Juba...coup attempt in South Sudan?
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Kusadikika wrote:It is very easy to criticize politicians and leaders and I know I also do it all the time but of late I have started to think about it seriously and I cannot imagine a more difficult job than being a leader in any semblance of democracy. Hii kazi ya uongozi ni ngumu. I can see what is wrong with the situation in South Sudan but I ask myself if say I was put in Salva Kiir position right now, where would I start? I do not have an inkling of what needs to be done to remedy the situation. It is not a science where there is a known solution to the problem and of all options you may have you have no way of predicting the results until you are deep in it. You just have to pick a direction and start moving and keep moving no matter what because you can't start and change and start in a different direction. If say Obama was today made the president of South Sudan would he be more successful than Salva Kiir over a 5 year 10 year or 15 year period?
Of course leadership dictates the direction, imagine if macha or kir were the anc leaders in the place of mandela back when d-crack was handing over power, or imagine if instead of rao and kibaki it was macha and kir back when we were crying kimeibwa in 2007 You have point but also consider the unique position of South Sudan its people and its culture. Most of the country is a jungle as in no tarmac road no power no formal education. For a country slightly bigger than Kenya it has 12 million people and more than 50 tribes. Most of the population has never lived in peace for most of their lives so the culture of suspicion and mistrust is deeply ingrained. Throw in the scars of oppression from the Arabic North over many years and you have a really difficult problem. A modern country can only survive on laws. The situation of the people in South Sudan is not conducive for the existence of any law. The vast majority of the people have never known any law other than the law of the gun. I think you can physically transform the country over a few years, building infrastructure is the easy part, creating citizens out of the savages that walk that land is the hardest part. Where do you start? It can only be at least a 50 years or more plan.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
Kusadikika wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Kusadikika wrote:It is very easy to criticize politicians and leaders and I know I also do it all the time but of late I have started to think about it seriously and I cannot imagine a more difficult job than being a leader in any semblance of democracy. Hii kazi ya uongozi ni ngumu. I can see what is wrong with the situation in South Sudan but I ask myself if say I was put in Salva Kiir position right now, where would I start? I do not have an inkling of what needs to be done to remedy the situation. It is not a science where there is a known solution to the problem and of all options you may have you have no way of predicting the results until you are deep in it. You just have to pick a direction and start moving and keep moving no matter what because you can't start and change and start in a different direction. If say Obama was today made the president of South Sudan would he be more successful than Salva Kiir over a 5 year 10 year or 15 year period?
Of course leadership dictates the direction, imagine if macha or kir were the anc leaders in the place of mandela back when d-crack was handing over power, or imagine if instead of rao and kibaki it was macha and kir back when we were crying kimeibwa in 2007 You have point but also consider the unique position of South Sudan its people and its culture. Most of the country is a jungle as in no tarmac road no power no formal education. For a country slightly bigger than Kenya it has 12 million people and more than 50 tribes. Most of the population has never lived in peace for most of their lives so the culture of suspicion and mistrust is deeply ingrained. Throw in the scars of oppression from the Arabic North over many years and you have a really difficult problem. A modern country can only survive on laws. The situation of the people in South Sudan is not conducive for the existence of any law. The vast majority of the people have never known any law other than the law of the gun. I think you can physically transform the country over a few years, building infrastructure is the easy part, creating citizens out of the savages that walk that land is the hardest part. Where do you start? It can only be at least a 50 years or more plan. This is sad coming from a Wazua. ....are they monkeys? So today you see them as the British "explorers" saw our grandfathers?
Rahatupu wrote:Kusadikika wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Kusadikika wrote:It is very easy to criticize politicians and leaders and I know I also do it all the time but of late I have started to think about it seriously and I cannot imagine a more difficult job than being a leader in any semblance of democracy. Hii kazi ya uongozi ni ngumu. I can see what is wrong with the situation in South Sudan but I ask myself if say I was put in Salva Kiir position right now, where would I start? I do not have an inkling of what needs to be done to remedy the situation. It is not a science where there is a known solution to the problem and of all options you may have you have no way of predicting the results until you are deep in it. You just have to pick a direction and start moving and keep moving no matter what because you can't start and change and start in a different direction. If say Obama was today made the president of South Sudan would he be more successful than Salva Kiir over a 5 year 10 year or 15 year period?
