Health
Coronavirus
 Policy brief - SARS-CoV-2 antibody prevalence among blood donors in Kenya (1) (1).pdf 1 / 3
I kif up (trying to post a pdf document on the above)
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
Bigchick wrote:masukuma wrote:sqft wrote:masukuma wrote:Europe is opening up to the rest of the world but not to everyone
I thought europe was the epicentre of this corona thing. How do they dare to keep out people who are not sick like them. It is we who should be banning europeans from africa. https://www.ecdc.europa....ibution-2019-ncov-cases
Quote:Cases have been reported from:
Africa: 405 076 cases; the five countries reporting most cases are South Africa (151 209), Egypt (68 311), Nigeria (25 694), Ghana (17 741) and Algeria (13 907).
America: 5 327 057 cases; the five countries reporting most cases are United States (2 634 432), Brazil (1 402 041), Peru (285 213), Chile (279 393) and Mexico (226 089).
Europe: 2 442 700 cases; the five countries reporting most cases are Russia (647 849), United Kingdom (312 654), Spain (249 271), Italy (240 578) and Germany (194 725).
Deaths have been reported from:
Africa: 10 147 deaths; the five countries reporting most deaths are Egypt (2 953), South Africa (2 657), Algeria (912), Nigeria (590) and Sudan (572).
America: 252 485 deaths; the five countries reporting most deaths are United States (127 410), Brazil (59 594), Mexico (27 769), Peru (9 677) and Canada (8 591).
Europe: 191 962 deaths; the five countries reporting most deaths are United Kingdom (43 730), Italy (34 767), France (29 843), Spain (28 355) and Belgium (9 754). It’s past tense... they WERE... they shed that title to the US and then Brazil. Will Africa come there? Quote: From the cradle of civilisation in Mesopotamia,Through to the 21st century, Mankind's feedback has consistently been wrong. Nature's feedback is yet to be proven wrong. Let’s see @Makales,tutakie mema please.Kenya and Africa as a whole. We are not heading there...we could have been there by now given our near non existent interventions. The unfortunate thing is that I discovered that the the world and nature don't not move based on my desires or whims... so mimi kutakia watu mema ama ubaya changes nothing in the grand scheme of things. If I knew that I had the power to wish this thing away - I would have invoked the power in January! I am just trying to be objective here... trying to seeing the world as it is not as I want it to be... sioni sababu (yet)... maybe there is a hidden factor or maybe none at all (India got hit, the black people in Brazil are also hit). Is there a reason? Maybe - I would really love to find out that reason but I don't think I will wish and then do this  All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
I must admit ignorance because that’s the only way a person learns... I have to start by stating what I can say I know (more like public knowledge on this) then I will declare what I don’t know. What I know is that this thing is largely in our hands... physical distancing, hand hygiene, covering coughs, wearing masks, cleaning of surfaces. Those are largely in our control. They determine to a degree whether we get infected or not. I know government’s role is public awareness, testing, isolation, contact tracing. Our government being our government.... I cannot state for a fact that it’s happening in a way it’s supposed to happen. Back to us as individuals- Do some of the things that we are meant to do at a persona level get enforced by our environment? Perhaps! Ours is a largely informal economy...People transacting in open spaces in the sun may help in moving the dial. People seated around waiting for work. Does this time we spend outside in the sun generally mean we are no lacking vitamin D and that makes the disease’s outcome mild? Quite probable! Do we have individual (hidden immunity that is just for us black people living in Africa? Highly Unlikely... why would we lose this when we travel abroad? Why do black people there fare badly off). All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
@Mpobiz come here. https://m.facebook.com/s...&id=224865787558662
@Makales your brief comments please. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Wacha nicheke tu Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2014 Posts: 1,420 Location: Bohemian Grove
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
As you chekaa sense of taste and smell amerudi? Ama wewe ni inclusive kwa hiyo 2.6M? Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Bigchick wrote:As you chekaa sense of taste and smell amerudi? Ama wewe ni inclusive kwa hiyo 2.6M?  All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
mpobiz wrote:T-Bag wrote:26.06.2020 Infections 5,384 Deaths 132 Herd Immunity 60% infected Kenya population 47,564,296.00 Therefore 60% Infections 28,538,577.60 Deaths 699,682.81
This is pure nonesense. The prevalence of this thing is so high in this country. A week ago I talked of a friend who has lost his sence of small and taste. He has been teling me of some head aches and some unusual sensations in his throat and nose. I don't know if I have been infected too. I am now trying very hard to keep my safe distance from people for the next 2 weeks. I have even explained it to my wife and she has given me two weeks off away from my house .though I am only suspecting myself but Have we been counted? Kumbe Mpo and his buddy Maghufuli (who isolated after his son was diagnosed) are the Warubukus our parents warned us about..… Warubuku and his friend Waruhiti got together and decided they would each go home and twanga their wives (so the wives know who is boss  ) Warubuku went home and beat his drums and made music..Waruhiti beat his wife… Anyway glad you are protecting Bae.. We will talk about your poor side-Bae another day...
Not @Makales, but that Star story is trash... The Standard story is more measured.. Only 2535 blood donor samples were tested for antibodies. The 2.6 million is an extrapolation from those samples. Statisticians will tell you that this method is often useless as it usually has bias (in this case, people who donate blood do not represent the Kenyan population). The article in the standard points this out: Standard excerpt: "The report indicates, however, that the ideal way of estimating exposure to Covid-19 in the Kenyan population would be visiting randomly selected homesteads to collect and then test blood samples, but this has not been practical under current restrictions."
That said, it is almost a certainty that there are more infected Kenyans than the numbers MOH so breathlessly loves to report every evening… .knowing very well that our testing levels are subpar.
Bigchick wrote:mpobiz wrote:We have shared nyama several times as you remember I have not pointed to him that we discuss about him here in this forum. Yesterday he informed me that his taste is back but smell bado. Wacha nicheke tu As you chekaa sense of taste and smell amerudi? Ama wewe ni inclusive kwa hiyo 2.6M? We have shared nyama several times . Yesterday he informed me that his taste is back but smell bado. @dahatre I said it before that what I did was purely out of immotions and not logic.this is because no matter what I do they will still be infected. I also needed some time out with my number 2. Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
Dahatre wrote:Not @Makales, but that Star story is trash... The Standard story is more measured.. Only 2535 blood donor samples were tested for antibodies. The 2.6 million is an extrapolation from those samples. Statisticians will tell you that this method is often useless as it usually has bias (in this case, people who donate blood do not represent the Kenyan population). The article in the standard points this out: Standard excerpt: "The report indicates, however, that the ideal way of estimating exposure to Covid-19 in the Kenyan population would be visiting randomly selected homesteads to collect and then test blood samples, but this has not been practical under current restrictions."
That said, it is almost a certainty that there are more infected Kenyans than the numbers MOH so breathlessly loves to report every evening… .knowing very well that our testing levels are subpar. The reported cases are not useless but as the disease moves on they become less correct as cases sprout all over. On the extrapolation- it’s true... the stats are wrong but they are a fair indicator of what’s wrong. I stopped looking at the number but I concentrate on the hit rate... it’s a good indicator of the active cases around. On the KEMRI report - Consider a situation where 6 people in a county give blood and in there are 3 brothers from same family. If those 3 have antibodies the extrapolation will state that 50% of the county has the disease. Which was indeed just 1 family. Having said that- this is the closest methodical way we have assessed the spread of Covid in the country. Science is corrected by better science so let’s get some other type of estimation. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Health
Coronavirus