Investor
Stocks
Safaricom HY 2014 results announcement
Rank: User Joined: 9/6/2013 Posts: 1,446 Location: In a house
hisah wrote:Safaricom reduces M-Pesa transaction fee for low, medium value transfers - http://tinyurl.com/pb85a3c
I can see mpesa bank has responded to Equity's mobile cash expected launch. Also quite telling that the floor is where the money velocity is highest at the KES 10 - 1500 range which is $0.11 (US 11cts) to $17. Will the likes of Western Union and Money Gram ever deal with such minute transfer values and still make a profit? Waiting to see how this will affect money velocity when both platforms will be operational. And I hope this time KE gok won't come up with more mobi cash taxes - madness such a move... So all along MPESA infrastructure has been in Germany?
urstill1 wrote:hisah wrote:Safaricom reduces M-Pesa transaction fee for low, medium value transfers - http://tinyurl.com/pb85a3c
I can see mpesa bank has responded to Equity's mobile cash expected launch. Also quite telling that the floor is where the money velocity is highest at the KES 10 - 1500 range which is $0.11 (US 11cts) to $17. Will the likes of Western Union and Money Gram ever deal with such minute transfer values and still make a profit? Waiting to see how this will affect money velocity when both platforms will be operational. And I hope this time KE gok won't come up with more mobi cash taxes - madness such a move... So all along MPESA infrastructure has been in Germany? We still dont have capacity here, we cant even keep our power on 24hrs without interuption "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:urstill1 wrote:hisah wrote:Safaricom reduces M-Pesa transaction fee for low, medium value transfers - http://tinyurl.com/pb85a3c
I can see mpesa bank has responded to Equity's mobile cash expected launch. Also quite telling that the floor is where the money velocity is highest at the KES 10 - 1500 range which is $0.11 (US 11cts) to $17. Will the likes of Western Union and Money Gram ever deal with such minute transfer values and still make a profit? Waiting to see how this will affect money velocity when both platforms will be operational. And I hope this time KE gok won't come up with more mobi cash taxes - madness such a move... So all along MPESA infrastructure has been in Germany? We still dont have capacity here, we cant even keep our power on 24hrs without interuption Equity Bank data center is Tier IV, guaranteed 24/7 power. There's no excuse for hosting in Germany, they should go to South Africa at worst. BTW, what are the new rates?
charges are 0.8% of transaction amount
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,350 Location: Nairobi
Gordon Gekko wrote:murchr wrote:urstill1 wrote:hisah wrote:Safaricom reduces M-Pesa transaction fee for low, medium value transfers - http://tinyurl.com/pb85a3c
I can see mpesa bank has responded to Equity's mobile cash expected launch. Also quite telling that the floor is where the money velocity is highest at the KES 10 - 1500 range which is $0.11 (US 11cts) to $17. Will the likes of Western Union and Money Gram ever deal with such minute transfer values and still make a profit? Waiting to see how this will affect money velocity when both platforms will be operational. And I hope this time KE gok won't come up with more mobi cash taxes - madness such a move... So all along MPESA infrastructure has been in Germany? We still dont have capacity here, we cant even keep our power on 24hrs without interuption Equity Bank data center is Tier IV, guaranteed 24/7 power. There's no excuse for hosting in Germany, they should go to South Africa at worst. BTW, what are the new rates? I am sure Safaricom would use Equity's Data Center. And Data Centers are very pricey if one needs the additional backup that has its own backup. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Gordon Gekko wrote:murchr wrote:urstill1 wrote:hisah wrote:Safaricom reduces M-Pesa transaction fee for low, medium value transfers - http://tinyurl.com/pb85a3c
I can see mpesa bank has responded to Equity's mobile cash expected launch. Also quite telling that the floor is where the money velocity is highest at the KES 10 - 1500 range which is $0.11 (US 11cts) to $17. Will the likes of Western Union and Money Gram ever deal with such minute transfer values and still make a profit? Waiting to see how this will affect money velocity when both platforms will be operational. And I hope this time KE gok won't come up with more mobi cash taxes - madness such a move... So all along MPESA infrastructure has been in Germany? We still dont have capacity here, we cant even keep our power on 24hrs without interuption Equity Bank data center is Tier IV, guaranteed 24/7 power. There's no excuse for hosting in Germany, they should go to South Africa at worst. BTW, what are the new rates? Which Equity Data Center are you talking about? The one they are yet to build in Konza? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .