wazua Fri, Dec 5, 2025

285 Pages«<140141142143144>»
How to tell NSE has bottomed out
hisah
#2821 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 12:23:23 PM

Mpesa bank has tested supply back @5.80 support and is now ready to challenge 6.50!
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Aguytrying
#2822 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 1:53:08 PM

hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
GEMS lini? If GEMS will be the Kenyan equivalent of the TSXV then it will surely be exciting...

Anxiously waiting for it too. This is a high stakes game, which most likely NSE & CMA will impose an investment threshold to prevent wanjikus from frying. So I expect a minimum investment amount cutoff to be around 500k or 1M. Inventing in new mining startups that are prospecting is very risky. It can be a miss or success. This makes the paka or CMC shares to look safer!

I would be against the minimum threshold. Why assume that those with 5K to invest cannot qualify investments or understand risk/return. No need to lock out small investors from potential gains. What is your understanding of Wanjiku - the uninformed or those with little capital? Those two don't have to go together. You start small as you go up.

The keyword here is high stakes. At the high stakes casino table, you don't show up with loose change even if you can take on the house! Smart wanjikus with small capital will be locked out. The lions have to be fed first then the rest can join later. The market has owners just like the casino. Never forget that...

Likes this discussion
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Metasploit
#2823 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 6:52:22 PM

20 SHARE INDEX at 4,860.83
TOTAL SHARE TRADED 20,705,300.00
EQUITY TURNOVER 480,467,486.00

Lets wait for Tuesday..

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
#2824 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 7:04:21 PM

Turnover dropped to Kshs. 480.5 Million from Kshs. 858 Million yesterday.

The NSE-20 Share Index rose 30.39 points or 0.6% to 4860.83
The Nairobi All Share Index was up 0.68 points or 0.6% to 117.91

On a weekly basis, the NSE-20 was up 3.12% while the NASI rose 3.9%

We go on a long break. Mpaka Tuesday sasa. When we open, the Supreme Court will have made its decision.
symbols
#2825 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 7:07:54 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

We go on a long break. Mpaka Tuesday sasa. When we open, the Supreme Court will have made its decision.

Interesting
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#2826 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 7:27:34 PM

Should the case be dismissed,we can be post 5,000 pts on Wednesday.

#makingmoney2013
@SufficientlyP
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#2827 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 7:34:27 PM

hisah wrote:
Mpesa bank has tested supply back @5.80 support and is now ready to challenge 6.50!

Fastening my safety belts for the coming ride till mid May when they announce results.
Do you have the date this time?
@SufficientlyP
#2828 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 8:07:53 PM

symbols wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Interesting

Might indicate lack of supply in the market driving prices up!
symbols
#2829 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 10:21:23 PM

guru267 wrote:
symbols wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Interesting

Might indicate lack of supply in the market driving prices up!

That makes sense.
hisah
#2830 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2013 9:14:37 AM

NSE20 closes the Q1 @4860 up for the month as well as 17.6% for Q1. Court ruling on the election is a barrier that needs to be cleared & by April 2nd we will have known the outcome. The fearful bull next challenge is 4985 (the high for March). Mpesa bank results as well as many banks will be approaching exdiv should give the drive break above 5000 - 5100 before a pause or sell some. Then Q1 bank results as well as national budget decide the direction from July.

AK is up 100%+ in Q1 making it look like Uchumi last year. Lots of resistance around 10 - 15. Will need a sizable catalyst to break down these levels.

KK is the laggard in Q1 as the buyout deal collapsed. Last year KQ held this title till year end. Will KK finish this way? Or will KK & total both finish sub 10 (the hydrocarbon play disconnect).

NBK was the odd duck post bank results. Despite the nasty results shocker, it's up in Q1 from the 16/- floor.
Those NPLs give me the creeps...

KQ remains afloat in dead waters. Results usually out around May same month with mpesa bank (Tues May 14th - check safcom website).

