wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

19 Pages«<910111213>»
Why is Africa poor in general compared to the West?
Emerger
#201 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 11:09:23 AM

enyands wrote:
We do not create, but love consuming - just look at wazua as an example, most discussions lie between politics and stock/money investments - very little in the sme section, very few are willing to do the dirty work.

Its like on a farm, where a farmer is mostly preoccupied with betting on speculating if the neigboring farms will have better yields or not. I think we need to get dirty more.

load us with tips @nakujua.. what I know the problem is that politics go hand in hand with economy /stocks . let me give you an example.@mnadii gives all his examples to how political crisis affects the human behavioral pattern (thus obeying the wave pattern he refers to all the time) hence affecting how investment is done.
If we make good constructive political criticism in us then we can know how the mood is to jump in or jump out on floor,,,, im just saying and could be right or wrong but stand to be corrected .socio-politics affects much the socio-economic dynamics.they are so so much correlated and cant separate the two ...this is just me how I see it

Of course as you mention politics will go hand in hand with the economy / stocks, I am not disputing that.

But in my view we missed a stage, a stage where those who had the money, or resources could only multiply the same by producing more - of course that was before the modern investment / money making tools came around.

If you look at it, politics and the stock market are great drivers of a decent economy, but if introduced too early you find your self in a situation where you are trying to drive a vehicle whose engine is not yet complete.

Developing countries I feel find themselves in that situation, where those who have the money, or resources (education) find it easier propping or seeking to prop up a very narrow mature segemnt and making all efforts to close it up. SO where does that leave the majority who do not have - disparities become extreme.

We messed up the education system

Why do policy makers think that all of the kids in Kenya can only be in professions that involve maths, and science? They took away vital subjects such as Arts and Crafts Music etc.

You cannot build anything without the creative mind. Steve Jobs MAC succeeded after he incorporated art in the whole design.

As the kids progress to high school and university, one glaring thing that shows is the lack of critical thinking skills...even at the work place, that's because kids study for exams that go like "Name factors that lead to soil erosion, What is ...nothing problem solving..thats why many employers claim that our graduates are half baked...conceptualization is a problem.

@murchr you are right. Seriously if these guys are still teaching about how to stop soil erosion at primary schools is just garbage. When kids are in primary I believe that's when they can be moulded to get a talent and perfect what they are good at .lakini you imbibe their brains with garbage about soil erosion ?? Really ,who told you that that kid will want to be a farmer?

Germany as a country ,kids a nurtured into engineering world when they are young .you will never see kids there in Europe being taught how to stop soil erosion .they let the kids develop their career in what pleases them.

Another garbage is kids in usa are taught, geography and in this geography they learn 90% topography of usa(coz it belongs to them ) ,5% Europe ,4% Asia and 1% Africa( of which they concetrate on Egypt and their funny pyramids )lakini here kenya they teach you all garbage about usa, Asia ,bla bla.tell me unafundisha mtoto about tundra in usa,how will it help this kenyan kid and all his life maybe he will never step in usa.there is alot of irrelevance in our education .

At times we are responsible for the state of affairs we find ourselves in save for factors beyond us.
We choose the 'leaders' to lead the nation as well as institutions but we rarely look at their ability to do so thus we are always in the 'same' circle. The so called 'leaders' just know how to play politics and politicise almost everything hence we react to the their politicization of things. I believe if we elect good leaders with ability to develop and change we will react differently since they would detach/lower the mutual dependency of politics from economics and have the 2 run independently with minimal interference. my thoughts.
fast foward pry kids to graduands, what is the relation of what they are studying to application of the same? Are they really learning to offer solutions to geopolitical issues currently being felt?..food for thought
Ericsson
#202 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 12:01:03 PM

Prudent management of funds;

http://www.cnbc.com/2015...-wealth-fund-peaked.html
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#203 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 1:05:31 PM

[quote=Ericsson]Prudent management of funds;

http://www.cnbc.com/2015...wealth-fund-peaked.html[/quote]

Rem watching a documentary about that Norway fund...crazy figures.
#204 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 1:43:25 PM

Emerger wrote:

At times we are responsible for the state of affairs we find ourselves in save for factors beyond us.
We choose the 'leaders' to lead the nation as well as institutions but we rarely look at their ability to do so thus we are always in the 'same' circle. The so called 'leaders' just know how to play politics and politicise almost everything hence we react to the their politicization of things. I believe if we elect good leaders with ability to develop and change we will react differently since they would detach/lower the mutual dependency of politics from economics and have the 2 run independently with minimal interference. my thoughts.
fast foward pry kids to graduands, what is the relation of what they are studying to application of the same? Are they really learning to offer solutions to geopolitical issues currently being felt?..food for thought

But you really can not blame the mwananchi for the leadership mess we are in, look at it this way - Primary to secondary school transition is at about 60%, and of the roughly 60% only about 25% will manage to score a c+ and above, factoring in bridging courses and others we can bump up the figure to around 30-40 % who manage to get a form of post secondary education.