Of course leadership dictates the direction, imagine if macha or kir were the anc leaders in the place of mandela back when d-crack was handing over power, or imagine if instead of rao and kibaki it was macha and kir back when we were crying kimeibwa in 2007 You have point but also consider the unique position of South Sudan its people and its culture. Most of the country is a jungle as in no tarmac road no power no formal education. For a country slightly bigger than Kenya it has 12 million people and more than 50 tribes. Most of the population has never lived in peace for most of their lives so the culture of suspicion and mistrust is deeply ingrained. Throw in the scars of oppression from the Arabic North over many years and you have a really difficult problem. A modern country can only survive on laws. The situation of the people in South Sudan is not conducive for the existence of any law. The vast majority of the people have never known any law other than the law of the gun. I think you can physically transform the country over a few years, building infrastructure is the easy part, creating citizens out of the savages that walk that land is the hardest part. Where do you start? It can only be at least a 50 years or more plan. This is sad coming from a Wazua. ....are they monkeys? So today you see them as the British "explorers" saw our grandfathers? Looks like you have not been to SS of late!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rahatupu wrote:Kusadikika wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Kusadikika wrote:It is very easy to criticize politicians and leaders and I know I also do it all the time but of late I have started to think about it seriously and I cannot imagine a more difficult job than being a leader in any semblance of democracy. Hii kazi ya uongozi ni ngumu. I can see what is wrong with the situation in South Sudan but I ask myself if say I was put in Salva Kiir position right now, where would I start? I do not have an inkling of what needs to be done to remedy the situation. It is not a science where there is a known solution to the problem and of all options you may have you have no way of predicting the results until you are deep in it. You just have to pick a direction and start moving and keep moving no matter what because you can't start and change and start in a different direction. If say Obama was today made the president of South Sudan would he be more successful than Salva Kiir over a 5 year 10 year or 15 year period?
Of course leadership dictates the direction, imagine if macha or kir were the anc leaders in the place of mandela back when d-crack was handing over power, or imagine if instead of rao and kibaki it was macha and kir back when we were crying kimeibwa in 2007 You have point but also consider the unique position of South Sudan its people and its culture. Most of the country is a jungle as in no tarmac road no power no formal education. For a country slightly bigger than Kenya it has 12 million people and more than 50 tribes. Most of the population has never lived in peace for most of their lives so the culture of suspicion and mistrust is deeply ingrained. Throw in the scars of oppression from the Arabic North over many years and you have a really difficult problem. A modern country can only survive on laws. The situation of the people in South Sudan is not conducive for the existence of any law. The vast majority of the people have never known any law other than the law of the gun. I think you can physically transform the country over a few years, building infrastructure is the easy part, creating citizens out of the savages that walk that land is the hardest part. Where do you start? It can only be at least a 50 years or more plan. This is sad coming from a Wazua. ....are they monkeys? So today you see them as the British "explorers" saw our grandfathers? @Rahatupu, I use the word in its literal meaning and not as a derogatory term. I would also like to point out that our grandfathers were savages to the British who came just like the South Sudanese are to us and I mean that not in a madharau kind of way but just as a description. I would also use the word uncivilized in the same way. Unfortunately the world is developing in a certain direction and some societies are more advanced on that path than others. For people to govern themselves they need to be in agreement on some things and they come together and form laws that they all agree to abide by. If I was to be overly simplistic I would define a civilized society as one with the highest level of agreement amongst its members. If I was to put it another way more civilized societies have more laws and therefore more crime than uncivilized societies. This is because a crime is only a crime when a law is broken. If there is no law there is no crime. So in a place where people have not come together and agreed that a certain action is not allowed then people who engage in it are not criminals. This agreement over a long time becomes what we call customs and traditions and eventually what becomes culture. And agreeing does not mean they are superior or better but they create harmony and peaceful coexistence in which many good things can happen. In a place like South Sudan with all the fighting they have had for such a long time and the ethnic differences they have not lived together in peace long enough to agree and bind themselves to their own laws. If you ask people who work there they will tell you stories of people who are laws unto themselves. There are many Lords who each have their own followers and often they clash.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
