sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
80% of kenyans live in the rural areas and use firewood or charcoal for cooking.

They also don't pay zilch in taxes, why should we the 20% bear the burden for the 80%

Please explain the tax part. I see tax deduction on my grandma's tea crop monthly payment slip.

They also commute (pay fare to the veh owner who paid taxes acquiring the vehicle and fueling) and use household goods which are thoroughly taxed.

The only tax you must pay is income tax, the other indirect taxes you can choose to pay or avoid. I mean PAYE on their incomes which in some cases are quite substantial.

Pray,how can you avoid indirect taxes?
PAYE is for employment income only.

No, PAYE is for every individual with an income

hapo sijaelewa, how does a landlord pay paye

You mean to say you have never done your tax returns?

still can not get how say as a landlord i pay paye, i thought the later is for those in employment and its the employer who deducts the same, I might be wrong but I don't think paye is for everyone with an income, there are other forms of tax but not paye is a specific tax for a specific group.

Ok let me simplify it for you.

The tax on net income in Kenya is 30% regardless of source.

If you are employed, the employer deducts PAYE (meaning Pay as you earn).

Now if you are in business (or self employed)(be it rental income, matatu income, consultancy, farming etc), you are ideally supposed to self assess and remit taxes at the same max 30%.

The govt introduces such measure as advance tax for commercial vehicles to try and capture the taxes as much as possible in the most cost effective way, but such are not final taxes, as a matatu owner, you are still required to declare your net income from the Matatu business at end of year, calculate tax thereof, net off the advance tax already paid and then pay the difference if any.

If you are running your business through a company then you have to separate your income if your company employs you from company income and pay tax on the 2 entities separately.

I hope i have helped you.

You are doing better now. Was shocked when you said everyone pays PAYE.
Personal Income(Not all income) is taxed at max rate of 30%. The matatu owner could also be employed and also has few rental houses and will file returns like any one else.
The argument that Matatus dont pay taxes is therefore baseless.

The reality on the ground is that for those in formal employment, PAYE is direct and easily enforceable and you cannot escape it. However in the informal sector, though there are tax guidelines, these are not easily enforced and there is quite massive tax evasion out there. That is why the tax collection is low despite 'others' having high incomes out there. The government/KRA should develop better systems of bringing more informal sector players/income earners into the tax bracket and put in place better systems for monitoring and catching defaulters. Otherwise majority of Kenyans don't pay taxes on their income.
#202 Posted : Friday, September 21, 2018 1:29:40 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
80% of kenyans live in the rural areas and use firewood or charcoal for cooking.

They also don't pay zilch in taxes, why should we the 20% bear the burden for the 80%

Please explain the tax part. I see tax deduction on my grandma's tea crop monthly payment slip.

They also commute (pay fare to the veh owner who paid taxes acquiring the vehicle and fueling) and use household goods which are thoroughly taxed.

The only tax you must pay is income tax, the other indirect taxes you can choose to pay or avoid. I mean PAYE on their incomes which in some cases are quite substantial.

still can not get how say as a landlord i pay paye, i thought the later is for those in employment and its the employer who deducts the same, I might be wrong but I don't think paye is for everyone with an income, there are other forms of tax but not paye is a specific tax for a specific group.

Now if you are in business (or self employed)(be it rental income, matatu income, consultancy, farming etc), you are ideally supposed to self assess and remit taxes at the same max 30%.

The govt introduces such measure as advance tax for commercial vehicles to try and capture the taxes as much as possible in the most cost effective way, but such are not final taxes, as a matatu owner, you are still required to declare your net income from the Matatu business at end of year, calculate tax thereof, net off the advance tax already paid and then pay the difference if any.

If you are running your business through a company then you have to separate your income if your company employs you from company income and pay tax on the 2 entities separately.

You are doing better now. Was shocked when you said everyone pays PAYE.
Personal Income(Not all income) is taxed at max rate of 30%. The matatu owner could also be employed and also has few rental houses and will file returns like any one else.
The argument that Matatus dont pay taxes is therefore baseless.

