wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

I got conned and I need help catching the bastards who conned me....
christian
#1 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2009 12:00:00 PM

Hi all,been away from SK for a while,but am glad to see you all still doing good.
I won't use an alias like others do here and say that: 'I have a friend who got conned of 200K. He was selling a certain electronic device. Which he had advertised in the dailies,,a certain Indian called him and was interested in the device. After negotiating the price via phone. The agreed on the price and the Indian who purports to work for a prominent company sent the office messenger with the bankers cheque written to my friend. He released the product and got the bankers cheque. Next day went to cash the bankers cheque and was told cheque is fake. Tried to call these guys but 'mteja' we can safely assume that this mhindi doesn't work for the said company. And this didn't happen to my friend it happened to me......
Guys,what do I do to get my money or the device I sold...????? Please advice. And no need for insults.... Am already down don't beat me up. I know I f@?ked up. Just help me guys please...

Why??
jaheim
#2 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2009 2:13:00 PM

Hi,
Now that you are already down you dont need beating,the problem in kenya is tackling financial crimes is a nightmare cause we dont have sound legislation neither do the police or CID have the tools to investigate them. In the future we might get there. Anyway the starting point is to try and get law enforcement to get to see if they actually engage the bank to see if they can get any details of the culprit who wrote the bankers draft/cheque. Bank may have info about him,chances are slim cause kenya yetu wheels do turn so slowly so if the police would do that actually they have the potential to get the in info from whichever financial institution then they can begin the manhunt with whatever they might find,be it an address or name or number of an associatie like his wife etc. Pole sana bwana

Jay
Dexter
#3 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2009 3:19:00 PM

Have you reported to the police. If the nuumber is tracable to a phone or the calling records can be gotten then you would be 1 step closer. Pole sana.
wangu.n
#4 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2009 4:13:00 PM

ouch!!
so sorry

You have a right to your opinion.
Allow me mine!
Djagame
#5 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2009 8:06:00 PM

Pole sana

The fastest and best way to do this is to report the case to CID at HQ Kiambu Rd,who will then head to Mobile Service Provider (fraud department) and pull up call records,from where they will get the incoming/outgoing numbers called/received while the SIM was active (giving locations of the owners at a particular time and maybe enabling arrests) and hopefully one of them will reveal the identity and whereabouts of the con man.

'If you are not living on the edge,you are taking up too much space'
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
Kamaa
#6 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2009 8:57:00 PM

like @djagame & the rest have said begin by reporting the matter to the authority and the rest will unfold.. it is so awful that somebody somewhere decided to reap where he did not sow.. but sellers/buyers need to exercise some care when dealing with goods worth that much,atleast you should have taken some details of that guy and tracing him would not pose alot of challenges..

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
LimuruBoy
#7 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 12:58:00 AM

Jamaa,lemme tell u a story that'll make u feel kidogo better. Last dec '08 when i was at home,i walked into this lawyer's office in westi,and met a very angry fathe at the door leaving. The man was crying,so nikamuuliza lawyer laterz,kwani what had happened.
He proceeded to tell us a story that had happened a few days earlier. Lawyer had been working with the fatheish man who had purchased a prime plot of land on mombasa road from a certain Mr.Oburu. The man had produced the newly issued title deed to the lawyer and the latter made copies alafu the two of them left for mombasa road - the lawyer wanted to see the plot and take some pictures.

Upon arriving there,the two of them were busy looking at the beacons and taking measurements when a panthre drove into the land at high speed and screeched his brakes shekha mehta style. He was screaming,asking them what they were doing there. He (the panthre) claimed they two men were standing on his land and he'd been alerted by an area watchi. According to the lawyer,the two of them went down in a hail of blows!! After fighting,people around gathered and advised them to go to ministry of lands to verify the true owner.

After checking out the two titles,the lands people semad ati neither of their titles was genuine. The land rightfully belonged to yet anaa guy. Lawyer told me,that his customer...the 2nd buyer,had paid one 'mr.Oburu' 7.1 million shillings....his entire payoff after selling his hao.

So bratha,ur still a young man (i think)....200K hurts i know,but u will recover from it. Unless u miraculously bump into ur panthre in tao,ndio umwitishe ur electronic gadget, just forget about it and digest it as a lesson learned. Best wishes.

'All they see is my glory...they don't know my pain. Nothing good comes easy in life.'
- Multibillionaire Nelson Muguku Njoroge
jaheim
#8 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 10:43:00 AM

@limuruboy,
Well that story is sad in deed,these cases are there in kenya. When it comes to buying land i've always been damn carefull whenever i'm in kenya i make sure get the sellers lawyer and my lawyer we go the Ministry of lands to verify he's the rightful owner and the deed is genuine. Afterwards is when we can start buisiness,Ouuch! 7.1M! thats around 70K pounds the Oburu dude must have made a kill.

Anyway we are trying to advise our brother to engage law enforcement to see if they can do something about it other than sit and watch his 200k go down the drain without putting a fight. I know it will be very hard in kenya cause of the system but its worth a try. So he just had to try and see what might come out of it as it is i know the guy is so stressed. The muhindi must have conned him his 'scilah' like what we were seing on prison break,lool! . Just try our officers and see if they will rise to the challenge

Jay
Pablo
#9 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 11:07:00 AM

Chances are the fraudsters are known. If you can give a detailed description of how the look,and any documentation the gave you,then your best chance would be Banking Fraud Unit of Central Bank.

