wazua Wed, Dec 4, 2024

ideas on turning around a failing pub
intrepid
#1 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 7:49:11 PM

Hi guys (n gals)
I have a bar running in a not too ideal location, barely profitable for the past about 4 months. Sales have stagnated and I want to get ideas on how i can turn this biz towards a growth path.
Its a small room, selling beer n spirits to low income earners in Ruai. I made a number of dumb mistakes when starting up e.g no bitings, small tv (liability during world cup), no lit sign to "vutia" passers by, however these are in the process of being fixed. I'd like to know if there are any other ideas i kud try apart from fixing the above. Wud really appreciate your help and collective intelligence.
intrepid attached the following image(s):
pub.jpg (4kb) downloaded 2 time(s).
kizee
#2 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 8:10:51 PM

get some strippers
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 10:08:00 AM

@Intrepid...Apart from trying to attract the customers to your place, another point where money is lost by bar owners is that the patrons buy and sell their own alcohol hence you loose out on profits.

Umejaribu nyama and kuku choma? and few male patrons?

In Nigeria, when you buy pombe, they give you a bowl of njugu (I wonder why this happens?Applause )Sijui kama this will attract customers hapo kwakoPray
the sage
#4 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 10:46:53 AM

Intrepid, what most bar/pub owners forget is that they are not selling alcohol, they are selling an experience. The former is the reserve of liquour stores.
Point noted, here are a few tips:
1.Have a good and friendly barman. The type of person who memorises names and the choice of drinks.
2.Good music, not loud music. People should not shout at one another
to have a conversation.
3. Nice cocktails, try Mwendas and the Mercury Lounge for ideas.
4.To attract ladies, there is one key ingredient that will make the flood your pub. HAVE THE CLEANEST TOILETS. Fragrances, scented candles, flowers, the works. It should be clean enough for them to eat on the floor.
5.On Friday's and Saturdays and the eve of a holiday, STRICTLY cash bar.
I hope this has helped.
Chaka
#5 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 11:06:30 AM

@nost...

@Intrepid..., another point where money is lost by bar owners is that the patrons buy and sell their own alcohol hence you loose out on profits.

Pray

Did you mean the workers buy and sell their own alcohol?

In India they also give a free bowl of nuts with every beer.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 11:17:28 AM

First @sage ideas are hot, right on the money - especially making the bar attractive to ladies, hence making the social scene alive.
Let me try... though I've no experience whatsoever in the industry smile

1. I hear low income earners really get/understand small items. Hence I'd not be surprised if you'd sell more if you allowed small/cheaper servings of keg for example.

2. Then there's the normal stuff: the name, some paint, bright posters, clean clean clean, windows, better layout. Bitings/TV are value adds.

3. Bars are one product only atmosphere/service varies. Is it possible to generate loyalty? Regulars treated special and get something on the house whenever they bring a new friend to the pub.

Lastly, [b]what one thing would your customers say your pub is known for?[b] If it doesn't have its special identity, you need to look and listen until you find the one thing people say.... "If you're looking for _______ in Ruai, go to..."

#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 11:30:07 AM

Chaka wrote:
@nost...

@Intrepid..., another point where money is lost by bar owners is that the patrons buy and sell their own alcohol hence you loose out on profits.

Pray

Did you mean the workers buy and sell their own alcohol?

In India they also give a free bowl of nuts with every beer.

@ Chaka, yes, the workers...
gadj
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 11:59:39 AM

And don't forget the service you offer to your clients is prompt one doesn't have to start banging the table for more beer, do employ barmaids who can do the job well.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 12:03:38 PM

At the current state of our economy and particularly in Nairobi, i can tell you that you cannot make money by "imposing" yourself on a territory you do not belong to - i.e absentee businessman in small low income area establishments. Small business(kiosks, tailor shops, small salons, small bars) will in a somewhat organized poor man's economy become the sole occupation of the owner, meaning you cannot "supervise" their operations no matter what you do unless you are ready to exceed profits. You need to be the present full-time businessman in that small pub (or almost) as your competition there in Ruai(i can bet my shirt) most likely is ever present in their small pubs. In our Nairobi economy where the wages of labor have risen to be the sole source of subsistence (rather than part source of subsistence as in shags where someone works and grows their food or where the barmaids double as whores)and the interest of capital diminishing, a lot of the more important labor (supervising) in small establishments cannot be paid for by the returns and means the owner has to be the supervisor. Only where an establishment can meet the cost of necessary controls(cash register, supervisor/manager e.t.c), can you hope to survive as a "visiting" business owner. The days of secretaries owning salons, clerks owning bars, teachers owning kiosks and matatus are gone, i suggest you move with the flow.
A New Kenya
suwan
#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 5:10:09 PM

The word patrons have not been used well here, since as far as I am concerned, patrons = clients..

me thinks all of you talking about patrons mean the attendants ( waiters, waitresses etc)
#11 Posted : Tuesday, June 15, 2010 9:08:25 PM

>> where women are, men will follow.. and for low income market, I'd advise you get barmaids who give the kind of a smile that sobers up even the drunk...not whores though, just maids to dangle carrots that are out of reach. my naira
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 16, 2010 9:35:07 AM

@ Suwan, that has been corrected
intrepid
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 17, 2010 5:48:35 PM

Thanks everyone. I think these are all good ideas to implement. I think the basic problem is that I am not physically there to see how it is running. My employee is most likely buying her own booze n selling, cutting sales revenues for the biz. I am torn between shutting it down until I can be at the biz permanently or trying to get it to succeed.
I really wanted it to succeed, however how can u if you are not in control/do not trust those you have left there. @Much Know...i had identified the issue of control but thot i kud trust the person I hired to run the show.
majimaji
#14 Posted : Friday, June 18, 2010 12:46:29 PM

Intrepid, I live in Ruai and the place is short of good small pubs.

Where are you located?

intrepid
#15 Posted : Friday, June 18, 2010 1:21:07 PM

@majimaji..do you know shelter villa? my place is just after them..
majimaji
#16 Posted : Friday, June 18, 2010 1:41:40 PM

I know shelter but not your pub. Place a sign board on the road and we will come.
the sage
#17 Posted : Friday, June 18, 2010 6:31:02 PM

@Intrepid, seriously you should have a good sign.
#18 Posted : Friday, June 18, 2010 8:43:06 PM

>> I like the spirit here....Donald Trump insists on branding. therefore instead of saying next to your competitor, build your brand...a catchy name...and toot your horn. all the best.
KenyanLyrics
#19 Posted : Saturday, June 19, 2010 2:55:57 AM

Having worked in the music industry, I can safely tell you that pub business is generally short lived, so I would suggest to use the whole experience as a platform for future ventures, rather than a long term investment.
#20 Posted : Monday, June 21, 2010 5:24:21 PM

In Nigeria, when you buy pombe, they give you a bowl of njugu (I wonder why this happens?Applause )Sijui kama this will attract customers hapo kwakoPray

you eat groundnuts, you get thirsty, you buy more drinks, the proprietor makes more money. while all the while you think the guy is being generous. happens in some bars in nairobi as well, like pasara where i used to see it before my drink 'sabbatical'.