School Survey - Fathers have failed their children
Only 17% of fathers help their children with homework. Have you ever gone to a PTA meeting and seen how few the fathers are at the meeting? You'd think that most children are from single-mother families. Wababa; mpo? Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: Member Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 161 Location: nairobi
Interesting survey. I think its just a case of men spending too little time at home. But Fathers, take heart. In this era of Google, assisting your kids with their homework should be a walk in the park and shouldn't take too much time either
Rank: Member Joined: 5/7/2010 Posts: 282 Location: Nairobi
YES. wababa tuko.
It reflective of whats actually on the ground. I do help my children with their homework, but on many occassions its my wife who does it especially the times I arrive late. However, I make the point of checking the signing their diaries.
It's true that only about 25% of fathers attend the PTA meetings. (according to my observation).
Home work is a waste of precious playing time. Kwani what did the kid go to do at school? I find it disturbing that parents pay too much attention to school work. I feel a lot of pain when I see kids go to school on Saturday,go to tuition on holidays,wake up at 5.00am...we are being cruel to our kids. 17 yrs spent in school!!!!! learning sh*t,I would only have needed a little over ten years...wasted young life. The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Rank: Member Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 161 Location: nairobi
@sheep , your sentiments are very strong but I somewhat agree with you! A friend of mine once shared her sons story: the boy was ranked in the bottom 5 of his class at the end of the term as a result of scoring 75% in Maths(his lowest score in all the subjects). so she was pushing the boy to attend remedial classes.
I couldnt help wondering, if our kids are that bright kwanini after school they mostly turn out average in the work place? or is it this 8-4-4 crap that puts so much empahasis on cramming for exams?
Education should empower you not just help you pass exams
Wacha watoto wacheze!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/4/2008 Posts: 1,289 Location: Nairobi
I always wondered, who helps the children whose parents are illiterate or daandas? Is it a must to have homework every day? Think our policy makers are not clever
Thats tough and unfortunate, my child has not attained school going age, but i can bet my life i will assist in their homework. I still think it's a very archaic way of living, thinking parenting is only bout providing, paying bills etc.Whenever i come home, i see the excitement in my child's eyes as she tries to jump up and down in her walker.We will take our toys go to the bathroom, where i will wash her as we sing and clap and eat, then we go to bed, read her a book by 7.30pm latest she is fast asleep. If you don't involve yourself from the very beginning then it becomes very hard to do so at a later stage. So will the real fathers please stand up!! The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Rank: Member Joined: 12/7/2009 Posts: 320 Location: nairobi
Happy fathers day Ricdees.
sheep wrote:Home work is a waste of precious playing time.
Kwani what did the kid go to do at school?
I find it disturbing that parents pay too much attention to school work.
I feel a lot of pain when I see kids go to school on Saturday,go to tuition on holidays,wake up at 5.00am...we are being cruel to our kids.
17 yrs spent in school!!!!! learning sh*t,I would only have needed a little over ten years...wasted young life.
@sheep; correct me if I'm wrong, but I make two inferences from you comments- 1)you do not have children 2)your father did not help you with your homework Homework serves two major purposes in lower school; 1] It helps the parents follow the progress of the child and understand how the teacher is performing in class 2] It helps the child learn to concentrate on a task until it is complete. In the process, it also helps parents bond with children. If you show interest in homework, your child will also learn that school is important. There still remains the delicate question of how much homework is too much. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/20/2008 Posts: 1,126 Location: Nairobi
Prov 22:6
Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.
Eph 6:4
Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.
Deut 6:5
“These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up”
Fathers can use these verses and know that as heads of the family they are directly in charge of what goes on in their children's lives, first their spirituality, then everything else including their education.JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Rank: Member Joined: 11/9/2007 Posts: 420 Location: Nairobi
[/quote] @sheep; correct me if I'm wrong, but I make two inferences from you comments- 1)you do not have children 2)your father did not help you with your homework Homework serves two major purposes in lower school; 1] It helps the parents follow the progress of the child and understand how the teacher is performing in class 2] It helps the child learn to concentrate on a task until it is complete. In the process, it also helps parents bond with children. If you show interest in homework, your child will also learn that school is important. There still remains the delicate question of how much homework is too much.[/quote] @mukiha spot on on your last comment.... those of you from before 8-4-4 will remember we had homework only in maths( one or 2 sums) and kidogo english and may be another subject(na sio kila siku). Nowadays the teachers sijui try to outdo each other?? then on top of that the poor kid has Kumon to do... aish! Opinion is free, truth is sacred.