it's tough... tough! Salva Kiir was about 4 years old when Sudan went to war (civil war) about the south. Riek Machar was 2 years old. Technically these people have never really know peace. We are a product of our genetics and environment. Nation building is not an easy thing... it becomes very different when the person who is supposed to take the mantle has deep seated issues of trust.Ethnicity is all about trust - trusting that since we share a common heritage you have my back and I have yours. Cracking that code is not a done when a person is a grown up. I think South Sudan's independence came in too late. Too late when all countries around it had somehow matured. Too late where people know of a good life - have tasted a good life abroad and are unwilling to pay the price to build S.S....from scratch. I once heard Mutahi Ngunyi lament that the States in Africa were designed to be extractive and not for staying . Most of the infrastructure set in place by the 'mkoloni' had one of 2 uses 1) To transport minerals/raw material from the hinterland to a coast and ship it to Europe 2) To sustain the europeans managing this work. (unless you had settlers who wanted to make life better for themselves). South Sudan inherited almost the same fate from the North. Just enough infrastructure to pump out the oil and keep it flowing. That is what they inherited in 2011. It's a terrible fate but they need to play the hand they have been dealt - it's unfortunate. If only S.S. had champions... if only a bunch of people really felt deeply about S.S and looked at it as their home and not a place of work. Then we could see something... All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:it's tough... tough! Salva Kiir was about 4 years old when Sudan went to war (civil war) about the south. Riek Machar was 2 years old. Technically these people have never really know peace. We are a product of our genetics and environment. Nation building is not an easy thing... it becomes very different when the person who is supposed to take the mantle has deep seated issues of trust.Ethnicity is all about trust - trusting that since we share a common heritage you have my back and I have yours. Cracking that code is not a done when a person is a grown up. I think South Sudan's independence came in too late. Too late when all countries around it had somehow matured. Too late where people know of a good life - have tasted a good life abroad and are unwilling to pay the price to build S.S....from scratch. I once heard Mutahi Ngunyi lament that the States in Africa were designed to be extractive and not for staying . Most of the infrastructure set in place by the 'mkoloni' had one of 2 uses 1) To transport minerals/raw material from the hinterland to a coast and ship it to Europe 2) To sustain the europeans managing this work. (unless you had settlers who wanted to make life better for themselves). South Sudan inherited almost the same fate from the North. Just enough infrastructure to pump out the oil and keep it flowing. That is what they inherited in 2011. It's a terrible fate but they need to play the hand they have been dealt - it's unfortunate. If only S.S. had champions... if only a bunch of people really felt deeply about S.S and looked at it as their home and not a place of work. Then we could see something... I could not agree more with you Masukuma. It sure is tough. I was even reading further and discovered things that make it even more difficult. The original leaders almost have nothing in common. John Garang who was Dinka went to secondary school in Tanzania then college in the US then back to University of Daresalaam Tanzania and then joined Sudanese Army during which he spent more time in the US studying. Salva Kiir his deputy and current leader as far as I have researched has never left Sudan. He actually started as a young man in the Anyanya rebel army which later joined forces with others like John Garang who came from the Sudanese Army to form SPLA. So like you say not just in life but even in his working life the only time he was ever in a formal system is when he was a mature adult as Vice president. So the only bond he and Garang had is that they were both Dinka. On the other side is Riek Machar. A Nuer and son of a chief. He goes to school in Sudan and University of Khartoum and then off to Britain. While akina Salva Kiir have been fighting the Sudanese Government all their life Riek Machar has had a cozzy relationship with the Sudan government and at some point even as akina Kiir were fighting he was part of the Sudan government. I can imagine that he too being an elite has strong ethnic ties to his commanders on the ground who are people who have never left Sudan ama the furthest abroad they have gone is Kakuma in Kenya. I can only imagine that there must be some deep seated madharau between Kiir and Machar. Machar must see Kiir as uneducated, unpolished and unsuitable while on the other hand Kiir probably has unwavering support among his Dinka fighters who have been with him on the ground for years while akina Garang and Machar were reading books and addressing press conferences.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
South Sudan should be annexed to Sudan and ruled from Khartoum for the next 50yrs, hoping that by that time they will be capable of ruling themselves.
