seppuku wrote:
willin2learn wrote:
panomaz wrote:
seppuku wrote:
Anyone happens to know a good Gym near Naivasha Rd.? The area around Equity Kawangware, preferably one that's open by 5 in the morning.

Consider taking a Jog from equity to ilri(uthiru)6km back and forth

jogging at 5 in that area is an express ticket to Makueni county

Applause Applause Applause Applause

As a matter of fact I am already doing that. I've been for the last 5 weeks. Not all of 6 km but I manage 3, which is quite something given the climb. And yes, it is very safe. Lots of us out and running as early as 4:30 am. Well, maybe not lots of us, but enough of us to feel safe. The problem is that this running is beginning to make me skinny! I should like to see Washiku's frame. Sasa nataka kuinua chuma kidogo pia. 3 days running and 3 days pumping iron, wiki inaisha. Now, can someone answer my original question? smile

Boss, am also struggling...Sometimes I feel like a fat fit thing. Well, am no longer 107 but am not yet there...I want to look back on 31st Dec and see the fruits of sweat.

Washiku - you were 107? wah!! i thought i was the buff buff around here.

Yes, the day I stepped on that thing and it went past 100, I almost had a heart attack...I denied saying their scale is faulty and went to get a "second opinion" which wasnt any different. Since then, I made a promise to myself...I SHALL NOT BE THAT CARELESS AGAIN.

My watershed moment was weighing in at 92kg. Got me out exercising the next Monday. This is week 6 now and I am down to 87.9. Goal 84kg. Washiku, umeshuka hadi ngapi? Especially seeing as your are our very own Paul Tergat.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I wish...Lol. Far from it. Am now at 79. Once I flatten the pot completely I will be fine with around that weight. And well done, you are moving down very fast. And I support your plan of doing some weights so that you are not left with loosely hanging skin once all the fat is goned'oh! Firm it up hehehehehe

I moved from 76 and got stagnated at 71.4 for the longest, kindu 3 months now, nini mbaya?
It took me 2 months to make that dive.
Sad Sad

You probably are doing everything right mblo, just keep at it. For me, once I made a decision to lose some, I didn't really bother so much to weigh in regularly. Nilishtukia tu siku moja nikasema hebu nipime sasa and I was pleasantly surprised smile ....some 2 or so yrs later.
#242 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 7:07:23 PM

BMI stats suggest I should be max 73Kgs.

Despite all efforts, exercise and eating right nimekatalia between 79 and 83.

I have accepted and now I excercise to keep fit and live healthy.

Am soon changing my username to MC :Medium Ch.....or MM

Trade the holahoop for a kettlebell and start swimming daily. You'll thank me later.

Wainadi
#243 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 7:09:06 PM

seppuku wrote:
Wainadi wrote:
Got inspired by Wazuans, I am 103 Kg started jogging last monday, I will check my weight on friday and hope to have reduced, the only problem is the terrain, I live in a hilly{not that hilly though} area and jogging is killing my legs, especially when climbing them stairs.

And don't discount the role of eating right in your endeavor. I believe it's actually a bigger contributor to weight loss than exercise anyway. How is jogging killing your legs? If it is just muscle pain that will go away in a few short days. Kama ni joints then that is a different story. Best wishes just the same.

Its just muscle pain at the back of right leg, I hope it goes away after one week.
Its all good.
vky
#244 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 7:11:46 PM

this is an extreme tip, ketogenic diet(zero carb and fat diet)+intense hard weight lifting=cutting weight in a very short time
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
#245 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 7:21:24 PM

Trade the holahoop for a kettlebell and start swimming daily. You'll thank me later.

Kettlebell ni nini? Would love to swim but where I stay hakuna pool karibu.And I suffer from hydrophobia.
#246 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 7:28:39 PM

Kettlebell ni nini? Would love to swim but where I stay hakuna pool karibu.And I suffer from hydrophobia.

Weight fat-o-phobia against hydrophobia, there are pools in the CBD(If you are in Nairobi) instead of Jam rescuing in a pub, do some laps.

Wainadi
#247 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 7:50:12 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Wainadi wrote:
Got inspired by Wazuans, I am 103 Kg started jogging last monday, I will check my weight on friday and hope to have reduced, the only problem is the terrain, I live in a hilly{not that hilly though} area and jogging is killing my legs, especially when climbing them stairs.

Keep at it. One of the consequences of being overweight usually is accelerated wear and tear at the joints and in this respect, your knees and ankle suffer the most as they have to carry 'all of yourself' smile at any one moment. The other that suffers most is your back as most often, one is forced to alter their posture so as to be able to lug around the excess weight. Be encouraged, let the pain not discourage you. If anything, it should be the motivator to push on. And as someone else has mentioned up there, watch your diet too. All the best.

I changed my diet to an aassortment of fruits for supper, lunch, eat whatever they serve at the cafeteria, breko chai ndazi, n brownbread. Tea n egg
Its all good.
#248 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 7:59:52 PM

Wainadi wrote:
seppuku wrote:
Wainadi wrote:

And don't discount the role of eating right in your endeavor. I believe it's actually a bigger contributor to weight loss than exercise anyway. How is jogging killing your legs? If it is just muscle pain that will go away in a few short days. Kama ni joints then that is a different story. Best wishes just the same.

Its just muscle pain at the back of right leg, I hope it goes away after one week.