The reality on the ground is that for those in formal employment, PAYE is direct and easily enforceable and you cannot escape it. However in the informal sector, though there are tax guidelines, these are not easily enforced and there is quite massive tax evasion out there. That is why the tax collection is low despite 'others' having high incomes out there. The government/KRA should develop better systems of bringing more informal sector players/income earners into the tax bracket and put in place better systems for monitoring and catching defaulters. Otherwise majority of Kenyans don't pay taxes on their income.

Hapo ni ukweli. The government is heavily dependent on withheld taxes because our tax systems are not well developed to collect self assessed taxes.

But surprisingly, Kenya ranks among the highest in tax collection in Africa. Tax systems in many other countries are non-existent.
sitaki.kujulikana
#203 Posted : Friday, September 21, 2018 1:51:20 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

My confusion arose from that fact you stated, that everyone with an income has to pay PAYE - of course there are other forms of taxation for different groups.
#204 Posted : Friday, September 21, 2018 3:38:05 PM

Uhuruto, that video has made my day. Turn on the volume it is muted. Applause Applause Applause

https://www.kenyan-post....ed-into-tano-terror.html
#205 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2018 2:22:24 PM

Sansa
#206 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2018 5:39:56 PM

How is this possible?
#207 Posted : Friday, September 28, 2018 5:54:22 PM

Cancelled by speaker
#208 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2019 10:59:09 AM

Moses Kuria tears into Ohuru. Says people of central kenya are tired of being voting machines with no development projects. I agree 100% with Kuria.

https://www.standardmedi...-a-jab-at-the-president

This time around, rabble-rouser Moses Kuria has trained his gunsights on the biggest office in the land whose occupant happens to be one of his constituents---- President Uhuru Kenyatta.
In a video clip doing rounds on social media, the Gatundu South MP is seen criticising the President for launching projects in other parts of the country but not Central Kenya.

“As we usher in 2019, think very seriously. Your job is to vote after which we reward other regions with development which is not very smart,” he says to a loud applause.
Kuria then urges the crowd to ask the president to open development projects in Kiambu as he awards rehabilitated alcoholics with certificates.

He also mentions the President’s recent tour of Nyanza where he opened roads, saying the same should happen in Kiambu.
Pumping up the crowd, he wonders why Kiambu County was allocated Sh8bn and another county Sh12 billion.

#209 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2019 6:34:44 PM

Moses Kuria tears into Ohuru. Says people of central kenya are tired of being voting machines with no development projects. I agree 100% with Kuria.

https://www.standardmedi...-a-jab-at-the-president

This time around, rabble-rouser Moses Kuria has trained his gunsights on the biggest office in the land whose occupant happens to be one of his constituents---- President Uhuru Kenyatta.
In a video clip doing rounds on social media, the Gatundu South MP is seen criticising the President for launching projects in other parts of the country but not Central Kenya.

“As we usher in 2019, think very seriously. Your job is to vote after which we reward other regions with development which is not very smart,” he says to a loud applause.
Kuria then urges the crowd to ask the president to open development projects in Kiambu as he awards rehabilitated alcoholics with certificates.

He also mentions the President’s recent tour of Nyanza where he opened roads, saying the same should happen in Kiambu.
Pumping up the crowd, he wonders why Kiambu County was allocated Sh8bn and another county Sh12 billion.

Meanwhile Nyanza MPs have defended Ohuru against attacks by Moses Kuria and told Kuria to shut up. Kweli hii dunia ina mambo.

https://www.standardmedi...uru-has-ignored-central

The MPs Paul Abuor (Rongo), Martin Owino (Ndhiwa), James Nyikal (Seme) and Millie Odhiambo, (Suba North) and Antony Oluoch (Mathare) said they were unhappy with Kuria’s slur against the President.
“The innuendo created by Kuria and his ilk against the President, who is keen to reconcile all Kenyans and unite people for a common good, is retrogressive,” said Mr Abuor.