hardwood wrote:South Sudan should be annexed to Sudan and ruled from Khartoum for the next 50yrs, hoping that by that time they will be capable of ruling themselves. why? what they are going through is an important part of human development and nation building. Just because Kenya dodged that bullet does not civil war is an exception. Civil war is more a rule than an exception. But I see the narrative of "if they haven't figured it out in 5 years" they should cede control to a bunch of different looking guy - who know better than them". Oh... Wakoloni should have stayed for 50 more years - who told you wakoloni were here for us? Who told you the Arabs from the north were there for the south sudanese people? Let them figure it out on their own... they have been dealt some cards let them play them. Today is not the final age of humanity., the pen that is writing history is not out of ink...not yet.. we are not getting marked tomorrow! life moves on... ticks on!! We are not the goal, the culmination of all our predecessors commissions and omissions - we are predecessors to others who have their own lives to live. Let S.S. figure it out. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
hardwood wrote:South Sudan should be annexed to Sudan and ruled from Khartoum for the next 50yrs, hoping that by that time they will be capable of ruling themselves. Dumbest quote ever on wazua! Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
masukuma wrote:hardwood wrote:South Sudan should be annexed to Sudan and ruled from Khartoum for the next 50yrs, hoping that by that time they will be capable of ruling themselves. why? what they are going through is an important part of human development and nation building. Just because Kenya dodged that bullet does not civil war is an exception. Civil war is more a rule than an exception. But I see the narrative of "if they haven't figured it out in 5 years" they should cede control to a bunch of different looking guy - who know better than them". Oh... Wakoloni should have stayed for 50 more years - who told you wakoloni were here for us? Who told you the Arabs from the north were there for the south sudanese people? Let them figure it out on their own... they have been dealt some cards let them play them. Today is not the final age of humanity., the pen that is writing history is not out of ink...not yet.. we are not getting marked tomorrow! life moves on... ticks on!! We are not the goal, the culmination of all our predecessors commissions and omissions - we are predecessors to others who have their own lives to live. Let S.S. figure it out. for wakoloni in kenya I think it would have worked better if they had stayed on for exactly another 15 years, For south sudan I think its only prudent to split the country up again into 3 or even more, let those who wish to join together do so, but give each region their independence.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:masukuma wrote:hardwood wrote:South Sudan should be annexed to Sudan and ruled from Khartoum for the next 50yrs, hoping that by that time they will be capable of ruling themselves. why? what they are going through is an important part of human development and nation building. Just because Kenya dodged that bullet does not civil war is an exception. Civil war is more a rule than an exception. But I see the narrative of "if they haven't figured it out in 5 years" they should cede control to a bunch of different looking guy - who know better than them". Oh... Wakoloni should have stayed for 50 more years - who told you wakoloni were here for us? Who told you the Arabs from the north were there for the south sudanese people? Let them figure it out on their own... they have been dealt some cards let them play them. Today is not the final age of humanity., the pen that is writing history is not out of ink...not yet.. we are not getting marked tomorrow! life moves on... ticks on!! We are not the goal, the culmination of all our predecessors commissions and omissions - we are predecessors to others who have their own lives to live. Let S.S. figure it out. for wakoloni in kenya I think it would have worked better if they had stayed on for exactly another 15 years, For south sudan I think its only prudent to split the country up again into 3 or even more, let those who wish to join together do so, but give each region their independence. Zimbabwe was colonised as late 1980 and it is no doubt one of the greatest nations in Africa. So much about prolonged colonialism; Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
