#241 Posted : Sunday, February 24, 2019 7:50:53 PM

#242 Posted : Monday, February 25, 2019 10:21:26 PM

Wasn't Uhuru.

#243 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 9:30:03 AM

I have found myself feeling pity for Uhuru, a man I refused to vote for in 2013 and campaigned against in 2017.

When you interact with the people who form the bedrock of his political support, you come across anger and frustration that is almost reaching scary levels.

The economy has tanked badly and I doubt Uhuru knows this. His big 4 is dead even before it starts. Even if he fires all corrupt guys in government and hires clean guys, there is no money to finance the big 4.

For every 100 bob KRA collects debt servicing takes 38 bob. Salaries, pension and counties take the rest. We have maxed out on borrowing. actually we have to restructure some facilities.

In my home county Nyeri, milk prices have dropped from a high of 38 to around 28 bob. And this is the dry season. Farmers are scared stiff what will happen after the rains when we have a milk glut. Broiler and poultry farmers have seen their investments go up in flames. Coffee is history. The new goldmine is macadamia and the prices are stuck at 140 from a high of 220 last season.

Uhuru doesn't have a chance to leave an economic legacy. He doesn't have the willingness or moral authority to fight corruption. He spent the first term undermining the new constitution so he can't leave a legacy of setting a constitutional foundation for Kenya. From where shall he craft his legacy ?

When historians finally write about his term in office, it is doubtful Kenya will ever have a worse presidency than this.
#244 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 12:48:49 PM

I have found myself feeling pity for Uhuru, a man I refused to vote for in 2013 and campaigned against in 2017.

When you interact with the people who form the bedrock of his political support, you come across anger and frustration that is almost reaching scary levels.

The economy has tanked badly and I doubt Uhuru knows this. His big 4 is dead even before it starts. Even if he fires all corrupt guys in government and hires clean guys, there is no money to finance the big 4.

For every 100 bob KRA collects debt servicing takes 38 bob. Salaries, pension and counties take the rest. We have maxed out on borrowing. actually we have to restructure some facilities.

In my home county Nyeri, milk prices have dropped from a high of 38 to around 28 bob. And this is the dry season. Farmers are scared stiff what will happen after the rains when we have a milk glut. Broiler and poultry farmers have seen their investments go up in flames. Coffee is history. The new goldmine is macadamia and the prices are stuck at 140 from a high of 220 last season.

Uhuru doesn't have a chance to leave an economic legacy. He doesn't have the willingness or moral authority to fight corruption. He spent the first term undermining the new constitution so he can't leave a legacy of setting a constitutional foundation for Kenya. From where shall he craft his legacy ?

When historians finally write about his term in office, it is doubtful Kenya will ever have a worse presidency than this.

Btw, ebu explain this milk manenos as I don't get. I saw the CS in today's dailies saying the price must go down? Yet the price is normal and customers are not even complaining. Have they imported milk or what? It doesn't make sense to me.

otienosmall
#245 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 1:47:59 PM

Unconfirmed hearsay goes like; Note competition for raw material is what was making milk prices goes up especially around Kiambu, Limuru areas. Then throw in a spin off strategy; a family purchase most of the dairy processing firms. Merge them with their own. Having obtained a monopoly, dictates the price they want to buy from farmers and make a kill in retail!

Same thing might happen to banks; reduce interest rate to make sure you curtail profits. Small banks drown in operation costs etc and sell out to you at your terms. Marshall all the struggling banks into your portfolio. Then abolish interest caps citing unworkable policies and swim in crazy profits for the rest of your life!

#246 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 2:22:47 PM

Btw, ebu explain this milk manenos as I don't get. I saw the CS in today's dailies saying the price must go down? Yet the price is normal and customers are not even complaining. Have they imported milk or what? It doesn't make sense to me.

They must have imported 1,000s of tonnes of powder milk. In Nyeri, between Jan-March all processors fight over milk as production dips due to lack of fodder. This pushes the farmgate prices higher giving farmers a chance to buy hay from the big farmers in neighbouring Laikipia county.

