wazua Wed, Dec 31, 2025

El-Bashir invitation was in total bad taste.
#1 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 12:58:59 PM

Inviting El-Bashir for promulgation of the constitution and the fact that it was done secretly,was in very bad taste.There are tens of African Presidents who would have attended without making us look like idiots.Kenyans deserve an explanation from the Internal security minister and his foreign affairs counterpart.......If this does not happen,then Kibaki will have confirmed some fears.That,IT'S THE FOREST WHICH HAS CHANGED BUT THE MONKEYS REMAIN THE SAME
#2 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 7:01:34 PM

What has changed? Kenyans are the same creatures they were be4 Friday. Kenyans deserve an explanation? are you serious? or are you just making emotional statements - what do you expect to get from gava on this? danganya toto jinga!!

The forest remains the same, the monkeys remain the same, its only that there is a document that states the opposite that has come into place. until we change our values and value systems...nothing will change just because a document sez so, And you can take that to the bank.
#3 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 8:27:46 PM

I feel thoroughly short changed on these new katiba thing. Unfortunately these has happened after only two days of promulgation.There is a good reason why lawyers talk of justice not only being done but also being seen to be done.

Its very embarrasing that the talking point remains Bashir. What message are we sending to victims of PEV? What was meant to be MK's legacy is turning out to be a comedy of protocol errors.

IMHO, the GK goofed big time. No amount of reasoning/justification/explanation will change that simple fact.

What a way to start life with the new katiba.Where i come from we say a man is judged by the friends he keeps.........Surely we didn't need this man in Kenya.......Not to mention the arrogant statement: "WE DON'T OWE ANYBODY ANY APOLOGIES"
#4 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 9:39:50 PM

What a goof! What a guest! U cant get im anywhere else...
Conquestador
#5 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 10:32:09 PM

You are all FUNNY lot. How can good Wazuans like Guka, Simonkabz et al fall into the Western mindset? And all of you who say its a goof, nyef nyef...

First of all, dont you realize the egg in western media and propagandists face, now that Kenya is becoming a 'news desert'? Is any African country supposed to be successful?
Didnt you guys laugh at them western journalists when they filed no reports during very well run referendum? Now they must turn attention to Bashir.

Bashir may be bad, but Kenya did not have the agenda to arrest him. All policemen were busy celebrating the rebirth of Kenya. Stupid.

It was not a goof. Just because the western media, and activists say it was bad, you are busy saying it was bad. Kenya government had a clear agenda, and you can be sure very intelligent people, I dare say, more intelligent than most here, gave the Bashir thing considerable thought. They were reasoning like you in the early hours of when the decision to invite him was broached 3 weeks ago. But upon giving it educated and considerable thought, they saw it fit to invite him. All this Nyef Nyef happening was well anticipated. You can be sure it will die as surely as the sun will rise kesho.

In actual fact, GK won big by blind siding everyone, even the likes of Ranneburger. Not even CIA saw it coming. That is where the wound aches most, not about the ICC. The noisiest activists and busybodies are American and their proteges and sponsees. America is not an ICC member.

There are very specific and credible reasons that simple minds will not even begin to understand, that culminated in his invitation. And if we are to re-live last Friday - e.g. if one important thing was overlooked and need to be rectified in another public ceremony, I betcha bwana Bashir would be invited again! Watu wameze wembe. On this, I break rank with Wazuans - the GK was 100% justified. The secret was 120% justified. We are not anybody's poodle, or are you?

If you think you, activists, politicians sponsored by Americans, something-something Global, and the entire bad wishers are smart, lets wait and see who will have the last laugh.

But anyway, the message is taken. GK will invite him again next week to come and be arrested if that will make you sleep well.
bepari
#6 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 12:27:57 AM

@conquestador: can't agree more. someone needs to tell obama that kenya isn't america's 51st state.Our interest as a nation comes first.the west holds africa and its leadership in contempt,now the pendulum is swinging....
kwani sisi ndio tuliwashikia saddam?
if you aint livin on the edge,you are taking too much space....
#7 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 6:54:12 AM

some people always want to get accolades from the west. to be told "Good Boy, you did as I told you!"
Amurabi.
#8 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 9:31:45 AM

One thing i know for sure is America's intrests alwaya comes first and the other nations later.And so is Kenya.
Some have been thought brave because they were afraid to run away.
#9 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 10:18:44 AM

Tell the Americans to ratify the ICC and the Rome convention before they YAP YAP on us again.

If you are not party to something you have no moral ground to criticize anyone, and so is Uncle Sam.