Oluoch, Nyikal and Odhiambo told Kuria to stop starting politics aimed at wedging differences between diverse Kenyans ethnic communities.

Oluoch said they would not allow a few disgruntled individuals to water down the spirit of handshake aimed at reconciling Kenyans.

The legislators reaffirmed their support for the March 9, 2018 handshake, saying it was for the good of all Kenyans.

“We are saying no to ethnic polarisation. We will not accept statements aimed at creating divisions among healing Kenyans just because of politics of greed,” said Odhiambo.
#210 Posted : Sunday, February 03, 2019 5:43:09 PM

I have found myself empathizing more and more with Uhuru. He genuinely seems concerned with delivering a legacy. Sadly, he is surrounded by wolves and his anger is understandable. It can get lonely at the top.

On Friday he was at Kitengela and in a moment of anger blurted something in Kikuyu. Today while inspecting the Isinya-Kiserian road, also responded to some guys who greeted him in Kikuyu. As a Kiuk it make me uncomfortable. Gives fodder to those who know how to play the anti-kiuk card.
tom_boy
#211 Posted : Sunday, February 03, 2019 9:19:24 PM

I have found myself empathizing more and more with Uhuru. He genuinely seems concerned with delivering a legacy. Sadly, he is surrounded by wolves and his anger is understandable. It can get lonely at the top.

On Friday he was at Kitengela and in a moment of anger blurted something in Kikuyu. Today while inspecting the Isinya-Kiserian road, also responded to some guys who greeted him in Kikuyu. As a Kiuk it make me uncomfortable. Gives fodder to those who know how to play the anti-kiuk card.

Yes. I also sympathise but for a different reason. Uhuru is incapable of being a president. Yaani he has no leadership DNA, not even a drop. Has never achieved anything independently in his life. Not even trusted to run the family business. What did we expect? When it comes to leadership, Ruto and Baba outclass his by a thousand miles, thus I feel his frustration. He is reduced to ranting and drowning his sorrows. Leadership requires knowing where you want to go and having the courage to forge the path. I fear he lacks courage.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#212 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2019 2:09:37 PM

tom_boy wrote:

Yes. I also sympathise but for a different reason. Uhuru is incapable of being a president. Yaani he has no leadership DNA, not even a drop. Has never achieved anything independently in his life. Not even trusted to run the family business. What did we expect? When it comes to leadership, Ruto and Baba outclass his by a thousand miles, thus I feel his frustration. He is reduced to ranting and drowning his sorrows. Leadership requires knowing where you want to go and having the courage to forge the path. I fear he lacks courage.

We had been singing this song with @alma for a long time. Personally I was a Rao guy. But its too late in the day to whine. Now we must support, pray and wish that Uhuru will succeed. Our parent's generation lost their prime years to Moi's misrule. We were lucky to experience the miracle of Kibaki years. The worst we can do is to condemn ourselves and our kids to a life of misery until 2032. 10 years of Ruto will leave a damage that might need 50 years to undo.
tom_boy
#213 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2019 3:04:29 PM

tom_boy wrote:

We had been singing this song with @alma for a long time. Personally I was a Rao guy. But its too late in the day to whine. Now we must support, pray and wish that Uhuru will succeed. Our parent's generation lost their prime years to Moi's misrule. We were lucky to experience the miracle of Kibaki years. The worst we can do is to condemn ourselves and our kids to a life of misery until 2032. 10 years of Ruto will leave a damage that might need 50 years to undo.

Well put.
I have never voted for uhuru at any election simply because I did not see any evidence of leadership in him. A Ruto presidency would be disastrous. Whereas with Uhuru we are rudderless with Ruto, we shall be like a speedboat headed straight to damnation.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#214 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2019 3:19:19 PM

tom_boy wrote:

Well put.
I have never voted for uhuru at any election simply because I did not see any evidence of leadership in him. A Ruto presidency would be disastrous. Whereas with Uhuru we are rudderless with Ruto, we shall be like a speedboat headed straight to damnation.

