11 Pages«<891011>
What Ails Africa
#136 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 1:51:24 AM

#137 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 7:00:27 AM

african coloner wrote:
The way we think is different from the way the rest of the world thinks, Mzungu thinks for his entire people and generation to come while an African thinks only about himself and immediate family.

So true...

http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-25049641
kenyanbeef
#138 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 8:00:17 AM

african coloner wrote:
The way we think is different from the way the rest of the world thinks, Mzungu thinks for his entire people and generation to come while an African thinks only about himself and immediate family.

Well said. GREED ails us. We can't seem to have enough. Any Kenyan who gets the opportunity in govt to gobble public funds will eat n eat n eat some more. All at the expense of some mwananchi somewhere left to omba serikali for everything.

Indeed we are a blessed rather than a cursed lot. In terms of resources lakini the greed among just a few leaves us in the ruins... Like how many lifetimes do they (I have a few Moi knuckleheads in mind) need to consume all that they amass?
#139 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:16:07 AM

What is 'leadership'? Is it a preserve of the few? If yes, then the rest are the herd, the slaves. Now what is the slave crying about? What ought to be?

Poor grumblers! Achebe seems to have forgotten this, and I see many here are joining in this suicide.

Only a slave can crave for 'true emancipation'. He seeks a better life though now he has no power. He hopes for a Messiah from the clouds that are not him, distant. The only problem is, if such an assumption is true, how then can one spot the Messiah? The slave is always looking down.

Looking down on their leadership, their own sense of initiative and power to create, and to relate on mutual terms.

Revolution is when we come back to the foundations of Man and creating the mutualist city, where Man and God rule together.

Revolution is about coming back to Africa where it all began. Understanding the steps humanity has trodden thus far, and reconciling it with the beginning. The African.

The problem with Africa is that it no longer has Africans. Maps, and nations are now European. And in European language we attack the African. We accuse the initiator of progress of not being progressive. We are completely alienated from ourselves.

I remember Tom Mboya asking what it means to be African; is it wearing animal skins? Or piercing your ears? Or drinking Mursik?

To be African is to remember the foundation of Man; the essentials that glue him to the dead, the living, and the unborn. To be African is to be Man God, and though the continents and conditions transform the color of Man, the foundations still persist.
#140 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:19:53 AM

african coloner wrote:

Don't confuse African to be what and how you think. Africa isn't color or race. It's not even continent. It's a knowing that builds the city.
#141 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 12:03:34 PM

@kysse..... YOU. Ok, if you are African that is.
#142 Posted : Tuesday, November 26, 2013 3:39:59 PM

hamburglar
#143 Posted : Tuesday, November 26, 2013 5:45:36 PM

I know i will get a lot of flak for this but i will go there anyway. Religion is what holds Africans back. Religion teaches people to live by faith, to believe that a non existent god will grant them blessings and favors and that's what makes people complacent. Atheism teaches people to be self reliant. To understand that there is no god to help us so we need to figure out solutions to our problems on our own.

This kind of thinking makes people open their minds up and learn how to brainstorm and solve problems. Atheists don't ever say that "tutawachia mungu" we stay the course and soldier on until we find a solution. Leaving it in "god's hands" is a cop-out, and that is why Africans are the way they are. They don't think, they leave it to a god that does not exist and end up in more poverty while waiting for favors that will never come.

The day Africans will start using logic and reason in place of faith, things will change. In the meantime, they will keep dying poor and destitute while waiting for a bearded make believe god in the sky to give them blessings and favors while they could be making things happen for themselves. Faith suppresses common sense. It teaches you not to think for yourself. Your pastor tells you that god loves you (poor African person) and yet he can't even help you put a meal on the table? What a crock. What kind of warped love is that?

But that 's all good because us Atheists continue to be rich and lead comfortable lives because we have it figured out. So unfortunate to see Africans wallowing in poverty when the answer is right there in front of them. I feel really sorry for people imprisoned by religion and non existent gods. Africa is 90% religious and almost entirely poor while Scandinavian countries are about 70% non-religious and yet are the richest and best places to live. Doesn't that correlation tell you religious people something?
urstill1
#144 Posted : Tuesday, November 26, 2013 6:28:11 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
most people have attempted to answer, but actually Africa is simply cursed

Excuses ail Africa, We are blessed.
Difference is in the mind.

If a mzungu occupies a floor in a flat/apartment, gizzards automatically increase rent for all tenants.Applause Applause Applause

You see @kysse this is a rare and a gland opportunity that presents itself and does not require an excuse...smile smile

Or is spotting opportunities one of the reasons that ails Africa???

