30 Pages«<910111213>»
Shabaab suspects ambush bus near Mandera, kill 28
kiash
#101 Posted : Monday, November 24, 2014 8:43:31 PM

There is no we are one campaign and no redcross soliciting for donations unlike Westgate because those killed were poor people.

Spot on!!!!! Even for the Kapedo massacre and Lamu.

They should attack Lavington and Runda more instead of poor people!!!!!!!!!!

And then people will run to wazua and start saying i knew sijui who and who on the list.
kiash
#102 Posted : Monday, November 24, 2014 9:11:32 PM

Kratos wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Kratos wrote:
The way i understand it, is we have homegrown terrorists and those coming from Somalia and lastly their sympathizers right here.
To improve the security situation in the country there needs to be more effort from the citizenry to come forward with information no matter how irrelevant they think it is. Case in point, during the lamu attacks it is well documented that some of the attackers spoke fluent Swahili. That means some were Kenyans. From which families, neighbourhoods and clans did they come from? Is it possible that none of their relatives and friends never noticed that they had become militant? Then there are the sympathizers who provide logistical support e.g how did the foreign bandits gain entry into the country.
A good example on how to fight this evil is to use similar tactics as used on the mungiki and sdlf. Let the local communities support the operation without coming up with excuses about profiling and human rights. If they're not willing round everyone up and weed them out and gather information on those with suspected links. The buggers must be celebrating on how we have turned on each other instead of focusing on them.My two Zim dollars

@kratos, in summary, the major challenge is that there is no one to coordinate a response to the issues as you have detailed above.

In my view the main challenge is that as a society we need to do more than just wait for the government or anyone else for that matter. Its the little things that we can do personally. Remember that video footage of a bag left at JKIA unattended? No one cared enough to let the authorities know, in fact no one noticed anything wrong with the picture.
I believe that the main reason as to why its harder to attack countries like the US is that the citizenry there distrust strangers. To join a club you need to be introduced, to move into a neighbourhood there is some sort of background check. Here we call it profiling, there they call it collecting intelligence(information). You don't necessarily need a good police chief to report suspicious activity or report your relative anonymously whom you suspect is into the business of terror.
I think if as a society we have done our part only then can we point fingers outwards. The day someone will come out and say "hey! I called the police regarding those guys there and nothing was done about it"

Point home. I know like in countries like Switzerland if you want to build a house or buy one, the neighbors are asked their opinion. As you say in Kenya it's profiling. There will be loud mouths like Hassan Omar and Alphdoti who will claim they are targeting muslims. They forget the gov is not going to check on the Kambas in mayakos for problems happening in Mbsa.But if its to report, whom do you report to ? call 999 ? is there a number for the antiterrorist police unit that is know to the public? Will they respond? like the example you gave above on the bag left at JKIA or jobless corner. Its Kenyan culture the police are busy doing other stuff like collecting tax, just like some civil servant who would rather go check on their farms or matatus instead of being in the office doing what they are paid to do.
#103 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 2:13:33 AM

kiash wrote:

There is no we are one campaign and no redcross soliciting for donations unlike Westgate because those killed were poor people.

And then people will run to wazua and start saying i knew sijui who and who on the list.

and what has exactly stopped characters like this complainant @mawinder from initiating a #WeAreOne on this episode he feels so dear about?...it's very easy to come yap on Wazua about what else others should do yet you have done zero about what you complaining about.
Mainat
#104 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 5:43:18 AM

Meanwhile, this was Dr Kamwana

http://www.the-star.co.k...while-official-visit-uae
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#105 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 6:48:05 AM

So what santuri is going to be played for Kenyans today?

It's all very nice shouting and screaming how Alphdoti and the so called homegrown terrorists are finishing Kenyans. Kweli you think this santuri has not been played before? It's like copy pasting from the republican party and removing the name Osama with Al-Shabaab.

The question today is

Are you safe?