That is kawaida when beginning...so keep trying. That type of pain is actually noises made by weakness leaving the body...
#249 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 8:04:00 PM

As I had mentioned in an earlier comment, there is a thing called the weight plateau. Immediately after picking an exercise habit, 7 to 12 kg rapidly disappear, depending on your body. After that, there is hardly any improvement. Even if you diet, it will drop a slightly few more then bounce right back up the moment you get a little bit exuberant with food for even a short while ...then it keeps yoyoing this way, driving you insane. Not trying to discourage, it is a fact of life.
I have been doing long runs for a long time now, I dropped 12 kgs and that was it.
The only way to get to the weight you desire is to train hardcore for a longish spell, like those military-like boot camps, (hardcore is like running 50 hilly kms every week, or a 100 minute daily weights session) ...but then you will be miserable,..and even then fate will mock you cruelly cause you will get many and painful injuries.
The choice to exercise for health and living right is the right one, saves you the tyranny of the kilograms
#250 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 8:14:07 PM

quicksand wrote:

As I had mentioned in an earlier comment, there is a thing called the weight plateau. Immediately after picking an exercise habit, 7 to 12 kg rapidly disappear, depending on your body. After that, there is hardly any improvement. Even if you diet, it will drop a slightly few more then bounce right back up the moment you get a little bit exuberant with food for even a short while ...then it keeps yoyoing this way, driving you insane. Not trying to discourage, it is a fact of life.
I have been doing long runs for a long time now, I dropped 12 kgs and that was it.
The only way to get to the weight you desire is to train hardcore for a longish spell, like those military-like boot camps, (hardcore is like running 50 hilly kms every week, or a 100 minute daily weights session) ...but then you will be miserable,..and even then fate will mock you cruelly cause you will get many and painful injuries.
The choice to exercise for health and living right is the right one, saves you the tyranny of the kilograms

You remain in the plateau because of not adapting. That happens in all spheres of life.

Lose your 12, change strategy lose another, change strategy. Boss, change is constant! Any professional trainer will tell you that. Use Kettlebell, when you hit a plateau swim, when you hit it again jog, again cycle and repeat the cycle.

#251 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 8:32:59 PM

quicksand wrote:

You remain in the plateau because of not adapting. That happens in all spheres of life.

Lose your 12, change strategy lose another, change strategy. Boss, change is constant! Any professional trainer will tell you that. Use Kettlebell, when you hit a plateau swim, when you hit it again jog, again cycle and repeat the cycle.

I almost drowned twice - in a swimming pool smile Swimming hapana...Anyway, I have tried some weights, cross trainer in reverse as alternates to jogging ...the thing is,.the plateau is inescapable.
As you grow older, your metabolism slows down, your joints and ligaments become weaker, not able to take more of the strain. To keep the weight plummeting, the exercise and variety needs to get more taxing as the age increases. You can't keep stacking it, nature and your body will not allow it. This adaptation that you have referred to, it becomes one familiar cycle for the body soon enough.
Find a sweetspot and be satisfied and happy is what I say.
#252 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 8:41:20 PM

The only thing I see, plateaued, is your mindset. You believe it is unachievable, so it becomes!

Call me I take you for marathon swimming. The fact that you almost drowned should be motivation to become an excellent swimmer! Omera, what is?smile

#253 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 9:17:44 PM

The only thing I see, plateaued, is your mindset. You believe it is unachievable, so it becomes!

Call me I take you for marathon swimming. The fact that you almost drowned should be motivation to become an excellent swimmer! Omera, what is?smile

Easy to say. I am a realist. Have you reached that ideal weight that you have been aiming for?
I am off by 4-5 kgs.
#254 Posted : Wednesday, December 04, 2013 9:50:47 PM

quicksand wrote:

Easy to say. I am a realist. Have you reached that ideal weight that you have been aiming for?
I am off by 4-5 kgs.

Nope. Off by atleast 8kgs. But its because of factors beyond my control which hopefully will be availed in a short while. But even with this wish, my BMI is almost 20. Picture perfect. Walking alot, swimming alot, working out abit, eating right(No starch, plenty of good fats and proteins), lots of sunshine and a whale of probiotics.

#255 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 3:10:46 AM

Weight fat-o-phobia against hydrophobia, there are pools in the CBD(If you are in Nairobi) instead of Jam rescuing in a pub, do some laps.

Thanks learnt a new one.Where can I get them? But hullahoop remains forever though.

ION.I live out of NBI and time constraints. .......Masomo ya Gumbaru.
#256 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 7:42:29 AM

Sports house, Nakumatt, WE can import from China or give me the tender. And training videos, I have a few. In a month or two, potty ina kwisha pap!

#257 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 8:15:19 AM

Sports house, Nakumatt, WE can import from China or give me the tender. And training videos, I have a few. In a month or two, potty ina kwisha pap!

Wewe wacha kujijazia.

Who told you I have a potty.Kwani hullahoop ilikuwa ya kazi gani.

Anyway..thanks.Will make arrangements for one.
seppuku
#258 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 8:29:24 AM

Eh?
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#259 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 8:35:32 AM

Wewe wacha kujijazia.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly My bad. Pole sana.

Its said that belly fat is the last to be shed. This is for those seeking a flat stomach/six-pack. The arms will go, the bvtt, the thighs before the belly takes a walk.

@Seppuku, try it. And thank me later.

#260 Posted : Thursday, December 05, 2013 9:20:28 AM

Wewe wacha kujijazia.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly My bad. Pole sana.

Its said that belly fat is the last to be shed. This is for those seeking a flat stomach/six-pack. The arms will go, the bvtt, the thighs before the belly takes a walk.

@Seppuku, try it. And thank me later.

Mine is quite stubborn...it goes yes but too slowly. Everything else seems to be fast. I came from a trouser size 43 to 37. Body is fit kabisa, lakini katumbo ni sloooooooow.