This time, they are not interested in our milk even as production drops. Prices have gone down below the break-even point. Its a sad state of affairs.
Fyatu
#247 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 2:45:10 PM

Huko blue section people(myself to be precise) have been waiting for the bull lakini everyday it is doom and gloom as far as economy is concerned. Todays newspapers says cement consumption has gone down.The papers are also reporting that 38% of KRA revenues are going to pay debts for money that has been stolen. Njiraini now wants to tax Lipa na Mpesa paybill after taxing airtime and Mpesa 2018/2019. Saccos are also a big tax target going forward. NSSF statutory reduction is now up to 2000 bob from 200 bob. This is money Atwoli and friends at NSSF are going to fatten-up with proper.They painted thika rd. pink..They even introduced NYS buses for public transport.etcc...i think we need a new thread of Uhuru's flat failure.
Meanwhile big 4 now sounds like a tired line. I said it here that big 4 is another hot air. Hata ground breaking ya nyumba za mabati has not happened.Uhuru should just go back to Ruto and together continue insulting Baba in matangas and stop pretending to be looking for legacy. Legacy to me is money in my pocket. Hiyo ingine ni yao

Let kumira kumira thurakus eat their jeuri...wacha okuyo na kaleos wakule jeuri yao ya 2017
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Conquestador
#248 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 3:45:32 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Huko blue section people(myself to be precise) have been waiting for the bull lakini everyday it is doom and gloom as far as economy is concerned. Todays newspapers says cement consumption has gone down.The papers are also reporting that 38% of KRA revenues are going to pay debts for money that has been stolen. Njiraini now wants to tax Lipa na Mpesa paybill after taxing airtime and Mpesa 2018/2019. Saccos are also a big tax target going forward. NSSF statutory reduction is now up to 2000 bob from 200 bob. This is money Atwoli and friends at NSSF are going to fatten-up with proper.They painted thika rd. pink..They even introduced NYS buses for public transport.etcc...i think we need a new thread of Uhuru's flat failure.
Meanwhile big 4 now sounds like a tired line. I said it here that big 4 is another hot air. Hata ground breaking ya nyumba za mabati has not happened.Uhuru should just go back to Ruto and together continue insulting Baba in matangas and stop pretending to be looking for legacy. Legacy to me is money in my pocket. Hiyo ingine ni yao

Let kumira kumira thurakus eat their jeuri...wacha okuyo na kaleos wakule jeuri yao ya 2017

so people here still believe that presidents and governments make a country or an individual rich?

The work of government in a developing country is to tax people at the highest rate it can get away with while providing the lowest possible level of social, security and enabling environment it can get away with.

tinker
#249 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 3:50:23 PM

Conquestador wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

so people here still believe that presidents and governments make a country or an individual rich?

The work of government in a developing country is to tax people at the highest rate it can get away with while providing the lowest possible level of social, security and enabling environment it can get away with.

Trade PS (Dr. Kiptoo) was in the media explaining why they cannot do anything to help poultry farmers who are under attack from EAC farmers.

The end result, poultry farming and supporting business will close shop leading to massive job loses especially in Kiambu (Thika & Wangige will be worst hit).

When govt does not protect few available commercial activities, then it must deal with less tax, unemployed youths,increased insecurity, etc.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
#250 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 3:55:16 PM

tinker wrote:
Conquestador wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

Trade PS (Dr. Kiptoo) was in the media explaining why they cannot do anything to help poultry farmers who are under attack from EAC farmers.

The end result, poultry farming and supporting business will close shop leading to massive job loses especially in Kiambu (Thika & Wangige will be worst hit).

When govt does not protect few available commercial activities, then it must deal with less tax, unemployed youths,increased insecurity, etc.

Why is the egg farmer not able to compete with the other egg farmer from Uganda? What differentiates the egg farmer from Kirinyaga of that of Kiambu?

#251 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 4:00:50 PM

tinker wrote:
Conquestador wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

Why is the egg farmer not able to compete with the other egg farmer from Uganda? What differentiates the egg farmer from Kirinyaga of that of Kiambu?