This post reminds me so much of the last 10 days where i have had to attend to two prize giving ceremonies for my daughters and an academic day for my son.At some point i thought i would fall down with fatigue but looking back at it,i thank God for those beautiful souls.On Saturday evening i found a neatly folded card on my bed and guess what?it was a father's day card from my love and our "clan".....Do i tell my wife and the kids i love them?.Yes i do but then i am feeling a little guilty coz i am not sure i do it as frequently as i should. @Sheep, Just like Mukiha,i really doubt you have children you call your own.I am sorry if i am wrong but get it right.Learning does not stop with the teacher and home-work need not mean books.I say so coz,the kids have been sent by the teacher more than once.In one instance,i had to go out with them at night to point out "Orion the hunter". Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
I read this on nation and remembered my Easter trip visit my mom. Now I have a 3 year old who is quite talkative and keeps mimicking whathever one says. My mom was so impressed and observed that my son was able to repeat a complete english sentence yet some of her class 4 students could not do the same even if you kept on pushing them for the whole day. She said teaching had becoming a very frustrating exercise and children in public schools are worse off now than they were when she started teaching some 30+ years ago. There is a big problem with our education system, the good news is that its no different anywhere in the world save for some Asian countries. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/22/2010 Posts: 1 Location: kenya
This is my first post but I have been following wazua site for some time now.
Let me start by contributing to this post.I will put a twist to the post ,though this is a real life experience.
Read to the end :
I'm am a father of 1 year old daughter.About three weeks ago, my wife left me with my daughter for two hours.
I love my daughter so much so I felt this was a good time to bond with her.
When she came back .She begun by changing her diapers.Our daughter had a small infection in the private parts .
You wont imagine the accussation my wife came with.She insited that I tell her where the infection came from since she has never see anything like that before.
This angered me so much since I respect myself so much and cannot imagine anybody thinking of me as a defiler and to make the matters worse my supposedly loving wife against my daughter.
She later apologised in tears saying she has problems communicating which always put her in problems everywhere she goes at work and neighbors.
Fathers here :
1.How would you have dealt with such a matter?
2.Dont you think that mothers are just too possessive when it comes to the children?
3.It is that such possessiveness is what keep fathers away?
4.Is a divorce a good ground for suspicion of such police case?
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
Being a father is a continuous struggle to create time to walk the important journeys that the children are walking in. This is not only limited to homework. There is also spiritual development, character development etc.
Sometimes I wonder why parents struggle to build empires only to will them or handover to their child-strangers whose only claim to the empire may lie in their DNA. These child-strangers end blowing apart the empire having no internal compass or life skills or appreciation of what matters in life.
Ten/twenty years down the line what will be the effects of Absentee fathers + over-emphasis of academics in 8-4-4 + drugs + Media + Internet + proliferation of guns + unemployment?
Rank: Member Joined: 12/7/2009 Posts: 320 Location: nairobi
Happy fathers day njunge. Akowally is back. Hii
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
sheep umesema ukweli! Have you seen kids going to school nowadays? You'd think they were going to war in Afghanistan. Class one children with bags bigger than them on their backs. Watoto wanaamka 5.00 a.m I used to wake up at 7.30 and I turned up all right. Nowadays they are being taught a lot of bullshit. When they come home from school, they can't even play because of tons of homework. Let Kids be Kids. People pay too much attention to school work Wasted Youth kwelikweli! The Lost Generation I call them! GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Guys what I am saying is that parents over-emphasize education. In old Greece they emphasized on character and morals..nowadays its just about facts and figures. The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
Fatherhood. Absent without apology. However. He was 79 years of age, had a wife (of goats) and grown up children in shags but kept a spare at his place of work. He was a very good friend, was a brilliant strategist during the Mungiki wars in Kerugoya and saved my life once when I followed his advice that reversed a trap set for us by the mungiki. In other words, I owed him. He passed away 2 years ago. He had a daughter with the "town wife" who was extremely poor in the English language, grammar and composition. She is in standard eight. Her mother invited me to assist her in the English Language exercises and home work one evening, and I was hooked. It has become sheer pleasure to watch raw untapped talent transform into a sharp mind. We sit down and talk before and after homework and I get to feel her sentiments about school and life in general. I always insist that we do this in English. Now the little angel is brighter than I am, which is difficult for me to admit. Very pretty too. A very exciting experience, fatherhood, but I am absent without apology.
School Survey - Fathers have failed their children