Investor
Economy
Law Capping interest rates
maka wrote:Just noticed that NIC have been crediting interest every end month on my savings account Nice. I think kitambo the amounts were to negligible to notice... Ata mimi naziona,kcb ndio imekataa kuweka kakitu. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Member Joined: 12/1/2007 Posts: 539 Location: Nakuru
Impunity wrote:maka wrote:Just noticed that NIC have been crediting interest every end month on my savings account Nice. I think kitambo the amounts were to negligible to notice... Ata mimi naziona,kcb ndio imekataa kuweka kakitu. Nahama leo For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,503 Location: nairobi
winmak wrote:Impunity wrote:maka wrote:Just noticed that NIC have been crediting interest every end month on my savings account Nice. I think kitambo the amounts were to negligible to notice... Ata mimi naziona,kcb ndio imekataa kuweka kakitu. Nahama leo an article worth reading http://www.businessdaily...962376-9fqx98/index.html HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
maka wrote:Just noticed that NIC have been crediting interest every end month on my savings account Nice. I think kitambo the amounts were to negligible to notice... How are they online ? Same bank you use for Bill /Bond purchase ? Huko kwa member kunakujifichio nyingi!
Taurrus wrote:maka wrote:Just noticed that NIC have been crediting interest every end month on my savings account Nice. I think kitambo the amounts were to negligible to notice... How are they online ? Same bank you use for Bill /Bond purchase ? Huko kwa member kunakujifichio nyingi! Its an ok bank...Yep same account for bond purchases thugh they charge 2000 for settling bonds which i find hefty...I just deposit money in my brokers account and they settle it for me @ 500 bob. possunt quia posse videntur
obiero wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:obiero wrote:MaichBlack wrote:obiero wrote:[quote=muandiwambeu][quote=Ebenyo][quote=obiero]I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time.. but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks! so, what do you expect to be a fair hair cut on obieros portfolio as a result of kamwanaas house attempt to please Wanjiku. what will be the overall industries' hit in percentage. my fair guess from my lender's perspective (16-14.5)/(16*0.5)*100=18.75% conservetively thieves. COOP & HF will come out strongest in this.. Too little meat to be bitten out from the two. Plus HF has never been strong on deposits being only licensed to have current accounts a few months ago!! HF will have the least interest expense of all listed lenders Hey @Obiero. Bill not signed. And please note I did not put the word 'yet' at the end. Its bound to be signed on Monday 29th Aug 2016 The bankers will visit statehouse with big brown envelop and this story will be forgotten. Smaller banks will fold Here we are... Family fires it's staff https://citizentv.co.ke/...fs-to-cut-costs-143841/
and then Sidian lays off 108 workers http://www.businessdaily...9550-3428588-151f209z/, then Ecobank collapses 9 branches http://www.businessdaily...6506-316lohz/index.html
First Community Bank let go of a quarter of its staff http://www.the-star.co.k...osed-number-of_c1451638
And now BoA closes 12 branches. Sad state of affairs http://www.businessdaily...2926-jp394sz/index.html[/quote] Sidian, NBK, Family, HF, NIC struggling.. Small banks shall fold The goose is cooked for NBK HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
actuarywahisa wrote:mkeiy wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:how many wazuans who actually run biasharas have been affected by the rate cap, some times the answer we seek is just before us and yet we refuse to see the same. I am in business and yes, this thing has affected me. Indirectly. My sales are not what they used to be. Some of my customers without credit facilities, can't buy or settle their accounts. With customers defaulting, you need more working capital. You try disposing some asset, takes ages to sell, since most guys can't access credit. Unlike 2 years ago. Pesa ingepatikana, sasa ni Mungu tu! Hell,my clearing agent is in shit and that has affected me as well. Which makes me wonder @actuarywahisa, if it's too early to conclude now, when is the right time? I'd say we relax and give it atleast 2 years after the general elections. The effect of elections would have greatly worn off and there would have been sufficient time for the rest of the players in the financial system to adjust. If banks are