Market
Pennywise
Your very first pay..
Just thought of my first pay check 14 years ago...
That evening,I bought and cooked chicken,beef and fish which I attempted to eat at one sitting!
The next day came a 29' TV and two suits and then was counting days till the next end month
I must have been a fool or overly excited by my first salary.
What did you do ? Squandered or invested ?
Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
Bot my paros a cow,used the rest to pay ma bro's fees. Before I cud even buy myself a pair of socks,I was already broke. Thank God I was still living in my aunts hse in Nai,still sleeping on a sofa; I wud have been thrown out by the landlord. 'Tough times never last but tough peope do.'
This was end of July 1997,paid house deposit and one 1 month rent for 1 roomed house somewhere in Huruma. Still had some money left to entertain myself for two weeks. Thank God I had company Transport to push me to the next end month. That was 12 yrs ago,today,my pay has gone up by over 100 times but I cannot get enough money to entertain myself,talk of changing priorities- Maslow was very right with his principles "You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
I was paid cash my first salo,so i enjoyed a few beers in town,then took a tuk tuk home,that time they were new to town,we stopped to fuel at shell panafric and almost everyone there was looking at the tuk tuk and saying....'hi kitu ita gongwa ianguke na matatu'...nilifika salama...it was 3sok....to lavi...my folks diggz...from tao...in a brandy new...tuk..tuk Ninajua Yote! A New Kenya
My first pay was my first seed.
Without Holiness no man shall see God.Dear God,mould me to be a vessel of honour at this End times,to remain Obedient to your Word in all situations.Amen!
@ Ngwono please shed some more light on this seed and what it grew into...
Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
I bebad all of my cash in a brown envelop home and i did go home early that day (I hadn't opened an acount). I recall one weekend we went to Ole Polos and i bought almost 20 guys a rao. I bought 5 shirts,2 trousers and the balance went to EABL.!!
A journey of a thousand miles start with a cash advance
My first salo..... mmmmh!!!
I was paid half the salo coz i started working mid month!!! when i got my money,i bought a megarider to and from town.... I was staying with my auntie and used to cost share so i paid my share (2k), it was on a friday so that weekend i went and did my hair - in Kayole(of course i couldnt afford anywhere else!)... the prices had changed more than i estimated... so i was charged 200bob more... and this 200bob was supposed to be my savings for the month.... i had to borrow 20bob from a friend to get me home... and my whole salo was over! Kwisa kabisa! I was so miserable!!! Had to surve till 15th to get an advance.... by the way,are there companies that still give advance?
Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Bought a greatwall tv for my bed room the rest went to shoes and handbags -my childhood addiction. Surprisingly when i was earning a salo of 12k i used to have extra money for savings and entertainment. Now if i dont commit money to sacco,i wont manage to save a cent. And entertainment ......no money. Nice The shifts of Fortune test the reliability of friends
called up my friends,made eabl profits,remained with 1k for fare..the next month was pure suffering...
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
Hehee,its always embarassing to remember..... I earned 6,000Ksh,a reasonable sum of cash back then.. I bought a radio(500bob) for my room,a pair of Jeans(300) and the rest...we went for a drinking spree/club hopping with a bunch of my 'tight' buddies. It was over Easter,and we started of on Thursday jioni...until Monday jioni. By Tuesday,i had only 500Ksh left! If my elder sister hadnt purchased a megarider for me at the beginning of that month....sijui kungeendaje! Strange thing is...i never lived to regret the drinking spree despite the tough times that followed. It was the best ever:)) Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't.. Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Rank: Member Joined: 11/9/2007 Posts: 420 Location: Nairobi
bought ma self ma own pair of shoes na imagine siku hizo there was no Mtush,then I bought us a B/W second hand Philips TV. Then hoofed to work the whole month! That was my 1st Budget lesson Opinion is free,truth is sacred. Opinion is free, truth is sacred.
I offerd to God in church as thanksgiving
I only remember getting the money! Can't remember what my brothers did with it after I got home!
@Wendz: Nearly all manufacturing companies give their employees (especially the factory guys) an advance which I've never understood. These guys earn 15k (upper limit) but take advance of 8k meaning at the end of the month they get about 5k (after taxes)!
Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
For me it’s not what I did with the money but how I got paid… had just joined a small audit firm,come end month all the guys were given envelopes except me… I was too scared to ask for my pay… around 3rd of the month when I was in the urinal,the partner walked in and saw me and said 'Ohh No,I have not paid you,tulisikizana ngapi??' When I told him the agreed figure he removed his wallet and paid me!! Forgive your enemies but never forget their names… The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
@ZZE
Hahahahahahahahaaaaaa!!! ati where? hehehehehehe... you dint even sign anywhere????
Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
@ zze eti you were paid inside the gents,you are not serious Precious The shifts of Fortune test the reliability of friends
@Wendz & Tamtam … yes at the gents…. and what surprised me most was that the guy could not remember what salary we had agreed on and that he could afford to pay me from his wallet…. You can now imagine how kidogo that salary was. Forgive your enemies but never forget their names… The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
I was earning 7500 in my second attacho.. (first one was free).. I have no idea where the money went.. i only remember taking this fly chic to many sartuday lunches..
Come to think of it,i cannot even remember anything apart from a bed+matress+some clothes that i bought in my 1st 8 months out of campus,despite a very well paying job then.
Market
Pennywise
Your very first pay..