Will the registration of SIM cards Help curb Crime?
Rank: Member Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 161 Location: nairobi
Following a presidential directive in July 2009, Mobile subcribers now have up to 31st July 2010 to register their SIM cards with their Mobile Providers. To what extent do you guys think that registration of SIM cards will help curb crime?
Rank: Member Joined: 5/7/2010 Posts: 282 Location: Nairobi
@redondo. Registration of SIM will not curb crime, but will reduce crimes that require phone calls to execute.
Most crime: muggings, 'ngeta', carjackings, bank roberies dont require the use of mobile phone.
SIM registration will help track the culprits in incidences where they make calls or request M-Pesa/Zap money transfres.
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
"SIM registration will help track the culprits in incidences where they make calls or request M-Pesa/Zap money transfres." You can be kidnapped and they request money to be sent via MPESA to your phone and go with you for the withdrawal. This registration stuff is just much ado about nothing. And what will this directive have on sale of SIM cards? Will they still be sold in the streets and alleys? GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
While it seems benevolent move...think again..big brother seeks to control your life.. this is the precedence to the famous "mark of the beast" the Antichrist is near...na inaonekana many people will accept to be chipped damning their souls forever... The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
I think it wont really make a big difference. The hardcore thugs in Kenya are always a step ahead of our system. We all know it's very easy to walk down to Riverroad and fake an Id,head to the SIM registration offices and register using your fake ID and of course a fake postal address. The only thing they can trace is the phone,but not necessarily the real guy if he's smart enough. They need to fight crime from the root,not from the branches. Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
This will not help much..........enough banks are still opening accounts with fake documentation and these are the same accounts used for fraud.
People people people! Mnataka tukae pale pale tu n do absolutely nothing coz thugs r sijui always ahead? The idea is to give these outlaws a hard time....Hongera Mr President, thats what developing n developed countries do after all. Kenyans will complain to the grave over any new development.....for instance, who thinks Kenya will get a better chance for a new constitution if this one fails? Me thinks no, not in my lifetime...and the noise, complaints n gnashing of teeth will go on n on n on.... TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
It will definitely help. Investigators will have some bread crumbs to follow when a mobile phone related crime is committed and even when the documents used are forgeries, there will be some clues left behind which police can act on. Right now, investigations are almost impossible. I think it will deter some but the hardened type who are ready to risk getting caught if the pay off is good will not be deterred at all. KYC requirements have not deterred bank fraudsters but if you think about it, there is always some clues left for investigators should they choose to look hard. I am also sure it will be a Godsend to intelligence guys. Cellphones are used to communicate to many people, not just to victims. They will call friends, accomplices, service providers, and generally mention things which can point investigators in the right direction. Again all this contingent on the police/NSIS choosing to do right thing and assuming no one greases someone's hand so they look the other way. My two Zim cents worth... Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Wont help much, already all Zap and M-Pesa users are registered and yet criminals have been using the systems to demand ransom from kidnap victims. Even Onyanja the self confessed serial killer received money through M-Pesa and when the victims reported to the police, they were adviced to pay up and delete the record of transaction by the very police they loooked upon for help. What Kenya needs is complete accountability right from the top. "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
wakenya pumbavu tu. hata mkisaidiwa mnalia.
If you think it is invading your privacy, nasi you throw your phone away.
Ati accountability fm the top? Then we do the registration thereafter ama? To me, this is very CHEAP reasoning and precisely, DISTURBING. @tebes, tell us exactly how onyanja was caught!! Pliz do for the sake of integrity n the love of God!! Please! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
@Kabz Onyancha wanted to be caught. Aren't you worried regarding the many years he killed and roamed free only to be 'caught' now? Where were the police all that time,and why had even the bodies ever been recovered? Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Reg is one matter, police reforms is another one altogether. Maybe we should go back to zinjanthropus (sp) ways coz nothing seems to be gud 4 this pathetic country of whiners. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
SCOM's MJ sounded frustrated when he said that they spend a lot of time and resources helping police track down mobile phone crooks yet "no one is being prosecuted". That captures the issue. Registering SIMS will be another wasted effort if criminals will not be prosecuted! It is one thing to recover a kidnapped kid and yet another to catch and prosecute the kidnappers. If you just do the recovery, the crooks will grab another kid, get paid some cash before the cops catch up. If they know the cops are nearby, they will take off leaving the kid behind....only to go and grab another one. i will do my bit and register all my SIMS, but that alone will not reduce mobile crime by any measures if the crooks are not prosecuted. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
sheep wrote:While it seems benevolent move...think again..big brother seeks to control your life..
this is the precedence to the famous "mark of the beast"
the Antichrist is near...na inaonekana many people will accept to be chipped damning their souls forever... Onyancha is the Antichrist, and he was caught GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Definately a step in the right direction. The fact that people know their sim is registered will serve to deter crime and it will now be much easier to connect the dots if a phone is used in a criminal event. This has been long overdue, this should have been done from the get go, when mobile phones were introduced in kenya. The are definately some concerns for such an exercise, How to prevent misuse of such information, how to uniquely associate an individual or company to a specific sim or multiple sims. You have to find a way of tying this sims to individuals otherwise it will be in vain. If this is not done carefully, it will turn out to be a useless exercise.
What is the opportunity cost of this move?? What is the economic value both to the Mobile phone providers and the country at large of the convenience of being able to walk anywhere downtown at any time and be able to buy a SIM card and phone without any hassles? What about tourists and other visitors who within minutes of landing in the country can easily communicate back to their country and are reachable instantly? Like someone mentioned all Mpesa accounts are registered already and still Onyancha used it and so did all those fellows in Kamiti who put fake job adverts on newspapers.
So now that all SIMS will be registered, who keeps the Database? What other information does it have that will be useful in tracing someone? His/her P.O. Box Number? Maoni yangu: If something is not broken don't fix it. Let people live and conduct business easily and efficiently. Strengthen the capability of the police force to trace signals and apprehend suspects but don't kill biashara in the name of security you cannot provide.
I'm with simonkabz on this.Kenya is a country of whiners.There is no gvt decision that we dont criticise/know a better way of doing it. They're constructing Thika rd?why not make electric train network with that money?This is a good move.It deters criminals,allows mobile phone service providers to do a census of their customers and makes it easy for police to catch crooks. Currently, cops have to jam the network in a place where they suspect a crook is before locating him.In this new case the cops will have an idea of whose phone was used and thus make it even much easier to tack them down. Plus I have witnessed a case where someone bought a SIM card, sent himself a threatening SMS on his regular line and claimed it was his neighbour.Such crap will surely end! Just because police are dragging their feet in investigations doesn't mean we reject this positive move. What a wicked man I am!The things I want to do,I don't do.The things I don't want to do I find myself doing
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
@simonkabz, Robinhood, and Kadonoye, well said. We complain and do nothing and when a solution is given we complain even more - Wakenya! My take: Just like the burglar proof door to our houses, they reduce/deter theft/burglary but don't stop/eliminate them. SIM registration will likewise deter and reduce beside helping give clues to investigations. A move in the right direction.
@Mukiha, the cost element is implicit in any such operation and beside do we complain of the cost of extra security measures in our own homes, offices as unnecessary?
what happens when your phone is stolen and your sim used to engage in criminal activities. I think this will promote phone theft and also forgery of documents such as ID.
Its a good step but the above challenges need to be addressed so that innocent persons don't become victims.
Will the registration of SIM cards Help curb Crime?