Second question is

ok, seriously, like in seriously. As in really seriously, where is the President of Kenya when half the teachers in a a district are massacred?

Sometimes in life, PR and massive tweets by Ole Itumbi don't work. I actually have massive respect for the fellow. It's rather difficult trying to run a social media campaign when the leader of a country is persona non grata.

Can we stop wasting time talking about Alphdoti? He was not in Mandera and if he was and he's still posting on Wazua then you can see we have more serious problems in matters security than we had imagined before.

Kenyans are killed. Someone in gov't says, that the people who did it were killed. Only to find out later that this may not be 100% accurate.

In the meantime, the President. Anyone found him yet? Ole Lenku has drawn a red line now with green dots for emphasis. Al -Shabaab is still tweeting.

We are one Santuri has scratches on it. Let's get another one shall we?
#106 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 7:24:38 AM

kiash wrote:

and what has exactly stopped characters like this complainant @mawinder from initiating a #WeAreOne on this episode he feels so dear about?...it's very easy to come yap on Wazua about what else others should do yet you have done zero about what you complaining about.

I have lost 4 constituents and as a parliamentary candidate and humane Kenyan I have offered to assist the families with a small token.A point to note is that majority of those killed were Kisiis and Luhyas.This time tyrrany was left out.If it were a Brookhouse school bus that had been attacked, millions would have been raised, but because the dead are poor people from Ogembo and Nyamataro, shauri yao!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#107 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 7:39:25 AM

So what santuri is going to be played for Kenyans today?

It's all very nice shouting and screaming how Alphdoti and the so called homegrown terrorists are finishing Kenyans. Kweli you think this santuri has not been played before? It's like copy pasting from the republican party and removing the name Osama with Al-Shabaab.

The question today is

Are you safe?

Second question is

ok, seriously, like in seriously. As in really seriously, where is the President of Kenya when half the teachers in a a district are massacred?

Sometimes in life, PR and massive tweets by Ole Itumbi don't work. I actually have massive respect for the fellow. It's rather difficult trying to run a social media campaign when the leader of a country is persona non grata.

Can we stop wasting time talking about Alphdoti? He was not in Mandera and if he was and he's still posting on Wazua then you can see we have more serious problems in matters security than we had imagined before.

Kenyans are killed. Someone in gov't says, that the people who did it were killed. Only to find out later that this may not be 100% accurate.

In the meantime, the President. Anyone found him yet? Ole Lenku has drawn a red line now with green dots for emphasis. Al -Shabaab is still tweeting.

We are one Santuri has scratches on it. Let's get another one shall we?

Anajienjoy...Tuselfies huko mayuuSad Sad

Muriel
#108 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 7:47:22 AM

#109 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 7:52:18 AM

But seriously, terrorism is a serious threat to whichever country. We don't have any country yet that have been able to subdue it completely. Even the super powers still find themselves attacked. However, how we respond as Kenya is what leaves a lot to be desired. The general perception is that our current security heads are incompetent. They do not inspire any confidence in the nation(something that a leader should be able to disseminate regardless of the situation). They duo are currently the most popular for public ridicule simply coz jokes are all Kenyans can attribute them to. Even the president's men, akina Kindiki and that other lawyer from Rift, are no longer defending them. They want them out. Big question: Why is it too hard to have them step aside? In fact, why should they even wait to be fired?

And as all this was happening, the President was out of the country taking selfies!!! I remember the Westgate attack...the DP asked to be allowed back to come assist the president handle the situation. Those were only four terrorists. When we have more than 100(If their statement is anything to go by) of them on our soil terrorizing our fellow brothers and sisters, the president can voluntarily afford to be away. That inspires a lot of confidence, does it?
#110 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 8:05:33 AM

@Washiku, if the President was at the ICC rather than on an F1 selfie trip, do you think he would have asked the judges to come back home to deal with serious matters of state?
30 Pages«<910111213>»