directing more money to GK securities, then it begs a number of questions, 1) Is GK borrowing growing at a rate to swallow up the excess funds or are the banks crowding out other investors and driving the rates down? 2) If banks are crowding out other debt investors, then where is that 'excess money' from the investors going to? GK has a significant influence in a few local banks. Is there the possibility of also intervening indirectly to make the cartels in the banking sector behave properly? Of course there is. Create a fund and channel through these banks, for a small fee, money to Credit-worthy SMEs. Will banks in the long run continue to ignore the wider spreads from direct lending in favour of admin fees gained from running the fund (even with loan loss provisions considered)? Banks will eventually have to cave and stop indiscriminate cutting of lending. GK has tried intervening in the energy sector (where there have been cartels) indirectly through National Oil and also directly through the fuel pricing formular and I would say with good success. The pain that is currently being faced from the rate cap is because the whole 'money system' has not adjusted. The system is still in shock from the rate cap and has not adjusted. What I am opposed to greatly is the notion that the only adjustment is reversal of caps (so that cartels take us again?) Banks should continue to pick out good borrowers and lend and then take the rest of the money to GK securities. These shenanigans of punishing everyone with exhorbitant rates because of lending indiscriminately can't continue. @Obi 1 Kanobi... thank you for posting that link. We will continue to have alternative facts. Nature will not allow for a vacuum; Not even in a financial eco-system. Funding for credit worthy SMEs CONTINUES... http://www.businessdaily...65904-jed1w9/index.html
Saccos begin to capitalise... http://www.businessdaily...6796-yof7stz/index.html
There are too many opportunities all around. Open your eyes and maybe you'll spot one
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2014 Posts: 1,420 Location: Bohemian Grove
obiero wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:obiero wrote:MaichBlack wrote:obiero wrote:[quote=muandiwambeu][quote=Ebenyo][quote=obiero]I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time.. but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks! so, what do you expect to be a fair hair cut on obieros portfolio as a result of kamwanaas house attempt to please Wanjiku. what will be the overall industries' hit in percentage. my fair guess from my lender's perspective (16-14.5)/(16*0.5)*100=18.75% conservetively thieves. COOP & HF will come out strongest in this.. Too little meat to be bitten out from the two. Plus HF has never been strong on deposits being only licensed to have current accounts a few months ago!! HF will have the least interest expense of all listed lenders Hey @Obiero. Bill not signed. And please note I did not put the word 'yet' at the end. Its bound to be signed on Monday 29th Aug 2016 The bankers will visit statehouse with big brown envelop and this story will be forgotten. Smaller banks will fold Here we are... Family fires it's staff https://citizentv.co.ke/...fs-to-cut-costs-143841/
and then Sidian lays off 108 workers http://www.businessdaily...9550-3428588-151f209z/, then Ecobank collapses 9 branches http://www.businessdaily...6506-316lohz/index.html
First Community Bank let go of a quarter of its staff http://www.the-star.co.k...osed-number-of_c1451638
And now BoA closes 12 branches. Sad state of affairs http://www.businessdaily...2926-jp394sz/index.html[/quote] Sidian, NBK, Family, HF, NIC struggling.. Small banks shall fold The goose is cooked for NBK NBK has 9 lives,it was supposed to go down even before Dubai bank but its still standing.
MaichBlack wrote:Impunity wrote:Mike Ock wrote:Impunity wrote:The Banking cartles and CBK have ganged up against the biol, very sad day. Where in the world do commercial banks makes 30 billion profits and pay 1.5% pa interest on deposits? Its only invetsment banks which can make such weird profits since most of them are actually pyranid schemes and cons...they quicly derate a country from AA+ to say C in a midnight then go behind door and buy the falling goverment papers in that same country, then after a year or two, they would elevate the country from C to A+, sell the papers and go home laughing.
For commercial banks like KCB and Equity, this is not their core buisness, so how how they manage those billion-profits is a mystery.
