wazua Mon, Dec 8, 2025

Behind the wall of marriage
aidha
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 10:56:57 AM

I was listening to a radio station today in the morning. I am not married yet I have a fiance. is it true that it is a circle, those who are in want to get out and those who are out want to get in. What should I expect?
mukhamba!
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 11:04:41 AM

Everyone's story is different, some people are happy. Plus not every man, beats up his wife. But the last lady who called in made me cry...so sad.
The Real Shaft
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 11:07:23 AM

it is a necessary poison.....

a four wheeled tricycle.....

an upright bed....

a woolen shirt....

it is something for the individual...

to find out...
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
aidha
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 12:13:27 PM

mukhamba! wrote:
Everyone's story is different, some people are happy. Plus not every man, beats up his wife. But the last lady who called in made me cry...so sad.

Ya, the last lady, then when she calls the girlfriends they insult her. I think sometimes we need to listen more than talking
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:03:38 PM

Consider also the real possibility that the some of the calls on the FM stations are staged and acted out by professional actors... all with the aim of captivating the audience...

With that in mind, my people say "ndiakagwo ta ya wakini" ....loosely translates to "haijengwi kama ya rafiki" or "you don't build like your friend.

Marriage is a covenant: you promise yourself, your God, your partner, your family, your friends etc.... that you will love and live with this man/woman till death.

As they say, don't marry the person you can live with; marry the one you cannot live without.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:20:46 PM

@mukiha, in your days things were too different, ladies from those day could vumilia any type of man and the opposite went for men, you are not qualified. These days you need to approach marriage by first drafting a plan.
suwan
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:44:40 PM

Mukiha wrote
Consider also the real possibility that the some of the calls on the FM stations are staged and acted out by professional actors... all with the aim of captivating the audience...

I dont believe any of those over emotional callers to the FM stations..if one is that bold to want to share it witht he world, he /she should be bold enuff to get out.
Like i commented in a previous thread, how esle do u think this overpaid presenters/celebs make their money...inventing stories and getting actors who in turn make us follish kenyans give our 10 cents worth of advise and sympathy to theb aggrieved while the phone companies and the radio stations mint our money

Check!
suwan
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:49:09 PM

I ask again..how comes those stories are sooo moving...

This stuff remind me of the healing crusades stage managed by some pastors,
but then I was thinking...if the potential of people who need therapy by talking to people they do not know is that great, then I need someone to hook up with and get a Tyrabanks/Oprah show here in Kenya. I beleive guys would be interested to sharing in kinda of open forums..

Anyone out there who we can link and make it an investment?Applause Applause Applause

msotoville
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:52:14 PM

@mukiha, in your days things were too different, ladies from those day could vumilia any type of man and the opposite went for men, you are not qualified. These days you need to approach marriage by first drafting a plan.

@MuchKnow,
I know of 20-something year old's hung up on some chappies who come to my better half (the Msotress) for relationship advice. Hearing their stories, you learn first hand the depths that "modern men" have sunk to - these tots endure a whole lotta crap in the name of love.

Watoto wazuri wako mzee
. Trust me, bruh, you ain't looking hard enough!
So nice that its nasty, so bangin' its busting,
So slick that its sick, so dope its disgusting!
Alo
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:52:29 PM

@ I agree with Mukiha Marry the one you can't live without. I married my best friend. So far so very good. Wish we could have done it like 10 years earlier.
"A woman's heart should be so hidden in Christ that a man should have to seek Him first to find her."
mukhamba!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:57:58 PM

Please do not insult others if they believe something and you don't (refer to Suwan's comment)

Now, the reality is as much as the "celebs pay or stage manage calls like you're saying" these are things that happen in life. There are very many women and men dying from AIDs because their spouse is unfaithful.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:59:39 PM

aidha wrote:
I was listening to a radio station today in the morning. I am not married yet I have a fiance. is it true that it is a circle, those who are in want to get out and those who are out want to get in. What should I expect?

@aidha - When it comes to FM stations [Especially those call in sessions] there are some do's and don'ts

Don'ts - Don't believe the stuff on radio!
Do's - Do not believe the stuff on radio!

Back to your question [in general]. As @mukiha says, it depends on individuals/couples. I have met people who even say openly that they don't know how they would live without the wife/husband - nothing financial. Just love and companionship. I have also met individuals who truly believe that getting married was the biggest mistake they ever made. And there a lot of guys somewhere in between! It depends on how you "make your bed" and with whom.
winston
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 2:13:06 PM

The general rule about generalizations is that - we should not generalize! Each marriage is different.

PONDI
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 2:49:54 PM

ehhh maina kageni must 'justify' his 1.2M salary .... ratings must be sky high. therefore he must do 'anything' to ensure his is the number 1 morning drive show in kenya. the funny thing is that its the matatu crews that got his show to where it is. classic FM should find a way of rewarding them.
personally I don't believe in the institution of marriage. every single uni mate who married is separated or going thru major domes.... one even takes chips funga home yet wifey still resides there...
Ric dees
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 4:07:23 PM

The theatrics of Kenyan radio...What we need to know scandal is a retreat for failed journalists??
I however have a problem with people taking most of this "celebs" seriously, because of everything they stand for 'lack of integrity'. 'lack of straight forwardness' and on and on..they remind me of a homicidal comedian in a priest’s outfit reading an obituary. Regardless of how serious and earnest the emotion is….it gets lost in the ironic redundancy..but again that's just me.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Toxicity
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 4:37:53 PM

as for me getting married is something am really dreading..as marriage needs patience, tolerance and perseverance we all saw days of our parents they showed this characters but nowadays, i think both men and women don't have the patience.
update president set president = speaker where president is null
atiriri
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 5:03:17 PM

Why is it that men are on the defensive side compared to ladies. Where are akina Chep?
Mtu Biz
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 5:33:30 PM

Yaani people take that upuss from maina kageni and co seriously. No wonder we have issues. its like taking a soap seriously...

@Ric Dees I feel you.
Sola Scriptura

aidha
#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 5:39:26 PM

Hey you guys you want to tell me that the last lady was stage managed Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
mukhamba!
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 5:41:07 PM

As much as its on radio, these things happen! People cheat, people infect their spouses with AIDS, people go through these things. So stop distancing yourself from reality guys.