My sis did this for some time (poultry farming for eggs in Rongo/Migori county). It is the high costs of maintaining the layers - feeds, electricity, worker's negligence etc . Nowadays she imports eggs from Uganda (Canter lorry - full .... fuel/accomodation/driver&loader/'police') and she makes more money doing the latter. Kenya we are on our own.
#252 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 4:13:45 PM

tinker wrote:
Conquestador wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

High cost of feeds in kenya. Also due to competition from imports a crate of eggs is now going for 240 bob in the city ie 8 bob each. NB a single laying hen eats feed (110g) worth about 6 bob each day (and doesn't lay everyday), then you add other costs.
#253 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 4:24:42 PM

tinker wrote:
Conquestador wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

High cost of feeds in kenya. Also due to competition from imports a crate of eggs is now going for 240 bob in the city ie 8 bob each. NB a single laying hen eats feed (110g) worth about 6 bob each day (and doesn't lay everyday), then you add other costs.

In kenya whatever you grow has to go through like 3 brokers to reach its destination. My bro has a pawpaw farm whereby a broker buys per piece to take them to marikiti, once there mama mboga buys it for her kibanda then i go there and buy@80/100 bob yet my bro had sold a piece @ 20bob, then i sit on my keyboard to complain how the govt is not helping farmers
#254 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 4:28:25 PM

@FRM, I'm convinced that PR techniques are unethical to the extent that they are designed in ways that often leave core questions unexamined and unanswered.

In my opinion, your criticism above appears to be a PR stunt, whose end leaves us all the worse in terms of political status.

For one, it postpones rational and objective discussion of the subject matter and seeks to score popular points to your 'cause'.

If you think about it, this is the main error pursued by our politicians.
#255 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 4:39:48 PM

tinker wrote:
Conquestador wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

If feed is expensive in Kenya would importing feed make egg production cheaper? What is causing the feed cost to go up in Kenya? Assuming chickens are all being fed on the same?

Me thinks the Kenyan farmer doesn't want to evolve.

#256 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 5:03:52 PM

tinker wrote:
Conquestador wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

If feed is expensive in Kenya would importing feed make egg production cheaper? What is causing the feed cost to go up in Kenya? Assuming chickens are all being fed on the same?

Importing chicken feed wouldn't be a solution unless they are tax exempt. The Kenyan farmer is the most industrious in the region but the tax regime is very punitive in Kenya.
#257 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 5:06:42 PM

tinker wrote:
Conquestador wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

Murchr the njumbiree you voted for is the cause for all this.

I am happy the farmers are going through this. We told them.

A gov't fiscal and monetary policy is more important than sijui raira charo nefa mbee.

The cost of fuel has increased, electricity, effferiting that a farmer needs to produce. And I mean each and every item even busfare.

In Ug in the meantime, items are cheaper.

Here our monetary policy is to construct dams that require towels. And our fiscal policy is to add more and more tax to every thing including Mpesa.

Na bado my frens.

Poultry farmers started complaining when the price was ksh.310 last year. They have given up. Right now its pig farmers who have started.

Anyway...Kumira Kumira.

#258 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 6:05:48 PM

tinker wrote:
Conquestador wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

Murchr the njumbiree you voted for is the cause for all this.

I am happy the farmers are going through this. We told them.

A gov't fiscal and monetary policy is more important than sijui raira charo nefa mbee.

The cost of fuel has increased, electricity, effferiting that a farmer needs to produce. And I mean each and every item even busfare.

In Ug in the meantime, items are cheaper.

Here our monetary policy is to construct dams that require towels. And our fiscal policy is to add more and more tax to every thing including Mpesa.

Na bado my frens.

Poultry farmers started complaining when the price was ksh.310 last year. They have given up. Right now its pig farmers who have started.

Anyway...Kumira Kumira.

My interest is to understand why the poultry farmer in Kirinyaga is making money but the one in Kiambu is not.
#259 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 6:37:21 PM

Murchr. Stop pushing that narrative. Talk to farmers. Not the CS of agriculture. Poultry farmers are crying and it's all coz of njumbiree taxes that make absolutely no sense other than to them.

Next up...8 year old cars.

Instead of reducing taxes and ensuring that they get what they are owed, they increase taxes willy nilly whenever they buy new towels.

#260 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 6:51:39 PM

Let's all be rational, the cost of transporting eggs from Uganda to Nairobi and taxes at the border (if any) should surely compensate for any competitive advantage Ugandan farmers have over their Kenyan counterparts, if it doesn't, then too bad, lets enjoy Ugandan eggs and look for something we are good at.