to school under the free primary education program; within the first 100 days under the Jubilee administration all children were out of school.

Of course, when you are busy doing nothing and yet being paid 76 times the average GDP, you need a mouthy person to sidetrack the people by saying all sorts of ridiculous things about perceived enemies. We are now to believe that despite Jubilee forming the government, and despite Jubilee dominating Parliament, the Senate and the County administrations, Raila Odinga is still the bane of Kenya and is somehow behind the many problems Jubilee is actually not dealing with.

The propaganda machinery in this government needs to improve by the way. Couldn’t they try something more intelligent than filling the daily news with stories of men shagging livestock? Or repeatedly insulting a man you claim is insignificant. When it comes to stupid utterances, none can out do Muthui Kariuki.

I don’t know what’s worse, some wannabe loud mouth or a president who is busy posting his latest status update in a rugby shirt. Each time I see his photos of how he was where laughing with who I feel so nauseated. Meanwhile his deputy is busy reinventing reality by calling himself a hustler. Is it the pain of the lie that makes him cry so much or what?

A man who made a fortune through corrupt means turns around and calls it hustling, another one who spends his time goofing off turns around and complains to teachers about the high wage bill meanwhile he does nothing for the economy and in fact sanctions ridiculous expenditure.

Now look here – why were our children out of school while you decreed that 250 million kshs will be spent on giving a retired 80 plus year old an office? Then you say the wage bill is high. It looks like it’s only high when you have to do the right thing and pay the service providers their dues.

Meanwhile, I expect that the next thing the government will say out its backside AKA Muthui Kariuki is that there is no money to pay for the free maternity despite it being a Jubilee campaign promise. That won’t surprise me at all, because there is money for luxury planes to Congo Brazzaville and money for retired old fogeys to have an office but no money to pay teachers and of course no money for hospitals.

I don’t even know how Uhuru Kenyatta finds the temerity to attend social functions. Wait. I get it now. He isn’t president, he is a celebrity! That’s why if he wears a rugby t-shirt, automatically he supports the rugby team with funds right? Where is that money coming from, if there is no money to pay the teachers?

This government is beyond redemption really. Rather than attempt to be functional we are going to be submitted to 5 whole years of propaganda and hogwash. Pictures of matching ties and laughing buffoons coupled with lurid tales of political bogeymen meanwhile the entire system is incapable of any form of decent service delivery. All of this will be conducted via the dumbest outlets no less.

bettywaitherero.blogspot.com

NB. Government Spokesman Muthui Kariuki was so incensed by Betty Njoroge's piece which appeared in her column in the People Daily and in her bettywaitherero.blogspot.com that he called her father (a former workmate) and threatened to have her arrested if she didn't pull down the article and refrain from writing such pieces in future.

Applause Applause
Now each time I see this man, this very vivid description will come to mind.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
maligumu
#156 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 8:01:02 PM

While Papa you were away watu walipoteza macho halafu Kalonzo alibeba Makueni. Maisha ni ngumu papa. umeleta mkate ama ni mandazi.
Peace be with you
maligumu
#157 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 8:03:35 PM

Halafu walipanga kuchora vibozo za viongozi waliotawala na wakasema wewe nje.
Peace be with you
Rollout
#158 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 8:32:14 PM

theman192000 wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
samsa wrote:
jguru wrote:

Slight correction.

@Jguru, and @Rankaz13 and all the docs here. Please note I am not accusing anyone.

Is it true that some of these gov equipment and meds are stolen from public hospitals and dispensaries and end up in personal clinics/practices/pharmacies etc?

If u've worked in govt hospitals (level 5s) Is it true that these hospitals were supplied/well furnished with equipment but there were no docs to operate them the,so they started disappearing or rather they were transferred to God knows where?

Such pilferage may indeed have happened in the past, I recal stories of antiTB medications disappearing to some of our neighboring countries especially back when they themselves didn't offer free/subsidized HIV & TB treatment. However, over time, stringent accountability measures have been put in place and are thoroughly enforced so that this is now no longer an issue. The Pharmacy & Poisons Board has officers on the ground who carry out surveillance on the same.

As for equipment, nowadays the most likely scenario you'll find is equipment lying idle in the store because there're no technicians trained to operate the same. I still recall the sad story of a hospital that had a brand new mammogram machine lying in store because there were no staff to operate the same.