Agrics usually die or fly in Q2. Rea has already moved as well as WTK is moving. Pure coffee plays not looking good.

EABL no idea what mr market is doing here, but higher it goes. Bralirwa is by far a better bet. Same case with ARM, expensive P/E (PER) as well as convertible bonds. TCL too has a similar bonds issues.

MSC the pretext stops soon as results come out in Q2 though if bad they tend to delay... Parastalals have this bad habit Sad Btw is MSC still on the rights issue path?

Kengen vs KPLC, still fancy Kengen.

Let's see how Q2 pans out as I continue putting my skin on the line as well as drawing those despised cartoons smile
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#2831 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2013 9:19:32 AM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
hisah wrote:

Fastening my safety belts for the coming ride till mid May when they announce results.
Do you have the date this time?

Tues May 14 2013 as per their website.

http://www.safaricom.co....board/investor-calendar

#2832 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2013 9:24:44 AM

hisah wrote:
Insider buying - http://www.businessdaily...8/-/xnbc8u/-/index.html

Watch these firms. Already some have flipped huge returns this year.

Indeed AK and Britak rallied
hisah
#2833 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2013 10:19:41 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
hisah wrote:
Insider buying - http://www.businessdaily...8/-/xnbc8u/-/index.html

Watch these firms. Already some have flipped huge returns this year.

Indeed AK and Britak rallied

As usual @youcant the memory bank keeper smile
hisah
#2834 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2013 10:50:05 AM

Btw this is captures the rubberband (spring) effect I'm referring too about this fearful bull. The snap out of the gates will be vigorous...

https://www.youtube.com/...edded&v=PP1n4fmw5ts

Oh, I forgot to update about current holdings: -

- Mpesa bank avg @3.20 (Sold 50% in Jan @5.80) - after results I'll decide whether to offload completely esp on mpesa and mshwari.
- CFC bank avg @40 since last year - after seeing the results first target is 75 (sell 50%) then ride the wave.
- Equity avg 28.50 (acquired days after selling entire KCB holding @38.50 on results announcement on Feb 28th - KCB avg was 21.50).
- JHL avg @191 - political premium trade - still holding with my price target (250) already surpassed. Waiting for results next week to confirm further direction.
- CFCI avg 7 - political premium trade - still holding awaiting target at 10.50.

- Kengen @9.65 but nothing to write home about the small share units since the rally happened faster than I could get my fill. This one I regret since I got a chunk @9.20 for div play then sold exdiv on Dec 5th only to come back in Jan and the bus just zoomed past my stage Sad

@aguy - kengen got the HFCK chunk last year for that exdiv play greed. So you can see my opportunity cost Sad Should have just bought HF...

And also a small holding on AK @4.40 bought back in Nov 2012. This I've discussing behind the scenes with @hunderwear who I'm sure is enjoying the explosive rally on AK as well as CFCI.

Definitely I need to reorganize this portfolio to a max of 4 stocks.
#2835 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2013 1:10:36 PM

Since we are in for a serious bull I have decided to stop frequent trading and instead invest all my portfolio in 3 solid plays for the next 5 years.. my holdings are below!

1. Kenya re - representing 38.15% of my portfolio and an average entry of 13.50... (exit plan of 75bob by 2017)

2. HFCK - Representing 31.3% of my portfolio and an average entry of 21.50... (Exit plan of 120bob by 2017)

3. Co op - representing 30.55% of my portfolio and an average entry of 14.. (Exit plan of 80bob by 2017)

It may seem Im overly exposed to the financial sector but in real sense it is this sector that is the constant darling of the NSE...
Plus within the sector I believe the portfolio mix is well diversified within the financial subsectors!

