Sports
2016 Rio Olympics Thread
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,038 Location: GA
murchr wrote:1500m Men Semifinals
Kiprop and Kwemoi qualify, Manang'oi did not start. Robby Andrews stepped out of the field but he's on the list of qualifiers lets see if the same laws that eliminated Kemboi apply.
800M Women
Its going to be Nyairera vs Semenya who qualified, Sum and Chebet did not
Wambui should pull a kipyegon kamata semenya at the 100 hapo ndio kick yake huanzia.
madollar wrote:Who would have thought... kenya vs usa neck to neck in the 400m hurdles at the olympics . Well deserved silver tumuti. With focus we make this our forte!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
What possible postn will we finish overall?
We hv ony 3 events left - M1500m,W800m na Javelin. W800 is very tricky. Even Javelin Yego had to work hard to qualify.
Based on the medal standings at the moment (we are 18th overall), and assuming max we can get is 3 golds, our best would thus be 11th overall in medal count just after Australia, ceteri paribus.
If we manage 2 then we go 13th.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
Intelligentsia wrote:What possible postn will we finish overall?
We hv ony 3 events left - M1500m,W800m na Javelin. W800 is very tricky. Even Javelin Yego had to work hard to qualify.
Based on the medal standings at the moment (we are 18th overall), and assuming max we can get is 3 golds, our best would thus be 11th overall in medal count just after Australia, ceteri paribus.
If we manage 2 then we go 13th.
Marathon ?
Rank: Member Joined: 10/24/2013 Posts: 455 Location: Nairobi
Bolt retires in style. Takes the gold medals in his events "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Wonderful wonderful wonderful... these golds you don't expect are rather sweet. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Member Joined: 1/30/2016 Posts: 332 Location: Rift Valley
Long Before Lochte, Ancient Olympians Were Serious TroublemakersQuote:The ancient Olympics featured doping, bribery, boozing, and, shall we say, “finger snapping.”
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,038 Location: GA
masukuma wrote:Wonderful wonderful wonderful... these golds you don't expect are rather sweet. what happened to ayana with 800 to go she looked stiff .Smart running and never give up attitude by Vivian .Could be the biggest upset this olympics on track after ile ya dibaba.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Nice.
madollar wrote:masukuma wrote:Wonderful wonderful wonderful... these golds you don't expect are rather sweet. what happened to ayana with 800 to go she looked stiff .Smart running and never give up attitude by Vivian .Could be the biggest upset this olympics on track after ile ya dibaba. Maybe Ayana got caught in those moments, they happen once in a while In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Ayana blew it. Wrong tactics in the preliminary round and in the final. In the end she over-extended herself.
Ask Laura Muir who also blew it in the 1500m
Yaani Japan won silver in the 4 X 100m? and No African team reached the final? And Japan are always among the contenders in the 4 X 100m
The fastest Japanese sprinter will easily smoke their Kenyan counterpart. No wonder their sevens team is no joke compared to their joke Kenyan counterparts who went to Rio for maziara.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
My goodness. I hope they don't subject Wambui to a gender test. The lady is too masculine. Hoping for a great contest today though
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Unbelievable that a tiny country like Britain is having 25 gold medals. No wonder they conquered and colonized nearly the whole world not so long ago.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/30/2016 Posts: 332 Location: Rift Valley
hardwood wrote:Unbelievable that a tiny country like Britain is having 25 gold medals. No wonder they conquered and colonized nearly the world not so long ago. Incidentally this article is in tomorrow's paper. Lottery millions help British athletes to golden success in the Rio Olympics
Perfect, perfect, perfect, considering vivian had to take a break from the sport and she comes back like this, ati bolt, ati phelps, hakuna this is the real deal, just brilliant, tremendous effort, amazing persistence, genius tactics.
I was really surprised by Japan winning silver in the relays. Not to take anything from them but their star anchor runner Asuka Cambridge who helped them to clinch it is half Jamaican!!!
Sports
2016 Rio Olympics Thread