wazua Wed, Mar 18, 2026

16 Pages«<1213141516>
What Ails Africa
#131 Posted : Sunday, November 17, 2013 3:29:45 PM

My Afrikana thinking tells me that you are yet to know what you're talking about.

I may be right but again I could be wrong. I choose to sit by the fence and observe where the wind blows and there I will go.
#132 Posted : Sunday, November 24, 2013 12:43:21 PM

we import spoons! can one wazuan tell me if he/she has made in kenya teaspoons? na aweke picha!

KQ ABP 4.26
#133 Posted : Sunday, November 24, 2013 12:50:49 PM

we import spoons! can one wazuan tell me if he/she has made in kenya teaspoons? na aweke picha!

Manufacturers don't just build stuff bila market bwana - who would buy them? the 'curse' is that we are too eager to buy 'imported' stuff. that's why we flaunt european cars. it's like buying imported stuff is some kind of social capital or status symbol but its really a shame. however gava can help.... it just needs to make a policy that all spoons used by government will be made in Kenya and out of no where a local spoon manufacturing industry will popup.

Read my signature it explains everything we do.
african coloner
#134 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 12:53:01 AM

The way we think is different from the way the rest of the world thinks, Mzungu thinks for his entire people and generation to come while an African thinks only about himself and immediate family.
#135 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 1:19:26 AM

Chinua Achebe figured the answers along time ago in this masterpiece

it is also available in this print

#136 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 1:51:24 AM

#137 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 7:00:27 AM

african coloner wrote:
The way we think is different from the way the rest of the world thinks, Mzungu thinks for his entire people and generation to come while an African thinks only about himself and immediate family.

So true...

http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-25049641
kenyanbeef
#138 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 8:00:17 AM

african coloner wrote:

Well said. GREED ails us. We can't seem to have enough. Any Kenyan who gets the opportunity in govt to gobble public funds will eat n eat n eat some more. All at the expense of some mwananchi somewhere left to omba serikali for everything.

Indeed we are a blessed rather than a cursed lot. In terms of resources lakini the greed among just a few leaves us in the ruins... Like how many lifetimes do they (I have a few Moi knuckleheads in mind) need to consume all that they amass?
#139 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:16:07 AM

What is 'leadership'? Is it a preserve of the few? If yes, then the rest are the herd, the slaves. Now what is the slave crying about? What ought to be?

Poor grumblers! Achebe seems to have forgotten this, and I see many here are joining in this suicide.

Only a slave can crave for 'true emancipation'. He seeks a better life though now he has no power. He hopes for a Messiah from the clouds that are not him, distant. The only problem is, if such an assumption is true, how then can one spot the Messiah? The slave is always looking down.

Looking down on their leadership, their own sense of initiative and power to create, and to relate on mutual terms.

Revolution is when we come back to the foundations of Man and creating the mutualist city, where Man and God rule together.

Revolution is about coming back to Africa where it all began. Understanding the steps humanity has trodden thus far, and reconciling it with the beginning. The African.

The problem with Africa is that it no longer has Africans. Maps, and nations are now European. And in European language we attack the African. We accuse the initiator of progress of not being progressive. We are completely alienated from ourselves.

I remember Tom Mboya asking what it means to be African; is it wearing animal skins? Or piercing your ears? Or drinking Mursik?

To be African is to remember the foundation of Man; the essentials that glue him to the dead, the living, and the unborn. To be African is to be Man God, and though the continents and conditions transform the color of Man, the foundations still persist.
#140 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:19:53 AM

african coloner wrote:

Don't confuse African to be what and how you think. Africa isn't color or race. It's not even continent. It's a knowing that builds the city.
16 Pages«<1213141516>