1. Re insurance (Kenya re)
2. Mortgage (HFCK)
3. Retail commercial banking (Co op)
4. insurance (Cic via co op)
5. Commercial property development (Kenya re)
6. Residential property development (HFCK)
7. Tier 1 bank (co op)
8. Tier 2 bank (HFCK)
9. NSE bull exposure (Kenya re)
Aguytrying
#2836 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2013 1:24:22 PM

@Hisah. You've done well for a trader. Trading is tricky!! ( now its trading. haha)

Ive had a decent Q1. With liberty 35%, Kengen 45%, HFCK 63% profits.being my star performers. On liberty?? you sell a stock then it rallies the next day. ha ha. but its the process not the outcome that matters for me.

I sold of Liberty(speculation) and Kengen(worried bout debt).

HFCK i continue to hold. Also WTK (10% up) since Jan. those are long term. Now looking for other long term holds. Wanna hold at least 7 stocks. ideally 10. My strategy it about diversifying investing in undervalued companies and selling them when over valued/ fairly valued. Eyes now on total, KK, TPSE (targeting turn arounds)
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
the deal
#2837 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2013 1:58:32 PM

Its very easy to get carried away in a bull run...lets see what happens when the market clocks above 5000...valuations are currently above historic levels on most bluechip companies...we need strong earnings....super dividends...to keep the market excited....if nothing of that sort happens then a correction will come...I'm more worried about the current twin deficits (current & fiscal)...the effect of this deficits is that Treasury will have to borrow excessively resulting in yields in the fixed income market rising and its happening...3 month T-Bill yield 10.3% while inflation at 4.1%...once T-Bills creep to 15-20% consider this bull run slaughtered....guys will move money from stocks to bonds...banks will pass the cost of funds into the economy....I think thats the red flag for now.
symbols
#2838 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2013 2:05:01 PM

the deal wrote:
Its very easy to get carried away in a bull run...lets see what happens when the market clocks above 5000...valuations are currently above historic levels on most bluechip companies...we need strong earnings....super dividends...to keep the market excited....if nothing of that sort happens then a correction will come...I'm more worried about the current twin deficits (current & fiscal)...the effect of this deficits is that Treasury will have to borrow excessively resulting in yields in the fixed income market rising and its happening...3 month T-Bill yield 10.3% while inflation at 4.1%...once T-Bills creep to 15-20% consider this bull run slaughtered....guys will move money from stocks to bonds...banks will pass the cost of funds into the economy....I think thats the red flag for now.

#2839 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2013 3:16:28 PM

hisah wrote:
Btw this is captures the rubberband (spring) effect I'm referring too about this fearful bull. The snap out of the gates will be vigorous...

https://www.youtube.com/...edded&v=PP1n4fmw5ts

Oh, I forgot to update about current holdings: -

- Mpesa bank avg @3.20 (Sold 50% in Jan @5.80) - after results I'll decide whether to offload completely esp on mpesa and mshwari.
- CFC bank avg @40 since last year - after seeing the results first target is 75 (sell 50%) then ride the wave.
- Equity avg 28.50 (acquired days after selling entire KCB holding @38.50 on results announcement on Feb 28th - KCB avg was 21.50).
- JHL avg @191 - political premium trade - still holding with my price target (250) already surpassed. Waiting for results next week to confirm further direction.
- CFCI avg 7 - political premium trade - still holding awaiting target at 10.50.

- Kengen @9.65 but nothing to write home about the small share units since the rally happened faster than I could get my fill. This one I regret since I got a chunk @9.20 for div play then sold exdiv on Dec 5th only to come back in Jan and the bus just zoomed past my stage Sad

@aguy - kengen got the HFCK chunk last year for that exdiv play greed. So you can see my opportunity cost Sad Should have just bought HF...

And also a small holding on AK @4.40 bought back in Nov 2012. This I've discussing behind the scenes with @hunderwear who I'm sure is enjoying the explosive rally on AK as well as CFCI.

Definitely I need to reorganize this portfolio to a max of 4 stocks.

Mboss, you've really mastered this game.

Metasploit
#2840 Posted : Saturday, March 30, 2013 5:15:41 PM

I cant wait for Tuesday..The shares will rally like Madsmile

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”