Considering around 45-50% of Kenyans live below the poverty line, of the remaining majority live in poverty - that means access power, libraries, newspapers, the internet, colleagues who are knowledgeable in particular areas ... remains a luxury to most.

Now how are these great numbers supposed to understand the correlation between political leadership and the economy, it may seem trivial to us, but the masses depend on political rallies for information. Add to that the middle and upper classes have closed themselves in and do everything to keep away the masses - in short when it comes to leadership nothing will change, not any time soon.
enyands
#205 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 4:46:13 PM

Emerger wrote:

But you really can not blame the mwananchi for the leadership mess we are in, look at it this way - Primary to secondary school transition is at about 60%, and of the roughly 60% only about 25% will manage to score a c+ and above, factoring in bridging courses and others we can bump up the figure to around 30-40 % who manage to get a form of post secondary education.

Considering around 45-50% of Kenyans live below the poverty line, of the remaining majority live in poverty - that means access power, libraries, newspapers, the internet, colleagues who are knowledgeable in particular areas ... remains a luxury to most.

Now how are these great numbers supposed to understand the correlation between political leadership and the economy, it may seem trivial to us, but the masses depend on political rallies for information. Add to that the middle and upper classes have closed themselves in and do everything to keep away the masses - in short when it comes to leadership nothing will change, not any time soon.

Hiring different monkeys to replace old monkeys living in the same forest
Seles83
#206 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 11:51:56 PM

enyands wrote:
We do not create, but love consuming - just look at wazua as an example, most discussions lie between politics and stock/money investments - very little in the sme section, very few are willing to do the dirty work.

Its like on a farm, where a farmer is mostly preoccupied with betting on speculating if the neigboring farms will have better yields or not. I think we need to get dirty more.

load us with tips @nakujua.. what I know the problem is that politics go hand in hand with economy /stocks . let me give you an example.@mnadii gives all his examples to how political crisis affects the human behavioral pattern (thus obeying the wave pattern he refers to all the time) hence affecting how investment is done.
If we make good constructive political criticism in us then we can know how the mood is to jump in or jump out on floor,,,, im just saying and could be right or wrong but stand to be corrected .socio-politics affects much the socio-economic dynamics.they are so so much correlated and cant separate the two ...this is just me how I see it

Of course as you mention politics will go hand in hand with the economy / stocks, I am not disputing that.

But in my view we missed a stage, a stage where those who had the money, or resources could only multiply the same by producing more - of course that was before the modern investment / money making tools came around.

If you look at it, politics and the stock market are great drivers of a decent economy, but if introduced too early you find your self in a situation where you are trying to drive a vehicle whose engine is not yet complete.

Developing countries I feel find themselves in that situation, where those who have the money, or resources (education) find it easier propping or seeking to prop up a very narrow mature segemnt and making all efforts to close it up. SO where does that leave the majority who do not have - disparities become extreme.

We messed up the education system

Why do policy makers think that all of the kids in Kenya can only be in professions that involve maths, and science? They took away vital subjects such as Arts and Crafts Music etc.

You cannot build anything without the creative mind. Steve Jobs MAC succeeded after he incorporated art in the whole design.

As the kids progress to high school and university, one glaring thing that shows is the lack of critical thinking skills...even at the work place, that's because kids study for exams that go like "Name factors that lead to soil erosion, What is ...nothing problem solving..thats why many employers claim that our graduates are half baked...conceptualization is a problem.

"As the kids progress to high school and university, one glaring thing that shows is the lack of critical thinking skills...even at the work place, that's because kids study for exams that go like "Name factors that lead to soil erosion?."

That there is problem of current education system, it encourages cramming and memorising?

This how you build a nation of thinkers, just using Soil Erosion Topic:

Discuss the impacts of Soil Erosion to environment and crops yield? What can be done to stop soil erosion?

Such a question stimulates actual thinking from a student and teachers..

There are no fixed answers, just depends on how well your articulate your answers.
More monies, more problems...
Jon Jones
#207 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2015 11:30:27 PM

I will explain using Kenya as a case study. Kenya is poor because of a faulty system of governance that is bloated with unnecessary positions and expenses. Kenya needs only 15 counties and we have 47 counties. This forms a top-heavy management for the country and many opportunities for numerous politicians to steal. In my opinion, Kenya needs 15 counties or less, with a lean government structure followed by an air-tight system of government.
Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
Realtreaty
#208 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2015 11:42:24 PM

We need to produce more(at all levels) than import more. We must mke our country investor friendly, stop thievery(Carjacking, mugging stealing), corruption(even imported corruption), nepotism, tribalism,laziness poor schooling and carriculum.
We should as well reward those with good ideas that are workable and could help the country to grow.
enyands
#209 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2015 1:17:13 AM

