Angelica _ann wrote:Museveni wrote:Museveni wrote:The other side of the coin!
Quote:Onyinkwa Onyakundi
11 January 2015
Could those trying to raise funds for that loser Maurice Odumbe kindly stop that nonsense. When I saw him shamelessly shedding tears and begging for a '2nd chance' on #JKL the other day, I wasn't sure what to feel for him, but sympathy wasn't an option. At the height of his 'stardom' he had me thrown out of a disco club in Bangalore, India over a very stupid reason just to prove who between us was the star. The wiser, sober and more mature Steve Tikolo intervened and I was allowed back in. However, that is not why I think we shouldn't raise any funds for him.
1. He still denies he did not fix matches, which he did. An indication that his remorse is fake.
2. All his team mates from that history making team were earning far less than he was, but are doing really well
3. Henry Motego is not any less a national sports hero and does menial jobs at construction sites in Nairobi, but he hasn't gone crying on TV begging for charity.
If Odumbe needs my help, i'll be happy to pass him Motego's phone number so he can hook him up with a 'Mjengo' job.
Lesson: Always treat people nicely.
Takes me to this thread
Tragedy of Kenyan stars: Henry Motego2012 wrote:I'm so sad to see in today's Daily Nation that Henry Motego at his age and all the trophies is a casual laborer at construction sites. For those of you my age ore thereabout, you knew this man to be a great footballer.
What's with us Kenyans and disrespecting our heros. I'm sad.
Impunity wrote:I saw Peter Dawo on Ketwende foo jana and almost cried, I actually cried by the way.
The guy lives in a single mabati house in Kisumu slum and is a single parent of two.
He looks so low just like Osuofia when acting a poor man in Nigeria movies.
He coaches some low key village football team in Kisumu and cant even afford 30 bob for matatu so uses bodaboda and pays 10 bob.
This is the guy who score 99% of all his goal by the header and ensured Gor winning the 1987 Mandela cup
Not all sad stories though
Do we only bump the tip of this huge iceberg in Dec - Jan ?
It is a sad situation. Na si Odumbe peke yake. What about the 'Men' of the moment ? Wanyama & co. Who is advising them ?
Someone should introduce these athletes and sportsmen to wazua.
Lots af great insights here to prevent such episodes.
Trusting people just because wanakuita mheshimiwa ama mbingwa is a path down a very slippery tunnel.
I feel his case is different because he was conned due to his literacy levels. Others are philanderers!!!
There is a very thin line between the two. Most of the athletes go wayward due to that Big Man syndrome while others fall due to inferiority complex - they want to be at par with their village-mates whom they always thought were well off. Komen fall into the second category. Wanjiru is on the first category same as Bungei and Odumbe.
Financial literacy is elusive to many. Even those who have spend a good time in classes. It is like the different between being top of your class and street savvy. Most people graduate expecting people to shower accolades on them not knowing that the knowledge they have gained they should be able to use it in the real world to solve real issues.
Back to the sportsmen, once they have loads of cash they have no idea how to wisely invest in, they rely on they hangons and are fleeced left right and centre. Getting a glance of what people go through from posts here would at least open some eyes.
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.