kaka2za wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:masukuma wrote:hardwood wrote:South Sudan should be annexed to Sudan and ruled from Khartoum for the next 50yrs, hoping that by that time they will be capable of ruling themselves. why? what they are going through is an important part of human development and nation building. Just because Kenya dodged that bullet does not civil war is an exception. Civil war is more a rule than an exception. But I see the narrative of "if they haven't figured it out in 5 years" they should cede control to a bunch of different looking guy - who know better than them". Oh... Wakoloni should have stayed for 50 more years - who told you wakoloni were here for us? Who told you the Arabs from the north were there for the south sudanese people? Let them figure it out on their own... they have been dealt some cards let them play them. Today is not the final age of humanity., the pen that is writing history is not out of ink...not yet.. we are not getting marked tomorrow! life moves on... ticks on!! We are not the goal, the culmination of all our predecessors commissions and omissions - we are predecessors to others who have their own lives to live. Let S.S. figure it out. for wakoloni in kenya I think it would have worked better if they had stayed on for exactly another 15 years, For south sudan I think its only prudent to split the country up again into 3 or even more, let those who wish to join together do so, but give each region their independence. Zimbabwe was colonised as late 1980 and it is no doubt one of the greatest nations in Africa. So much about prolonged colonialism; Zimbabweans got independence but nothing changed and the whites continued owning all the land and farming as usual using the blacks for cheap labour. Basically they had got independence but nothing had changed on the ground. Then Mugabe told the blacks, "I will take the land from your white masters and give it to you so that you can farm it as land owners and not as squatters as you have done for ages. And infact the land belonged to you before the white man took it from you". Then the west imposed sanctions since Mugabe had disposessed their white descendants off their land and given it back to the original black owners. The west killed the Zimbabwean currency but Mugabe being a genius adopted the US dollar as the zim currency and brought things under control. The US was unable to devalue the US dollars circulating in zimbabwe. The fact is that a black Zimbabwean is better off tilling his own 5acres to earn a living than toiling on a mzungus 10,000 acre estate in a "prosperous white controlled zimbabwe" while being a squatter and being paid slave wages. I have a lot of respect for Mugabe for empowering his people. Infact he said he wouldn't pay for land that had been stolen from Africans. Someone can't steal your car and then tell you that you must pay (to compensate the thief) for you to get it back.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,301 Location: kenya
hardwood wrote:kaka2za wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:masukuma wrote:hardwood wrote:South Sudan should be annexed to Sudan and ruled from Khartoum for the next 50yrs, hoping that by that time they will be capable of ruling themselves. why? what they are going through is an important part of human development and nation building. Just because Kenya dodged that bullet does not civil war is an exception. Civil war is more a rule than an exception. But I see the narrative of "if they haven't figured it out in 5 years" they should cede control to a bunch of different looking guy - who know better than them". Oh... Wakoloni should have stayed for 50 more years - who told you wakoloni were here for us? Who told you the Arabs from the north were there for the south sudanese people? Let them figure it out on their own... they have been dealt some cards let them play them. Today is not the final age of humanity., the pen that is writing history is not out of ink...not yet.. we are not getting marked tomorrow! life moves on... ticks on!! We are not the goal, the culmination of all our predecessors commissions and omissions - we are predecessors to others who have their own lives to live. Let S.S. figure it out. for wakoloni in kenya I think it would have worked better if they had stayed on for exactly another 15 years, For south sudan I think its only prudent to split the country up again into 3 or even more, let those who wish to join together do so, but give each region their independence. Zimbabwe was colonised as late 1980 and it is no doubt one of the greatest nations in Africa. So much about prolonged colonialism; Zimbabweans got independence but nothing changed and the whites continued owning all the land and farming as usual using the blacks for cheap labour. Basically they had got independence but nothing had changed on the ground. Then Mugabe told the blacks, "I will take the land from your white masters and give it to you so that you can farm it as land owners and not as squatters as you have done for ages. And infact the land belonged to you before the white man took it from you". Then the west imposed sanctions since Mugabe had disposessed their white descendants off their land and given it back to the original black owners. The west killed the Zimbabwean currency but Mugabe being a genius adopted the US dollar as the zim currency and brought things under control. The US was unable to devalue the US dollars circulating in zimbabwe. The fact is that a black Zimbabwean is better off tilling his own 5acres to earn a living than toiling on a mzungus 10,000 acre estate in a "prosperous white controlled zimbabwe" while being a squatter and being paid slave wages. I have a lot of respect for Mugabe for empowering his people. Infact he said he wouldn't pay for land that had been stolen from Africans. Someone can't steal your car and then tell you that you must pay (to compensate the thief) for you to get it back. Wow for once we agree on something .hats off on you hardwood . At first I thought it was masukuma but I was wrong . Well stated and yes well put .