Immediately after finishing campo, there is a young lady who 'sub-letted' me in her master bedroom in a two bedroomed apartment in Highrise. She was leaving in the other smaller bedroom. We agreed on a monthly rent of 5k. Then few months down the line she decided to rent out her smaller bedroom to a young Canadian girl who had come for charity. She was paying 10k!!! Few months later I was being evicted.
#145 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 10:49:38 AM

AU
#146 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 2:53:39 PM

hamburglar wrote:
I know i will get a lot of flak for this but i will go there anyway. Religion is what holds Africans back. Religion teaches people to live by faith, to believe that a non existent god will grant them blessings and favors and that's what makes people complacent. Atheism teaches people to be self reliant. To understand that there is no god to help us so we need to figure out solutions to our problems on our own.

This kind of thinking makes people open their minds up and learn how to brainstorm and solve problems. Atheists don't ever say that "tutawachia mungu" we stay the course and soldier on until we find a solution. Leaving it in "god's hands" is a cop-out, and that is why Africans are the way they are. They don't think, they leave it to a god that does not exist and end up in more poverty while waiting for favors that will never come.

The day Africans will start using logic and reason in place of faith, things will change. In the meantime, they will keep dying poor and destitute while waiting for a bearded make believe god in the sky to give them blessings and favors while they could be making things happen for themselves. Faith suppresses common sense. It teaches you not to think for yourself. Your pastor tells you that god loves you (poor African person) and yet he can't even help you put a meal on the table? What a crock. What kind of warped love is that?

But that 's all good because us Atheists continue to be rich and lead comfortable lives because we have it figured out. So unfortunate to see Africans wallowing in poverty when the answer is right there in front of them. I feel really sorry for people imprisoned by religion and non existent gods. Africa is 90% religious and almost entirely poor while Scandinavian countries are about 70% non-religious and yet are the richest and best places to live. Doesn't that correlation tell you religious people something?

Kwani how much do you think we worth? And how old do you think we are? You don't know. You are basing your claims on assumptions. You're assuming that you are worth more compared to me or someone else who is religious for that matter.

To be successful is hard work, setting targets, and aim at succeeding in it. Learn from other successful people, let them mentor you. Take control of our own destiny and success.

It's all about the culture.

If people don't know why they need to improve their lives, then there will be nothing to drive them. SO it does not matter whether you are religious or not.

Religion has its place in the society. For example, the goal of Islam is good upbgringing.
It aims at proper caring, rearing, upbringing and moulding of individual in all areas of growth and development. And growth refers to physically growing, and development is in terms of mind.
Griwth and development is a contious process. It does not stop at 18.

Why is that relevant in this argument?
Because religion teaches the lifestyle, they way to live in this universe, what moral and ethical values to adopt. To comply with the laws of nature. To use the resources given by nature, for our own benefit and for the benefit of other creatures. Otherwise, without following a given way of life, our would you be orderly?
So some people believe there is a Creator who Give guidance on how to live on this earth (we can take this offline in your Atheist thread).

In a nutshell, what I'm saying is that your reasoning is not factual. It is based on assumptions. There scientific proof to back your claims that people are poor because they are religious. In fact the top richest people are believers e.g. Moi, Total Man, Kenyatta, Kulei, Ndegwa family, Nyachae, Chandaria, S.K. Macharia, Kibaki. They are all religeous. In fact, we have uncountabel number of religious people even in Kenya who are very smart.

You just have an issue with religion. What ails Africa is other things. We have mentioned many, which ones are not valid? Of course, it is true becuase of the circumstance, people now are vulnarable and majority of them are taken advantage of.
#147 Posted : Thursday, November 28, 2013 1:15:47 AM

My account has been hackedsmile
this post was made under duress under the influence...

#148 Posted : Wednesday, December 06, 2017 5:02:31 PM

Most Africans do not like to see each other succeed while the opposite is true even in some advanced Arabic speaking countries here in Africa.. The black man is his/her own worst enemy

KQ ABP 4.26
#149 Posted : Wednesday, December 06, 2017 7:21:51 PM

Most Africans do not like to see each other succeed while the opposite is true even in some advanced Arabic speaking countries here in Africa.. The black man is his/her own worst enemy

I don't agree. It's not just Africans. Jealousy is universal.

#150 Posted : Wednesday, December 06, 2017 10:04:07 PM

Can you provide data to support your statement. Data from mzungu, Chinaman, Indian, arborigeans, Eskimos, Russians, japanese, Arabs, Pacific islanders, arawaks, amazonians etc.
11 Pages«<891011>