wazua Sun, Dec 1, 2024

wapi pesa? Carb and BOC
Ngash
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2008 6:23:00 PM

What's happenibg with this two?

When do we anticipate their return to the market?

Given all the water that has passed under the bride,would they consititue a good buy and at what price?

jammo
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2008 6:46:00 PM

Manze this counters hav been frozen pendin settlement of takeover of carbacid by BOC.... Plus there's a court case regardin the same! Yaani huna copy?! Wow!

'..and it came to pass..' so did we!
This market will probably outlive us. Wacha pupa!!u can't have it all.
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2008 4:37:00 AM

Have been suspended for such a long time that some of us have forgoten the price.
Anyone with the last trading price so we can start from there.

The real measure of wealth is how much you'd be worth if you lost all your money.
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 10:12:00 AM

2009 results;
EPS = 22.63,up from 14.72 in 2008

DPS = Sh15; up from Sh10

Bonus share issue,2 for every one held....

When this share comes back,it will go through the roof.

It was suspended at 173; it will definitely touch 200[XB,XD] or 600[CB,CD].

I guess it was well worth the wait.

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
cnn
#5 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 11:24:00 AM

I saw this and all i could do is scratch my head and wish.The shareholders will reap big.,after a long wait.
@mukiha..still looking for somebody sellling.?

see it through my lens?
Chaka
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 11:26:00 AM

When will the supension be lifted?

Between BOC and Carbacid,which is the stronger company?
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 11:43:00 AM

@mukiha,your valuation seems flawed! If an EPS of ksh 22.63 gives a value of ksh 200,how will three times as many shares give a higher valuation at the same EPS? If the current valuation is ksh 200,I would put the cum price at ksh 60-70. It is like saying when Equity increased shares by 10,the valuation went up ten fold.
Pretty
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 11:57:00 AM

@Chaka

v Currently and for the next one year,Carbacid is far superior to BOC

v However,after an year,a lot might change if BOC will start their own CO2 production line

v If BOC however consummates the previously attempted marriage,then,BOC will be super charged.

v On the other hand,Matiba and associates are now out of Carbacid,so expect it to move swiftly without the baggage.

v Centum now has over 20% shareholding,I don’t know whether that is a plus or a negative.

@Mukiha

v I thought Carbacid was suspended at 137 and not 173.

v I have always looked upon you for precise data.

v I equated Mukiha to a Stocks Guru.

v Man,what’s up?

>>>>>>It saves you hell if you treat new acquaintances as enemies consistently until each proves otherwise or confirms - Jsanchiazh. >>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,those who make things happen,those who watch things happen and those who ask what happened. Where do you fall?
>>>>>>
A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases;
It will never pass into nothingness;
But still will keep a bower quiet for us,
and a sleep full of sweet dreams,
and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats

>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,
1. Those who make things happen,
2. Those who watch things happen
3. And those who ask what happened.

Where do you fall?
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 12:02:00 PM

My dear pretty,ACCULATE indeed!

Can silence be misquoted?
mwanahisa
#10 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 3:02:00 PM

Indeed Carbacid was suspended at a price of Kshs 137. The historical PE ratio for most companies on the NSE is currently ranging around 10. I would therefore expect Carbacid to trade at a price of about 220 based on 2008/9 results. There could however be some premium due to the quadruple whammy of:

1. The long period of suspension;

2. The bonus issue and special dividend;

3. The healthy increase in profitability;

4. The small free float.

Rumours in the market were that Centum purchased their block at a price of Kshs 160. If that is indeed correct,I would say that they made a brilliant purchase. With the dividend flow from Carbacid,EABL,the CocaCola bottlers etc,they will easily be able to service interest on their corporate bond or bank loans (whichever route they opt to take).

Opportunity calls but few respond.
#11 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 11:51:00 AM

@Pretty;
Sorry; I meant to type 137,but the fingers had different ideas!!!!!!

@Gordon Gekko;
Equity's was a split. Caracid's is a bonus offer....it changes the shape [not the size] of the balance sheet.... Then add @mwanahisa's points and 600 [cum] will sound cheap!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#12 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 1:31:00 PM

@mukiha,my point exactly. The shape changes,not the size. There should be no revaluation (of the company)whether it is a bonus or split,but the values of the shares should be revalued - DOWNWARDS.
jerry
#13 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 2:43:00 PM

@GG,Mukiha. I thought bonus comes from retained profits that goes into capital investment thus increasing value of the co. hence new shares.

Crocodile tears: If you can't assist me when I'm alive en you attend my funeral.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#14 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 2:49:00 PM

As pointed out earlier... a bonus or split does NOT change much in a firm especially a manufacturing firm (banks are different)...
***__*** Bonus - Its like a house... you increase the size of one room (Share Capital) by reducing another (Retained Earnings).
***___**** Splits - If you have a house representing 'Share Capital' then a split creates more (smaller) rooms while leaving the house the same size...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
cnn
#15 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 11:13:00 AM

CARBACID and BOC start trading tomorrow,it will be very intresting to see how it goes,remember carbacid trades cum bonus / cum dividends.

see it through my lens?
cnn
#16 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 11:24:00 AM

skerians,what bid would you put for carbacid? last close was 137,dividend in Dec will be 10 bob,an interim of 5 bob paid already.How fast can BOC encroach on their business and how much will that affect carbacid?

see it through my lens?
#17 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 12:41:00 PM

They are both back to the market tomorrow.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 1:53:00 PM

In 12 hours,the truth shall be revealed

Don't forget that the 10% rule will be suspended tomorrow

#19 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 1:58:00 PM

One thing I can guarantee is that we will not see ksh 600!!!
#20 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 2:24:00 PM

Big money will be out to catch part of the action...........but i would put a 'BUYERS BE WARE' tag at 300 and above.

Old man about town....