@Guka..... a guy called Jacob William Maunda sang "saasa moto umeshika nyumba yako, kamwite mpita njia aje hakusaindie..." Lesson..your neighbor matters most than your friend kilometers away, hata kama yeye ni big uncle. And remember you cant choose your neighbor mister, unlike your friend!!
#10 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 10:38:10 AM

Quite strange logic here. very infantile. we have just installed a new constitution that encourages rule of law here and off we go cheering outlaws and we encourage them and show them love. bashir is not sudan and sudan is not bashir! even a good chunk of sudanese do not want him to be their president and are scheming to declare their own independence come january.

so i ask, who is our strategic neighbour whom stand to benefit most from and who we should be closer to, bashir or kiir?
gohill
#11 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 10:55:21 AM

@kingfisher, you are very right. Inviting Bashir was for the best interest of Kenya and Kenyans. Kenya should not always do things to please the Americans who themseleves failed to ratify the same statute they are shouting about. We were told of WMD in Iraq and we all know what happened. After the invasion i wonder whether the world became safer or more dangerous. Why can't ICC issue arrest warrants for leaders of Al shabab too!
#12 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 10:55:36 AM

@YesuWangu (not literally, you must be from Spain, tricky screen name)

Who tells you that even that issue of ratified treaties does not need legislation? It has to be legislated by Parliament otherwise any goon in government can tie us up with all manner of treaties. The constituition only gives the window to deal with such matters but does not go to details. You cannot be taken to court and jailed based on the constituition with no reference to act of parliament. Remember recently Wako claimed that the constituition does not recognise investigators of a foriegn country in the Anglo Leasing thing?
#13 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 11:01:07 AM

The case of Obama lecturing Kenya on Bashir is like a Muslim preaching to a Christian on how to live a good Christian life
bird_man
#14 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 11:14:47 AM

Very interesting arguments here.It's very convenient to argue about Bashir while seated here in Nairobi.
You should all watch a documentary called "Dafur Now"......and see how the man unleashes the Janjaweed Militia on innocent women and children.After that,come and defend his invitation.

It's so sad & evil.A man like that should be denounced at every opportunity.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#15 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 11:48:51 AM

gohill wrote:
@kingfisher, you are very right. Inviting Bashir was for the best interest of Kenya and Kenyans.

HILARIOUS!

The way we try to justify our actions....pathetic.
#16 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 12:30:55 PM

Hello fellow wazuans its called Kenya the land of impunity so dont act shocked its a way of life here seems they are teaching Bashir some new tricks
Wa_ithaka
#17 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 12:43:44 PM

Not being biased, but once we invited Kiir we were on a slippery slope, because we need to keep BAshir sweet otherwise the south won't have the referendum next January without war...
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#18 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 1:06:36 PM

I think Kenya needs to be in good terms with its neighbors PERIOD.
setting by example to Bashir is simply genius. Sudan needs peace and we as their neighbors will demand for it to happen since we have cooperated in all other areas...his Arrest will lead to formation of another al-shabab!..witha simple mission..#$^% Kenyans!
Surealligator
#19 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 1:26:39 PM

I still don't get it, why segregate him among other butchers. Is it because he is Arab? Christians never fail to amaze me.

Fact: Bush has killed more people than Bashir will in his life time. Watch GREEN ZONE by Damon, Watch UNVAILING IRAQ etc. Up to date, the reason Bush went to war with Iraq was WMD. Where are the WMD? Who will account for all the Iraqis dead? If you say Bush, then he should have been the first one heading to the Hague before you mention Bashir.

Upto date, Kagame has killed or displaced over 200,000 in Rwanda and Congo but he was welcome here. Men, can someone enlighten me cauze I don't get the sh**t.

M7 is an enemy of democracy, he is a dictator but we still had the courtesy of dinning with him while we are trying to shake the dregs of the same.

Arap Somoei, a suspect (but between me and you we know better)was there too with his hands dripping of PEV blood. Hallo!

Taniel was not left out, his hands socked with Ouko blood, Wagalla blood, corruption blood, Constitution change enemy number one, anti reformist number one, Nyayo house torture, Special branch cowards, road accidents etc.

I consider these people to be worse off than Bashir. Simply because western countries have endorsed the Indictment (accusation, charge, summons) does not mean the guy should be condemned. Why is the guy who killed Saddam Husein still walking in Texas without being Indicted?

Hallo, can someone come clean on this. We forget, Bashir allowed Southern Sudan to build a government.

One day, the Arabs will be in charge, and I don't think they will forget.

We better embrace them now when we can, encourage them to follow Kenya's model if it works well and then live and let live.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
#20 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 1:32:28 PM

There was an article in the Nation yesterday about Kofi Annan's frustrations by the west over Dafur. It only after he left office did the west think Dafur was a problem. I am not trying to underrate the problem. It is inhuman and disgusting what goes on there. At tyhe same time the way the west reacts to crisis is hypocritical. They only talk when it suits them or when they need to pile pressure for their own selfish needs.

We also need to see why the others are not focussing on our new constituition but only on the 'bad'. We need our ambassadors to start agitating for the citizens of host countries to write their own constituition and forget this whole story of our 'founding fathers'. Let us see which country will follow kenya.