Unfortunately that is a defining characteristic of 3rd world countries: government is held hostage by private business interests Its becomes more messy when the Nations CEO is one of the biggest banker on the land! The Arab spring could be the only solution left, sadly. You guys have such a crazy sense of entitlement!!! Nobody owes you a loan!!! Nobody forces you to take a loan!! You take yourself to the bank, fill in forms and get the loan knowing the rates. Nobody forces you to keep your money in the bank!! Take your money wherever you want - Sacco, Stocks, T Bills, Invest bla bla bla. Don't start crying like the only place you can put your money is in a bank! Please Note: It is true banks pay low interest rates on deposits and charge high interest on loans. But it is a free market. You don't have to keep your money there or borrow from there. People in Chamas and Saccos know this!! Vote with your legs. Otherwise soon you will be demanding for legislation to reduce accommodation and food prices at Kempiski!!! Harsh but true!!! Maich... I think you gave a very bad example. Banks are very strategic institutions just like petroleum dealers (remember erc) and you shouldn't compare that with Kempinski. My friend, money answers all things, please refer to the good book Ecc 10:19 . You can't vote with your feet if all banks are behaving badly and the problem had been further compounded by non-disclosure of fees for comparison. There is need for legislation as these guys don't operate independently. Cartel-like behaviours in such a crucial sector should be dealt with by 'price controls' if they refuse to properly self regulate. If any investors in banking feel like the profit is too little, they can vote with their feet and allow other players to take our 'small' money. Even 14% is still high. In the meantime, oooh look Co-Op is appreciating our 'small' money.... http://www.businessdaily...70720-jpct4yz/index.htmlThere are too many opportunities all around. Open your eyes and maybe you'll spot one
I think this is a question of supply and demand. I think the banks are currently working with what they have in their loan book and carefully given out cash to people they consider less risky. They may not be able to sustain the same without going back to the customer. When Credit becomes hard to get for the Normal mwananchi, they will develop a means to survive. Some will grow financially and eventually refuse to take credit all together. It just a matter of time before the banks comes begging for people to take Credit. If the dollar value goes to Zero, the gold value goes to infinity.
Rawsinvestor wrote:I think this is a question of supply and demand. I think the banks are currently working with what they have in their loan book and carefully given out cash to people they consider less risky. They may not be able to sustain the same without going back to the customer. When Credit becomes hard to get for the Normal mwananchi, they will develop a means to survive. Some will grow financially and eventually refuse to take credit all together. It just a matter of time before the banks comes begging for people to take Credit. Kenyan banking as it was known has changed, let us accept and move on.. Lower returns are assured plus continued consolidation. Only buy the top 5 banks if you must HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
whiteowl wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:obiero wrote:MaichBlack wrote:obiero wrote:[quote=muandiwambeu][quote=Ebenyo][quote=obiero]I told you guys to sell off bank stocks in 2014. Luckily made it out of some major holdings in good time.. but a big percent of your portfolio is still in banks! so, what do you expect to be a fair hair cut on obieros portfolio as a result of kamwanaas house attempt to please Wanjiku. what will be the overall industries' hit in percentage. my fair guess from my lender's perspective (16-14.5)/(16*0.5)*100=18.75% conservetively thieves. COOP & HF will come out strongest in this.. Too little meat to be bitten out from the two. Plus HF has never been strong on deposits being only licensed to have current accounts a few months ago!! HF will have the least interest expense of all listed lenders Hey @Obiero. Bill not signed. And please note I did not put the word 'yet' at the end. Its bound to be signed on Monday 29th Aug 2016 The bankers will visit statehouse with big brown envelop and this story will be forgotten. Smaller banks will fold Here we are... Family fires it's staff https://citizentv.co.ke/...fs-to-cut-costs-143841/
And now BoA closes 12 branches. Sad state of affairs http://www.businessdaily...2926-jp394sz/index.html[/quote] Sidian, NBK, Family, HF, NIC struggling.. Small banks shall fold The goose is cooked for NBK NBK has 9 lives,it was supposed to go down even before Dubai bank but its still standing. @whiteowl NBK in its current form and shape cannot survive.. It must be absorbed by a real bank. Smaller banks must close shop unless the caps are reversed http://www.nation.co.ke/...79774-14pykoy/index.html HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Capping in a free market...LOL. Just as was predicted, small banks folding up with accompanying job losses. It would be laughable were it not so sad. The crowd will cheer your coronation as well as your beheading. People like a show, that's all.