I think just as a child must fall while taking the first steps and gets back again - we must do the same in whatever circumstances we find ourselves as a nation or as cultures. Colonialism was not to our benefit. The tragedy of colonialism is that at a macrolevel everything looked nice and dandy. Zimbabwe, Namibia, Botswana types - but the truth is the mwafrika in that setting does not do much coz of the system. I dare say - Africans in SA are better off now than they were under mzungu! better off is a matter of perspective - having your future in your hands is fairly better than relaying on someone whose people made the same mistakes you will make and treats you as a sub human. Africans there may not have all they want but are better off. Prior to Mandela dying I visited SA and overheard some fishermen talking about how nothing really changed (perceivable) after 94, they looked at uncle bob and said - afadhali hao... shamba ni yao sasa - everything else can be worked on. in SA land ownership really didn't change. I am so happy mkoloni went when he did and allowed us to make the mistakes we did back then before social media times. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Africa would have arguably been much better without colonialization. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
kaka2za wrote:Africa would have arguably been much better without colonialization. Ethiopia wasn't colonized. Is it much better?
hardwood wrote:kaka2za wrote:Africa would have arguably been much better without colonialization. Ethiopia wasn't colonized. Is it much better? It was affected by colonialization of its neighbours. No country exists in isolation. And dont forget the cost of the war with the italians. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,301 Location: kenya
kaka2za wrote:hardwood wrote:kaka2za wrote:Africa would have arguably been much better without colonialization. Ethiopia wasn't colonized. Is it much better? It was affected by colonialization of its neighbours. No country exists in isolation. And dont forget the cost of the war with the italians. Google a region called guinea Papua in Indonesia .that region wasn't colonised and has people of the same dark pigment as we do. They have nothing much and live on harvesting honey and bush meat. If you have Netflix search for documentary called pururambo or youtube it .colonialism helped bring light even though there are sad side of it but it lit up . Even America was colonised by the same British and changed the life of native americans to "prosperity".
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
enyands wrote:kaka2za wrote:hardwood wrote:kaka2za wrote:Africa would have arguably been much better without colonialization. Ethiopia wasn't colonized. Is it much better? It was affected by colonialization of its neighbours. No country exists in isolation. And dont forget the cost of the war with the italians. Google a region called guinea Papua in Indonesia .that region wasn't colonised and has people of the same dark pigment as we do. They have nothing much and live on harvesting honey and bush meat. If you have Netflix search for documentary called pururambo or youtube it .colonialism helped bring light even though there are sad side of it but it lit up . Even America was colonised by the same British and changed the life of native americans to "prosperity". How do you know these said people, 'have nothing much'?
enyands wrote:kaka2za wrote:hardwood wrote:kaka2za wrote:Africa would have arguably been much better without colonialization. Ethiopia wasn't colonized. Is it much better? It was affected by colonialization of its neighbours. No country exists in isolation. And dont forget the cost of the war with the italians. Google a region called guinea Papua in Indonesia .that region wasn't colonised and has people of the same dark pigment as we do. They have nothing much and live on harvesting honey and bush meat. If you have Netflix search for documentary called pururambo or youtube it .colonialism helped bring light even though there are sad side of it but it lit up . Even America was colonised by the same British and changed the life of native americans to "prosperity". PNG is not in Indonesia. It is still 'colonized' by Australia.You know who is the Head of State of PNG? Queen Elizabeth! Ati native americans prospered? They were virtually wiped out! Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Juba...coup attempt in South Sudan?