38 Pages«<89101112>»
Why dustbowl is the future
#181 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2019 8:13:30 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
A working governor!
https://www.kajiado.go.k...ads/?wpdmc=publications
This man deserves more credit and acknowledgement than has been given to him given his success so far!
Hata watu kama mimi on the ground are feeling the positive impact of his well thought out, well communicated and well implemented policies!
God bless Lenku Applause .
God bless Kajiado County rising!

Same guy of the burning mattresses fame who was fired as CS for incompetence Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly. Let him continue launching Mpesa.
MugundaMan
#182 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2019 8:21:00 PM

Same guy of the burning mattresses fame who was fired as CS for incompetence Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly. Let him continue launching Mpesa.

I will tell you like I told Double A. Wivu will NEVER add even a scrap of ugali to your sufuria Laughing out loudly
Funny that you are so ashamed of your home county you cannot even tell us what it is yet you hate on our beautiful DC and working governor who is doing wonders. Kelele ya chura....smile
#183 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2019 6:50:08 AM

MugundaMan wrote:

I will tell you like I told Double A. Wivu will NEVER add even a scrap of ugali to your sufuria Laughing out loudly
Funny that you are so ashamed of your home county you cannot even tell us what it is yet you hate on our beautiful DC and working governor who is doing wonders. Kelele ya chura....smile

We are talking about Ole Lenku's competence. The only man in recent history to be fired from Cabinet for incompetence.

Replaced by a retired man almost twice his age.

When did he become a master public administrator and the only working governor?
MugundaMan
#184 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2019 8:12:12 AM

MugundaMan wrote:

We are talking about Ole Lenku's competence. The only man in recent history to be fired from Cabinet for incompetence.

I told you before you are just a talker. Focusing on peni mbili duni. Hiyo tu. Have you ever even managed a cattle dip? When you become a governor of any county in our good Republic call us and maybe we will take you seriously smile
#185 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2019 9:33:09 AM

MugundaMan wrote:

I told you before you are just a talker. Focusing on peni mbili duni. Hiyo tu. Have you ever even managed a cattle dip? When you become a governor of any county in our good Republic call us and maybe we will take you seriously smile

I think its unfair to blame ole lenku eti for incompetence. Security issues are complex. Infact more serious attacks occurred under his successor the retired general eg garissa uni attack. So on the "incompetency scale" the retired general was worse off.
#186 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2019 10:03:05 AM

MugundaMan wrote:

I think its unfair to blame ole lenku eti for incompetence. Security issues are complex. Infact more serious attacks occurred under his successor the retired general eg garissa uni attack. So on the "incompetency scale" the retired general was worse off.

Answer these questions...

1. Was he fired?

2. Why was he fired?
#187 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2019 10:14:06 AM

MugundaMan wrote:

Good threshhold for being taken seriously on Wazua. You are well qualified I belief.
MugundaMan
#188 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2019 10:16:42 AM

My advice to you is don't engage Sparkles unless you are very idle, bored and have loads of time to burn. Gila gitu you say will be met with a peni mbili one liner response of vacuous content. Good luck.
MugundaMan
#189 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2019 10:33:23 AM

How did I miss this? smile
"Ngong-Kiserian-Kajiado triangle has been a sleeping giant"
"Business has been booming due to a fast growing middle class."
#DCRising
2Czar
#190 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2019 3:01:06 PM

In my opinion, what is lacking is just a sense of responsibility. We keep on crying day and night "serikali saidia" but we do not do our part as citizens. If everyone took a step towards harvesting rain water, using renewable sources of energy like solar and ensuring proper waste disposal, then this forum would be having more fruitful discussions on development matters
Spikes
#191 Posted : Sunday, March 31, 2019 10:03:02 AM

MugundaMan wrote:

There are higher returns elsewhere.

Are you sure?
http://www.wazua.com/for...spx?g=posts&t=37186
And please don't tell us gambling in the casino -NSE on HAFR and other nyanis is where the huge returns are Laughing out loudly

Cryptocurrency more returns than dust bowl.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
NewMoney
#192 Posted : Sunday, March 31, 2019 3:17:56 PM

Spikes wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

Are you sure?
And please don't tell us gambling in the casino -NSE on HAFR and other nyanis is where the huge returns are Laughing out loudly

If you want to get better returns than DC in real estate using the same effort as DC. Try inner city.

