wazua Wed, Mar 18, 2026

127 Pages«<119120121122123>»
UNAITAS
#1201 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2020 1:36:33 PM

target1360 wrote:
heri wrote:
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/corporate/companies/Unaitas-Sacco-drops-its-bank-dream/4003102-5484896-4gvfvr/index.html

Bure kabisa . Happy i never bought alot of shares

and they think 7% dividend return is good enough

i do not think that they were keen on converting to a bank in te first place.
If they were keen they would have done so a long time ago.

this is kenya

On this one I blame CBKs freeze on issuing new banking licenses
Nifiche
#1202 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2020 2:39:24 PM

It's finally that time of the year again... For those in the know, any word on FY2019 dividends?
If you think you can you're right; if you think you can't you're right.
xtina
#1203 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2020 6:38:39 PM

Nifiche wrote:
It's finally that time of the year again... For those in the know, any word on FY2019 dividends?

Either 7% or 9%
dudeitswilliam
#1204 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2020 10:11:35 PM

Havent received any communication back from them regarding dividend payment. Quick question, this is from the Business Daily- 'Unaitas boss says that the sacco is targeting to increase membership from 300,000 to 750,000 and raise asset base from current Sh13 billion to 32 billion in the next five years'
Will this be from selling shares or increasing deposits?
Nifiche
#1205 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 12:43:56 AM

xtina wrote:
Nifiche wrote:

Either 7% or 9%

Sawa thanks, wacha tungojee tuone.
Nifiche
#1206 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 10:29:20 AM

dudeitswilliam wrote:
Havent received any communication back from them regarding dividend payment. Quick question, this is from the Business Daily- 'Unaitas boss says that the sacco is targeting to increase membership from 300,000 to 750,000 and raise asset base from current Sh13 billion to 32 billion in the next five years'

Probably both would be my guess. Lakini I wonder what incentive there is to buy UNAITAS shares. Even the zero risk government bonds return more than these bottomless shares. And at least with a bond you can sell and re-direct your investment elsewhere.
dudeitswilliam
#1207 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 5:20:36 PM

Nifiche wrote:
dudeitswilliam wrote:

Probably both would be my guess. Lakini I wonder what incentive there is to buy UNAITAS shares. Even the zero risk government bonds return more than these bottomless shares. And at least with a bond you can sell and re-direct your investment elsewhere.

There is still the incentive that they will convert to become a bank eventually though they did not mention that in the article. As for now they will remain a sacco until 2023. It will probably be worthwhile for long term investors, just eating or reinvesting the dividends. But as of now it is like purchasing a life policy, you cannot get back your money until maturity. And with a life policy you are guaranteed the principal, here once they list the shares might lose value due to them selling bottomless shares. They seriously need to explain to investors what their plan is.
Nifiche
#1208 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 7:07:28 PM

dudeitswilliam wrote:
Nifiche wrote:
dudeitswilliam wrote:

There is still the incentive that they will convert to become a bank eventually though they did not mention that in the article. As for now they will remain a sacco until 2023. It will probably be worthwhile for long term investors, just eating or reinvesting the dividends. But as of now it is like purchasing a life policy, you cannot get back your money until maturity. And with a life policy you are guaranteed the principal, here once they list the shares might lose value due to them selling bottomless shares. They seriously need to explain to investors what their plan is.

If this is true it's better IMHO to wait until 2023 and buy shares then. In the meantime the cash can be channeled to other investments with lower risk and higher returns like T-bonds.smile

I fully agree, this sacco has a terrible communication policy and a poor track record of informing investors. Sad
dudeitswilliam
#1209 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2020 4:48:37 PM

Nifiche wrote:
dudeitswilliam wrote:
Nifiche wrote:
dudeitswilliam wrote:

If this is true it's better IMHO to wait until 2023 and buy shares then. In the meantime the cash can be channeled to other investments with lower risk and higher returns like T-bonds.smile

I fully agree, this sacco has a terrible communication policy and a poor track record of informing investors. Sad

I got a message saying that dividends are being paid tomorrow but they did not tell me the percentage even after asking. Might you happen to know?
gatoho
#1210 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2020 7:27:50 AM

Got a text saying will be deposited today but no mention of the rate
Foresight..
127 Pages«<119120121122123>»