wazua Sat, Jun 29, 2024

39 Pages«<89101112>»
Chase Bank loss...another case of cooking the books?
#181 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 11:45:41 AM

Central Bank Governor, Dr Patrick Njoroge to address a Press conference on Chase Bank Limited (In Receivership) today at 10:30

Dr. Njoroge: Chase bank would have survived had they dealt with the insider lending, non performing loans
Dr. Njoroge: Chase banks issues are not complicated as compared to Imperial Bank.
Dr. Njoroge: Shareholders in our meeting this morning agreed to put on liquidity to Chase bank that will allow it be reopened.
Dr. Njoroge: Yesterday spoke to the banks management multiple times to support them. Talked to institutions to support Chase bank too
Dr. Njoroge: Yesterdays haemorrhage on deposits was so large, Chase bank could not meet its obligations.
Dr. Njoroge: We met with shareholders on March 30, including institutional ones to increase their resources.
Dr. Njoroge: Social media rumours was reckless, led to a run on deposits of Chase bank
Dr. Njoroge: Chase bank has been under pressure since October, lead to narrow margins to maneuver.

Dr. Njoroge: Chase bank was yet to receive the Sh5 billion it signwd with Africa Development Bank {Afdb} last week.
Dr. Njoroge: Africa Development Bank Ksh5 billion signed last week hadn't been disbursed.
#182 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 11:46:17 AM

Allan Olingo ‎@allanolingo
Dr. Njoroge: Chase banks issues are not complicated as compared to Imperial Bank.

Ni hayo tu.

Utangoja sana...we told the same about Imperial, that Imperial status was not as bad as Dubai bank...we now where Imperial is today.

This Chase bank is gone for good, just like that.

#183 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 11:54:32 AM

Ni hayo tu.

Utangoja sana...we told the same about Imperial, that Imperial status was not as bad as Dubai bank...we now where Imperial is today.

The problem of welding all the time is that the smoke enters your brain once too often.

Any economics student will tell you, there is nothing to be excited about when a bank, any bank, shuts down.

It has far reaching consequences even for those not banking there.

For example, chase being a SME modelled bank is probably holding onto deposits from very many small businesses, who today cannot meet their obligations.

And the ripple effects to the other banks is huge. Don't believe the hype that some other bank will benefit from the failure of another, people will put less money in those banks.

When I see the Dr. Njoroge laughing up and down the street about his excitement on shutting down a bank, I'll join you.

But welders minds as I said have too much smoke in them.

#184 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 11:55:44 AM

lochaz-index
#185 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:08:41 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
lochaz-index wrote:
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
By the way, the strong USD has caused a lot of pain and grief to net importer nations as well as commodity rich ones.
Before the USD took off, cbr and inflation rate would be at the same levels or thereabout. For the longest, we had our cbr at 6.25% which is where i believe we should have been now that inflation rate is at 6.45%. but not possible since we have the Eurobond to pay and Gov.Njoroge has to continue punishing us by leaving the cbr at 11.50 so as to tame this USD monster and keep it below 107.
At times i wonder if small banks like chase had branches in South sudan where Equity and KCb each took a 6b shaving from the SSP devaluation. Would they have lived to tell the story?

I also don't expect the cbr to change in the meantime. The governor knows his craft and he expects an even stronger usd(precautionary loan taken to aid on that front) not to mention that he is an inflation freak.

Apparently we are conducting a roadshow to test the waters for the second eurobond as the guinea pigs for other African states. I can't see this ending well. Dollar shortage is real and it is not a problem we would want to have.

On matters ssp, it hit 48 at one point and is currently at about 28, what was the rate used by banks to account for the devaluation? Compounding matters is the discrepancy between the official rate and the black market.

Governor Njoroge has no option but to bring down cbr from up there otherwise expect more chase Banks to go under
As for the Eurobond, i can only wish them well since they are already 20% plus in currency devaluation vs the USD. In trading, we say that you shouldn't add to a losing position
On the SSP shocking to hear its at 28 vs USD as it was trading at around 18.5 at end year in the black market while the official rate was around 2.9
We await their Q1 print!

Banks have to clean up their act or more will be heading down the path trodden by chase and the rest. I guess it will be question of choosing between the lesser evil for the governor, that is, a disorderly KES plus imported inflation or imprudent(NPL coverage and/or provisioning has been way too lax in a contracting economy,disregard of capital and liquidity ratios amongst other malpractices only amplify the problem) and illiquid banks tanking. So far he seems to have appetite for the latter.

Let's have a complete reset of the system as we head towards the hailed bottom.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
Wakanyugi
#186 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:10:12 PM

Ni hayo tu.

The bigger picture is that a major shakeout in the financial industry is on the way. The previous Governors plans to bring this about through raising required capitalization would have helped by creating controlled conditions under which weak banks got taken over or merged. Dr Njoroge reversed this policy almost before he had warmed his Governors seat. He might yet have to eat humble pie. Otherwise expect a roller coaster ride in 2016.

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#187 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:11:14 PM

Ni hayo tu.