There is an old trick known by real estate gurus all over the world which I really hope am not the first one to state on this great forum. The rule is "For maximum returns always buy the cheapest property in the best neighborhoods". It works every time like clockwork with over 20% realized gains on the lower side (no imaginative unrealized returns like DC). People happily pay for the surroundings/environment and that is why beer costs 350 and above in westlands but 170 to 200 in athiriver. The best pampered clubs in DC (Roxy utawala which is not really DC anymore) can only afford to charge 250 for a bottle.

Forget about beer. Once you have your cheapest unit in a great neighborhood. You have 2 options. Rent it as it is and charge top dollar for it or flip it i.e do some minor renovations, mostly all about improving the finishings and put it on the market at a 30% premium or more. Again, it works everytime.

You don't have to start with single-family homes which cost upwards of 40M in lavington, Kileleshwa, e.t.c, just pickup a chinese built apartment for 12m (3 bedroom) or 8m (2 bed) a few months before they complete it for best price at the lowest risk and replace their trash finishings and put it on the market with the 30% mark up or use it for Airbnb or as a serviced apartment.
#193 Posted : Monday, April 01, 2019 12:37:28 AM

NewMoney wrote:
Spikes wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

Are you sure?

If you want to get better returns than DC in real estate using the same effort as DC. Try inner city.

There is an old trick known by real estate gurus all over the world which I really hope am not the first one to state on this great forum. The rule is "For maximum returns always buy the cheapest property in the best neighborhoods". It works every time like clockwork with over 20% realized gains on the lower side (no imaginative unrealized returns like DC). People happily pay for the surroundings/environment and that is why beer costs 350 and above in westlands but 170 to 200 in athiriver. The best pampered clubs in DC (Roxy utawala which is not really DC anymore) can only afford to charge 250 for a bottle.

Forget about beer. Once you have your cheapest unit in a great neighborhood. You have 2 options. Rent it as it is and charge top dollar for it or flip it i.e do some minor renovations, mostly all about improving the finishings and put it on the market at a 30% premium or more. Again, it works everytime.

You don't have to start with single-family homes which cost upwards of 40M in lavington, Kileleshwa, e.t.c, just pickup a chinese built apartment for 12m (3 bedroom) or 8m (2 bed) a few months before they complete it for best price at the lowest risk and replace their trash finishings and put it on the market with the 30% mark up or use it for Airbnb or as a serviced apartment.

Why you shouldn’t buy the cheapest house in the best neighborhood

https://qz.com/340500/wh...-the-best-neighborhood/
NewMoney
#194 Posted : Monday, April 01, 2019 1:30:45 AM

NewMoney wrote:
Spikes wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

Are you sure?

Why you shouldn’t buy the cheapest house in the best neighborhood

https://qz.com/340500/wh...-the-best-neighborhood/

This article is based on a poorly formulated research methodology. The key point should be to get an undervalued property in a great neighbourhood, possibly in a bad state and needing some improvements to bring it up to par with the environment or even make it better, it is not about getting the cheapest houses in some random ZipCodes.

Besides, I can show you research papers proving whisky is harmful to your health and a ton others proving the opposite. You can always tweak the methodology design of any study to achieve whatever result you want, that is why most PhD thesis are trash.

Nice perspective though

guru me
#195 Posted : Monday, April 01, 2019 7:12:37 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
guru me wrote:
@ Mugundaman (and other knowledgable persons in the forum) you seem to have a firm grasp of DC-nomics. Hope you do not mind me picking your brain on the DC market. Been away from the motherland for a few years now and after reading this thread I note drastic, mostly positive changes, to the DC.