KNM wrote:Capping in a free market...LOL. Just as was predicted, small banks folding up with accompanying job losses. It would be laughable were it not so sad. True. There was need to reign in the rogue banks, but what was done has turned out to be drastic HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
KNM wrote:Capping in a free market...LOL. Just as was predicted, small banks folding up with accompanying job losses. It would be laughable were it not so sad. Which smaller banks have folded? What I see is more of; 1. investors who went into banking for short term gains selling and leaving 2. And banks with poor management and inefficiencies (like NBK) suffering because they are unable to transfer their inefficiencies to poor borrowers through expensive high interest loans "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:KNM wrote:Capping in a free market...LOL. Just as was predicted, small banks folding up with accompanying job losses. It would be laughable were it not so sad. Which smaller banks have folded? What I see is more of; 1. investors who went into banking for short term gains selling and leaving 2. And banks with poor management and inefficiencies (like NBK) suffering because they are unable to transfer their inefficiencies to poor borrowers through expensive high interest loans Where have you been dude? Giro, Habib.. HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:KNM wrote:Capping in a free market...LOL. Just as was predicted, small banks folding up with accompanying job losses. It would be laughable were it not so sad. Which smaller banks have folded? What I see is more of; 1. investors who went into banking for short term gains selling and leaving 2. And banks with poor management and inefficiencies (like NBK) suffering because they are unable to transfer their inefficiencies to poor borrowers through expensive high interest loans Where have you been dude? Giro, Habib.. That list will grow in the next few months. possunt quia posse videntur
obiero wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:KNM wrote:Capping in a free market...LOL. Just as was predicted, small banks folding up with accompanying job losses. It would be laughable were it not so sad. Which smaller banks have folded? What I see is more of; 1. investors who went into banking for short term gains selling and leaving 2. And banks with poor management and inefficiencies (like NBK) suffering because they are unable to transfer their inefficiencies to poor borrowers through expensive high interest loans Where have you been dude? Giro, Habib.. The Giro;I&M Deal started may be 2 years before interest rate capping was done and if I am right also concluded before the capping. Habib Bank also sold out in principle before capping. If you dig deeper, you will realise that for both these banks, the owners wanted to make their investments more liquid by merging with listed banks, i.e I&M and DTB. @Obiero, you spend alot of time in the investment section, the least you could do is research more so you write facts. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
KNM wrote:Capping in a free market...LOL. Just as was predicted, small banks folding up with accompanying job losses. It would be laughable were it not so sad. What is this free market that has banks gaping like vultures over live mwananchi finances? Why do they have to retrench, reclassify loans, digitize etc, if they were doing such a good job in a truly competitive market? Mwananchi should not pay for all that inefficiency
muganda wrote:KNM wrote:Capping in a free market...LOL. Just as was predicted, small banks folding up with accompanying job losses. It would be laughable were it not so sad. What is this free market that has banks gaping like vultures over live mwananchi finances?Why do they have to retrench, reclassify loans, digitize etc, if they were doing such a good job in a truly competitive market? Mwananchi should not pay for all that inefficiency A term often abused by people who want to justify excessive profits. Example is it a free market if farmers are blocked from selling their cabbages at Wakulima market by illegal middlemen who set prices through collusion with NCC officers. That to me is how the Kenyan banking industry was prior to capping. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Investor
Economy
Law Capping interest rates