Really? What kind of evidence should we be looking for? Between UK, Rao, Kalonzo, Ruto, Mdvd, who would you say has experience if you could give us examples? Hakuna. Kibaki was an economicst but not great in politics. Moi was a good politician but terrible everything else.

I agree though that UK has failed to deliver but I don't think the alternative would have done better either.

#215 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2019 6:02:49 PM

tom_boy wrote:

Well put.

Really? What kind of evidence should we be looking for? Between UK, Rao, Kalonzo, Ruto, Mdvd, who would you say has experience if you could give us examples? Hakuna. Kibaki was an economicst but not great in politics. Moi was a good politician but terrible everything else.

I agree though that UK has failed to deliver but I don't think the alternative would have done better either.

Boss, I guess what @tomboy is saying is that the evidence against Uhuru was overwhelming. He comes from the wealthiest family in Kenya and nobody had ever given him any responsibility in managing the vast empire. But for now we are in a hole, we just need to figure out how to climb out.
#216 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2019 6:25:57 PM

tom_boy wrote:

Well put.

Boss, I guess what @tomboy is saying is that the evidence against Uhuru was overwhelming. He comes from the wealthiest family in Kenya and nobody had ever given him any responsibility in managing the vast empire. But for now we are in a hole, we just need to figure out how to climb out.

I get you and I'm also saying that the people who hav a good chance of being elected president the Kenyan tribal way, have no experience nor qualifications to build a successful nation. The ones who do can never win. Kibaki was just lucky because of baba and the "Kibaki tosha" otherwise UK and Moi would have won 2002 as well.

tom_boy
#217 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2019 6:51:39 PM

tom_boy wrote:

Well put.

I get you and I'm also saying that the people who hav a good chance of being elected president the Kenyan tribal way, have no experience nor qualifications to build a successful nation. The ones who do can never win. Kibaki was just lucky because of baba and the "Kibaki tosha" otherwise UK and Moi would have won 2002 as well.

At the risk of being called all sorts of names by some folks here, I will declare without a shudder of fear, that BABA would have done better than Uhunye. I am not even from lakeside so its not tribal.
#218 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2019 7:07:55 PM

You guys better make do with what you have as PORK & his team because you have no say whatsoever on them. Ruto next Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Just get ways of making money and investing as an individual. Forget the bloody country, this one is doomed.

We were promised that devolution will change things, wapi? Yet majority of Governors are leaving in 2022 having done thing but eat and a new crop of eaters with grace the scene.

Hapa ni kujitegemea my friends. I stopped crying for the country and nowadays just work towards improving my nucleus net-worth.
#219 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2019 8:09:43 PM

tom_boy wrote:

Well put.

At the risk of being called all sorts of names by some folks here, I will declare without a shudder of fear, that BABA would have done better than Uhunye. I am not even from lakeside so its not tribal.

... and I don't think so. Baba has too much political baggage, old school thinking, revange to pay back. Uhuru had no baggage but he also has no idea of how to navigate nor will. Kibwana would be good but he can never win.

Fyatu
#220 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2019 11:27:45 AM

Hillary Echesa has been gallivanting in disco matanga's insulting Baba, Oparanya and other leaders. He is also on record harassing directors of parastatals in his ministry and all manner of abuse of office.(He has not disappointed given his pebble brain and lack of proper education).

Problem is, most Jubilee folks thought handshake was jokes. I said it here that on March 9 2018, Raila had a strange ring on his chanda-cha-pete.(dig up photos for youselves from the internet). It seems Omieri the deity of Opoda shrine is very powerful and has got H.E. Uhuru by the nuts...but i digress

Handshake is now waterloo for many. Fortunately or unfortunately, some of these CS's are strategic for 2022 and hence the wider consultations before they get fired.

P.S. A certain CS is very quiet...Mountains of plastic still remain uncollected on the Mtito-voi stretch of Mombasa road. Effluent is flowing full-force into the tributaries of river Athi. Gov. Mutua chest thumped lakini hapa itabaki ame-watch kama sinema(no pun).
The said CS seem to have carried over his epic lethargy from his former office of public prosecutions
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money