Am wrote:alma wrote:Am you go all semantics with us. We may understand at least we can read.
But what about the common man. What did he/she hear? He heard the Commander in Chief ask the mother of a 3yr old child who was raped, "wewe ulikuwa wapi?"
Spin that for as long as you wish but below are some of the consequences.
This is the beginning of anarchy. When the Head of State gives up on security and blames the victims just as they are victimized when they go to a policeman, then we have a serious problem.
It wasn't funny.
He can't tweet with a socialite then come back after 28 people were shot in the head then blame the people who voted for him.
Lakini if you think that's how to win elections in 2017, keep it up. Tweet more pics, wear more army fatigues and keep on blaming the stupid native who's getting shot by al-shabab and being raped in matatus.
@Alma these Comments troubles my heart.
Where did the president ask this question and was he specifically referring to the Mother?? Really?? Why would you want to generalize issues this way
No one denies that the timing for some of the comments was not right, but again as someone said lets not forget the gathering that he was addressing and what the Function was.
@Am, I think the fact that he made those comments at the launch of the HEforSHE campaign is even sadder. Sexual abuse and violence is the last form of crime where the victims and in the case of children, their caregivers, should be asked about what role they played in preventing such attacks. These are crimes based on power and abuse of trust.
Yes, we can take some preventative measures to safeguard ourselves lakini hapo alinoa. Why did he not address the (potential) perpetrators of such crimes?