I know that through the above problems is where the rich greedy rich people thrive from. example poor schooling , a rich kid will take his kid to a very good resourced school and in turn the kid will graduate and get a good job and the cycle continues. stealing - you know how stealing goes as in getting whats not yours and getting richness from it,corruption -talk of kra employees who get rich overnight , anyway its sad but the selfish rich would love this problems to be there so that they can stand out to be rich
Nabwire
#210 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2015 9:27:20 PM

Found this interesting documentary! A must watch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WNYemuiAOfU
Nabwire
#211 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2015 10:22:37 PM

[quote=Nabwire]Found this interesting documentary! A must watch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WNYemuiAOfU[/quote]

Unbelievable, so former Zambian President wanted to be paid money just so he does an interview on why his government sold off 100% of the country's mines at throw away prices?! Because of his ignorance and lack of business skills, $10 Billion ( thats Billion not Million) left the African continent never to return, but wait, there's more where that came from! And you wonder why Africa is poor!
Nabwire
#212 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 9:24:25 PM

Whoa, my mind has completely been blown by this woman Mallence! If you dont watch anything else, watch this TedX Talk, she explains quite so eloquently why Africa is "poor" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AfnruW7yERA
#213 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 10:59:47 PM

A country is as rich as its citizens. If you transfered all Europeans to Africa and all Africans to Europe, Africa would be rich and Europe poor. The answer is a capitalistic mindset. You don't get materially rich by accident.
#214 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 11:03:30 PM

A country is as rich as its citizens. If you transfered all Europeans to Africa and all Africans to Europe, Africa would be rich and Europe poor. The answer is a capitalistic mindset. You don't get materially rich by accident.
#215 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 11:23:25 PM

Uko na point...I wonder how much different Africa would be if we ran our countries the way the white man did
Nabwire
#216 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 11:42:46 PM

Uko na point...I wonder how much different Africa would be if we ran our countries the way the white man did

Sparkly you do have a point! I have been told to recommend we all read Capitalist Nigger by Dr. Chika Onyeani https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capitalist_Nigger
enyands
#217 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2015 8:29:55 AM

[quote=Nabwire]Whoa, my mind has completely been blown by this woman Mallence! If you dont watch anything else, watch this TedX Talk, she explains quite so eloquently why Africa is "poor" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AfnruW7yERA[/quote]

This is the best talk iv ever heard in a long time. She is calm and talks eloquently and let the facts sink in into the west minds as she pauses . She is saying the truth. We lease lands to mineral hunters after at expense of nation .
enyands
#218 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2015 8:45:36 AM

enyands wrote:
[quote=Nabwire]Whoa, my mind has completely been blown by this woman Mallence! If you dont watch anything else, watch this TedX Talk, she explains quite so eloquently why Africa is "poor" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AfnruW7yERA[/quote]

This is the best talk iv ever heard in a long time. She is calm and talks eloquently and let the facts sink in into the west minds as she pauses . She is saying the truth. We lease lands to mineral hunters after at expense of nation .

Man this lady is smart .been playing this clip over and over
Nabwire
#219 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2015 12:17:58 PM

enyands wrote:

Man this lady is smart .been playing this clip over and over

This is the way to do it! Facts, no ranting, and pausing very strategically to let the point sink in! I loved her delivery!
innairobi
#220 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2015 2:31:24 PM

kweli kabisa. i havent read the rest of the thread but the absence of critical thought is the black african's biggest undoing. africans more than anyone else, heavily defer to the mob or crowd psychology no matter how silly the crowd's position is. we are comfortable with obvious foolishness as long as everyone else is and dare not entertain the unknowns of new ideas.

hardly any are bold enough to pursue an idea that could attract scorn and ridicule by 'society'. the black african was probably too scared to invent a car, plane, engine, bicycle, paved roads, phones, computers, written language, guns, steel etc, because he was worried about neighborhood gossip or what 'society' will think of him. we are yet to come to terms with the notion that the majority can be wrong.

look around your home or office. you'll be lucky if you find 0.01% of the things around you were invented by a black african. even rudimentary stuff like our names, religions and so-called traditions like circumcision are foreign lmao.

no wonder just a handful of mzungus armed with guns came and fyekad the entire continent of hundreds of millions armed with spears. africa lacked a significant thinking/intellectual class and, in my view, it still does. africa's so-called intellectuals are essentially academics regurgitating old ideas. we have a gazillion professors in engineering but cannot build something as basic as a railway line. we cannot even reverse engineer such simple stuff from the 1700s lol. money has nothing to do with it. europeans were inventing groundbreaking stuff when they were much worse off than africans of today.

until black africans change their way of thinking, it will be at least another one thousand years before we catch up with the west. despite africa's decent growth in recent years, what many people dont realize or discuss is that the gap in per capita GDP between africa and the west has actually increased. our imports continue skyrocketing compared to our exports.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.