wazua Mon, Jul 1, 2024

Starehe vote recount
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 9:25:07 AM

Honourable Bishop MW - 9,972.
Kamanda - 18,158.

That's a huge lead there for the "loser"........Does it tell us who stole the elections?Eh?
Iganamagana
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 9:34:01 AM

Kwani how long is it taking these guys to count the votes? They should ask for help so that this winning looser is thrown out of Parliament pronto.
kiriita
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 9:40:39 AM

@ Njung'e,

Maybe - but with only 65 boxes out of 210 recounted, it might be too early to tell.

PS: I neither hold brief nor am I a fan of Bishop/Dr./Hon etc. Ditto MK for that matter.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 9:41:28 AM

Honourable Bishop?
#5 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 10:00:08 AM

Kiriita,
About 30% votes counted and the ratio is 2:1.For the Bishofu to even out,she requires to totally reverse the trend such that in the next 70 boxes,she gets 2 for every 3...cough!!...cough!..Of course on the home stretch,they will share 50/50 but once in a while the bishofu will nip two or three votes so that at the end,she is 853 votes ahead of MK.....huh!!.....Do you believe me??
Jaina
#6 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 10:08:33 AM

Njunge,

What would happen if at the end of the exercise maina has more votes?. Can the judge declare him MPig?
#7 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 10:15:36 AM

Was i the only one who saw Kamandas face when the returning officer read out the results.. he was so sure ameshinda(offcause stuffing ballot boxes) but Bishop having noted shed be rigged out outwitted the poor man and went straight for the returning officer; who hurriedly declared her winner and scattered(with a big sendoff i presume)

but now from the ground..with the youth and women she now commands..bado tu atarudi

my 2 cents
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 10:21:28 AM

@Poundfoolish,
To be honest,she stands a ghost of a chance.Not unless the by-election is held after new voter registration where she can highly rely on Mungikis...lol.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 10:22:08 AM

@njunge
if kibaki won after trailing Raila by the same margin then wanjiru has a shot?
#10 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 10:52:30 AM

voter registration starts monday i believe..
kiriita
#11 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 11:08:02 AM

@ Njung'e, I was thinking along the same lines as Selah.
gk
#12 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 12:20:19 PM

...i was at Moi Av primary that morning and honestly, was damn surprised at the outcome.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 12:35:25 PM

Kamanda cannot be declared the winner whichever the recounting outcome, only a byelection is the answer.

Selah, good one!!!!
Blackberry
#14 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 3:47:46 PM

[quote=McReggae]Kamanda cannot be declared the winner whichever the recounting outcome, only a byelection is the answer.

Ive also been wondering why not a byelection so so much has happened since 2008. twill be such an embarasment for the recount looser

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#15 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 5:04:40 PM

Isnt it possible 4 ballot boxes to be interfered with before the recount.Kamanda has had 2 yrs to do so
#16 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 5:23:13 PM

Wanjiru will recapture the seat.She will get JIAM,Mungiki n Western bloc votes.Then also factor in RAO's improved rating among Kyuks who r majority in starehe
BGL
#17 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 8:41:57 PM

@ Kadonye
There is nothing wrong with Wanjiru recapturing the Starehe seat. However, if the bishop will count on Mungiki votes to further her cause, then i have only one way of defining what i am seeing. Some Kenyan pastors want so badly to prosper (or at least have fun, because some are extremely wealth while their followers are paupers!) that they have turned wealth into a god and consumer capitalism into a religion.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
callaspade
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 17, 2010 11:53:50 AM

...in this times,this sounds like a broken record which am sure you all dont like.
...move on guys,we are all in this together,taking sides takes us nowhere ? or maybe somewhere,backwards !!!!
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 17, 2010 12:15:33 PM

well spoken callaspade

I thought i was the only one who seems to read 'a call to reconciliation and forging forward as a country' but when a contest emerges the old rivalry lines are drawn....

Shindwe!!!
Amir
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 17, 2010 12:35:39 PM

kudos to callaspade and poundfoolish
mkenya yeyote anaturudisha nyuma asidwe asidwe asidwe kabisa

The Brave may not live forever - but the cautious do not live at all: Richard Branson