1. Hoping to get indicative prices on plot (eighth) prices in the following areas:
-Acacia (Afya Sacco prject)
- Kisaju - touching namanga road.
-Kisaju (afya project)
-Kitengela town near proposed railway station
-Ostrich farm

A quick way to appraise yourself on prices is just go to the property majors (buyrentkenya, property24 Kenya, OLX.ke, jumia house ke, etc etc) and do a quick search to get a rough idea of market rates: eg:
https://www.property24.c...sale-in-kitengela-c1871
But be aware that nothing substitutes being on the ground where you can get crazy deals that never make it to the search engines. A mlevi who bought in DC 20 years ago for a pittance in need of hard cash would even sell you what they have for half the market rate if he is desperate enough.

Have a someone offering me plots in these areas

2. Also, based on your knowledge where would you recommend one target for doing multi-family rental property and what is the going rate for those pieces of land? What sort of units would you put up (bedsiiter, 1br etc)

3. Where is the next big thing in DC for capital gains?

Thanks in advance

I would say for multifamily Milimani would be your best bet as it is right at the edge of the Kitengela CBD and many of the same are coming up in the area. Please note some other estates are heavily controlled (eg Chuna where minimum plot size is 1/4, no apartments, or funny tubuildings are allowed, only good quality maisonettes, and even then they regulate what area your structure will occupy na hata what times your contractor or fundis are allowed to operate each day! This is why it is fetching top shilling in terms of plot prices relative to other estates in Kitengela)

As for the next big thing for cap gains I say is ANYWHERE in the major DC nodes, brother. Nobody I know who has bought clean title in the Kitengela area since the year 2000 and even earlier has ever complained that they have not made roaring cap gains since. Of course the areas closer to the CBD and to the main Namanga Hwy have accrued the biggest gains for obvious reasons but the rising tide in DC has lifted ALL boats without exceptions IMHO. If anyone doubts this just try looking for 1 acre anywhere within a 10km radius of Kitengela mall and see if the going rate is mashed potatoes. Even the ordinary guy on the street like FRM2011 mentioned hapo juu can tell you the crazy price surges that have occurred all over Kitengela in the past 20 years, as well as their endless personal stories of teeth-gnashing bitter regret at having not bought when the prices were indeed mashed potatoes.

Good luck and karibu tena sana to DC!

Much appreciated.
#196 Posted : Thursday, April 04, 2019 11:33:23 PM

Joe Ageyo just roasted Ole Ndengu about launching an Mpesa Paybill on Citizen Tv Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
NewMoney
#197 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2019 2:39:25 PM

Mombasa Nairobi expressway to bypass Nairobi. This is bound to have some major impact in some DC areas https://www.businessdail...058078-kv86am/index.html
MugundaMan
#198 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2019 5:24:46 PM

NewMoney wrote:
Mombasa Nairobi expressway to bypass Nairobi. This is bound to have some major impact in some DC areas https://www.businessdail...58078-kv86am/index.html

https://biznakenya.com/m...qeR1u2oKN5_scvh8iCqjwI8

You beat me too it papa.
Huyoooo straight into the heart of DC (Rongai and Ngong + Kisaju and Isinya).Dancing Wukan, yet another reason Ngong might attain Jewel in the Crown of DC status compared to Kitengela IMHO. Hebu I increase my investments hapo immediatement before prices start to get crazy there.

What Ngong has going for it

- More scenic (only really hilly area around Nairobi)
- Borders posh Kerarapon and Karen and will hence benefit from that natural expansion along that corridor
- Better weather, more trees and very rainy with lots of red soil plots
- Borehole maji mostly super fresh
- Ngong generally better planned (colonial carry over) and way less populated
-Largest market in East and Central Africa under construction in Ngong town. Hawkers all cleared from the streets
-Ngong SGR station at Kangawa
- Very cosmopolitan
-I find the people here way friendlier compare to Kitengela (personal opinion) maybe because many have lived there for decades while in Kitengela the average homeowner moved in within the past ten years and came with their cut-throat dog-eat-dog Nairobi tambias.

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu.
Apricot
#199 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2019 5:33:05 PM

Kisaju huh! Guess I will hold on to my tuplotis there.
First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
MugundaMan
#200 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2019 5:34:44 PM

Apricot wrote:
Kisaju huh! Guess I will hold on to my tuplotis there.

Haiya,
Kumbe Apricot is an investor is DC? Laughing out loudly
Wonders never cease.
This is good news though. The more the merrier!