Some fellows believe "almost" everything they hear and yap themselves, now CBK governor has started the "sweet song" to the directors kama watoto to return the loot so as to reopen the bank and save the bank, the same song he was singing to imperial, will they return the loot?...Laughing out loudly only indiets of choo choo media, facembuk and twita blogs think they will return and "save the bank", we clever wazuans all know it is hidden in some "offshore" accounts in tax havens! Watu wameficha 8 birrions warudishe Think
A New Kenya
whiteowl
#188 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:11:41 PM

mlennyma wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
After analyzing NPL and NPL provisions,these are the safest places to bank right now:

1.Under your mattress
2.I&M bank
3.DTB
4.Stanchart bank.

I feel sorry for bondholders who will get nothing and guys who had more than 1M in the account.

what about time for more?

you can't ignore, kcb by any means

I've deliberately ignored kcb and member coz they are too big to fail.What's the first thing that comes to your mind when you hear the statement "too big to fail"?
#189 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:12:03 PM

Muganda wrote:

Caroline kago ‏@carolkags
Njoroge:Rafiki microfiance which is a subsidiary of Chase bank is safe and sound since its under a different management.

#190 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:14:38 PM

muganda wrote:
Muganda wrote:

Njoroge:Rafiki microfiance which is a subsidiary of Chase bank is safe and sound since its under a different management.

no brainer
#191 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:17:53 PM

muganda wrote:
Muganda wrote:

And the dominos start crumbling.

Don't be surprised to find your own bank that you are calling to safe to fail, going through these motions in a short while.

Runs on banks based on rumors have brought down countries.

People think that banks keep their money in the safe deposit box in their branch. There is no bank on earth with enough money to pay off its depositors when they all come for their monies in one day. Hakuna

I'm asking for a bit of retrospect here from the usual suspects on wazua. Scaremongering can lead straight to your safe bank.

#192 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:18:58 PM

#193 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:22:44 PM

CBK Governor p. Njoroge Press Brief

"We don' have a timeline on when Chase Bank will resume operations.

It depends on shareholders capital injection.

We met with shareholders on March 30,including institutional ones to increase their resources.

Social media rumours were reckless, led to a run on deposits of Chase Bank.

Yesterdays haemorrage on deposits was so large, Chase bank could not meet its obligations.

Chase bank would have survived had they dealt with the insider lending, non performing loans.

Africa Devpt Bank Ksh 5B signed last week hadn't been disbursed.
Chase bank hadn't received it.

Rafiki Microfinance isn't affected.

Last night we agreed with Chase Bank shareholders on amount and timeline but disagreed on who will provide the money.

Chase Bank reopening depends on when the shareholders will inject funds."
Cde Monomotapa
#194 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:33:15 PM

Yes. This is the price of recklessness, irresponsible posting, reporting, witch hunting & malice under the guise of 'democracy'.

Wengi wenu hapa mkiambiwa mfyate midomo hamtii. Wivu itawamaliza. Congratulations.
moneydust
#195 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:33:19 PM

wa P wrote:
Please someone assure my friend that MPESA will not be put under receivership. Huko dio pesa itakaa sasa.

Mpesa bank is not any safer than all the banks because the money it takes is in the same banks so if the banks go under it also goes under..
#196 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:39:25 PM

muganda wrote:
Muganda wrote:

Don't be surprised to find your own bank that you are calling to safe to fail, going through these motions in a short while.

People think that banks keep their money in the safe deposit box in their branch. There is no bank on earth with enough money to pay off its depositors when they all come for their monies in one day. Hakuna

I'm asking for a bit of retrospect here from the usual suspects on wazua. Scaremongering can lead straight to your safe bank.

KCB and NIC (without the NPLs) are very solid...
#197 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:41:13 PM

IMHO, the role of auditors in the banking mess should be investigated as deeply as possible. Being a "bandit" economy the possibility of auditors being compromised is all so real.
#198 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:47:30 PM

-Bank CEO of the year 2014, Munir Ahmed (NBK)
-Bank CEO of the year 2015, Duncan Kabue (Chase Bank)
#199 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:48:43 PM

muganda wrote:
Muganda wrote:

KCB and NIC (without the NPLs) are very solid...

Maka my friend, what is wrong with Rafiki?

As in what is causing the run on Rafiki right now? Have their managers looted money? Are they also running fake accounts?

Or is it that they are owned by Chase bank? So fear and rumor.

There is no safe bank my friend once people start withdrawing. You cannot tell my mom NPL ratios. If she hears her neighbour is removing money from KCB, she will remove her money and KCB shall fall.

Never underestimate the power of rumors. We are watching right now unfolding.

The lines at Rafiki also don't augur well for Genghis. Actually I'm sure some wazua blue people are very excited at that prospect.

This was a straight up hack job done very well. With lies hidden in truth.

whiteowl
#200 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:50:04 PM

For those saying that the bank was brought down by malicious posts on social media, are you even serious? Social media didn't cook accounts, revise the cooked accounts and conduct a massive "internal lending" running into billions which pushed Chase to negative territory. Also coming hot on the heels of the collapse of 2 other banks, fear and caution is rational reaction you'd expect.Or did you expect people to just relax and assume everything is ok and their money is safe? Please don't shot the messenger!