When you hear people talk of shortage if HCWs, it's important to actually note that the shortage is at all levels/cadres, not just doctors. There's a biting shortage of especially nurses, lab technologists, anesthetists (usually C.Os), laboratory technologists, biomedical technologists, nutritionists, etc all of whom are really important in creating an effective healthcare team. So much so that even when the doctor is there and ready to work, the absence of some of these core members renders him/her unable to perform her core duty, that of saving lives. Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be any concerted effort in officialdom to address this shortage.

On the issue of dialysis machines, it's truly sad when a patient has to travel from Mandera to KNH for dialysis. Given the cost of outright purchase and operating such machines, how difficult is it really for the same to be provided to Mandera district hospital for instance? I keep asking, what really is the value of a Kenyan in present day? Why, why, why do our people have to continue suffering so much in such a country as rich as ours? Some of the things I've seen around this country are enough to put a grown man to tears, unfortunately. People keep suffering and dying all because we couldn't be bothered to equip their local hospitals so that they can access service as, if and when they need it. By the way, the patient requiring dialysis will most obviously have renal failure. If you investigate further, you'll probably find that whatever caused the renal failure initially was something treatable but since the health facility was so far away or was not adequately staffed and equipped, coupled with prohibitive cost of accessing alternative private health care, the problem is let to fester. And at a time he needs us most, it turns out hata dialysis machine hakuna. Seriously? HCWs are only human, and I can tel you it is painful to look at another Kenyan in the eyes, see the pain in their eyes, and tell them there's nothing more you can do for them. Not because one is inept, but simply because the facilities at their disposal are so woefully inadequate. Not easy i tell you.

Hii maneno ya classification eti sijui level 4, 5, sijui nini is honestly inconsequential to a large extent. When you are sick, you expect quality service at whatever facility you check in to regardless of those levels. How is it that private hospitals have better equipment than the gov't? Kwani wana pesa nyingi kuliko serikali? Seriously? I ask again, what really is the value of a Kenyan life? How many more must suffer before we can collectively say ENOUGH, and call our gov't to account? How is Zambia able to pay its doctors several times more than what the Kenyan gov't pays its own? Malawi? Is anybody listening? Does anyone even care?

My two cents:

I agree that the CEO of KNH and the board are responsible for the proper equipping of the hospital. From the comments made before it seems that patients pay for dialysis treatment and therefore the procurement of several dialysis machines at 3 million a pop will pay for itself and become a money spinner.

On the issue of shortage of medical practitioners, we as parents also need to take responsibility in the careers we guide our children towards. I know of several parents whose children are sitting at home without jobs because there are no jobs in the sector that they were trained.

It is indeed unacceptable that patients travel from as far as Mandera to access dialysis services in Nairobi. Me thinks this is where devolution comes into play. Put pressure on your county government to deliver this services locally.

Finally on the 50 year bash what I can say is that last year or the year before we did not have a bash yet medical services were not availed adequately to the populace. So let us not give the excuse that this bash is what is standing in the way of Kenya achieving universal healthcare services for all its citizens. That would be very simplistic thinking.

"We did not have a bash?" Who is we? sorry to say that you are delusional to think that kenyans are having a party because it is the few who will spend the kshs 2.5Billion, people like you will just be cheering with empty stomach, did you know that you'll have to pay your fare to the venue and buy your own food? I don't know what you me by "we."

CEO for government hospital? Sorry but these hospital cannot sustain themselve, even in USA public hospitals have to get subsidies to operate because public hospital take everyone regardless of financial status.
#159 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 8:41:09 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
samsa wrote:
jguru wrote:

Slight correction.

Thanks for your lengthy answ. To answer the last question...my view is that no one cares...because those who are supposed to make sure that things are done right can afford to board a plane to be treated elsewhere.

I have heard of equipment being locked up in stores because the docs in that facility dont know how to use them. Siasa is another thing...everyone wants to have a referral hospital in their constituency. Neglecting some of these small hospitals called dispensaries there's one near AIC church in Plainsview...goodness. I think for change to take place an audit needs to be carried out. An audit of equipment, and personnel because i KNOW of ghost workers in the health payroll
#160 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 8:52:20 PM

Just call it "stimulus" ndio ulale vizuri.
18 Pages«<1415161718>