These guys know where all forged docs come from and 90% of all conmen who use fake cheques etc. The only catch they may ask you ...'why should we help you..'

Want to be a millionaire.... plant a million cabbages and sell them at a bob...
mtaalam
#10 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 11:07:00 AM

@ Limuru boy

I think we Kenyans need to drop that fake consolation mentality of 'there is someone else doing worse'. That is how thugs in Kenya get away scot free! My friend pursue the issue by every mean necessary!

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas. Those of average intelligence talk about things. Stupid people talk about other people.
Chaka
#11 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 11:24:00 AM

What could xtian have done to avoid this?Was it to have insisted on being paid cash?How do you tell a genuine bankers cheque from a fake?
Djagame
#12 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 11:31:00 AM

@Limuruboy that mentality of yours is the reason why we have impunity in this country,people carrying out attrocities because utopians like you will let it pass - get serious

@Christian I hope you are not replying to your post because you are at Mazingira Hse (if my memory serves me right)

And which mobile provider was he using??

'If you are not living on the edge,you are taking up too much space'
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
Ken K
#13 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 11:49:00 AM

In the last two weeks,Inspekta Mwala got conned while house searching with the intention of paying rent.

That notwithstanding,

Go cops - CID,abstract etc.

Get call records. You will go right.

Go to the bank and get the cheque details. You will go right yet again.

Kick the bank officers to get the information. Double right.(they'll refuse at first).

Go put a 2 mm thick sharp pointed stick up the muindi's ass,just for satisfaction. Triple right.

Go home and wait for your gadgets.
jaheim
#14 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 11:50:00 AM

@pablo
As i pointed out earlier he has to engage law enforcement,he personally cannot get intouch with whatever that banking fraud unit is and the fact you think they will ask him why should they help him shows what mentality people have when it comes to doing what is demanded by their jobs. Law enforcement(CID,Police etc) can can use legislation (if present) to demand information from that fraud unit in kenya then they can track the people and arrest them. I really dont know how its structured in kenya but these are the basics protocol,engage law enforcement who will have the power to investigate and use the the powers or legislation to source information from the any financial institution and arrest the culprits.

Its worth trying

Jay
jaribu
#15 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 11:51:00 AM

that's a hard lesson indeed. report to the police and give as much details as possible including the conman's telephone numbers and details of 'that particular device' including serial numbers if possible.... and this is what we should learn:

1. cash to be the first option when transacting- has to be in a safe place.

2. if indeed you have to accept the banker's cheque,walk into the bank with the buyer and witness the cheque being drawn,careful it's not switched into a fake one.

3. know the buyer somehow,especially the work place just incase things go hay-wire.

4.avoid newspaper ads as they attract all sorts of crooks,thieves,liars and cheats and use seasoned brokers or trusted allies.

5. if you share the same bank,transfer of cash is easy and done within minutes.

6. if the buyer is honest and sincere,one will not object to issue a copy of ID incase paying with a cheque and a sale agreement...... and what the heck,you may even ask the buyer to pose for a photo with you!!!

bY aNy MeAns NecEsSaRy.....
adept
#16 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 11:54:00 AM

How did you know it is a 'muhindi'? Careful the guys do not throw you off track with a fake accent. May all have been part of the mind game to gain your confidence.
#17 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 11:55:00 AM

@Limuruboy.................... 200k?????? just forget about it and digest it as a lesson learned. No way!!! Hata kama wewe ni mdosi aje,jamani? How do you just loose 200k without a fight unless it came as easily? @Xtian,fight,fight,fight and loose fighting for your hard earned cash or equipment!!

In some transactions,bank deposit slip is a safer bet! that you can verify immediately using your ATM card before releasing the goods.

'Money frees you from doing things you dislike. Since I dislike doing nearly everything,money is handy.' ~ Groucho Marx.............
Mtu Biz
#18 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 12:22:00 PM

@ christian.

Please listen to limuru boy. Im talking from experience,(negative 500k),it is much cheaper to dust yourself and start working your way out of the mess than try and chase the con.

..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
Sola Scriptura

Mr.Tea
#19 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 12:27:00 PM

@ Christian,
With conmen,you can only beat them before their end game(Ask the victims of ponzis,Ben Madoff et al)Otherwise it becomes an expensive exercise whose end is usually out of sight. I'm a firm believer though,that a man is the best judge of his own situation.Decide therefore,if you want to throw good money after bad,how much of it and for how long. Good luck mate.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
LimuruBoy
#20 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2009 12:29:00 PM

@Wendz,ata si ati ni udosi. Like i said,200K is alot of money. I'd be pissed off as hell too. But my point is,what are the chances of the cops nabbing this muhindi? Lets be real....tuwache kupatia this victim high hopes 4 nothing. You'll probably have to even bribe the cops to get any anyone to get off their behinds and start working on ur case.

The mental anguish,psycological stresses of looking for a muhindi who u don't even jua the guys last name,id #,his hao,his jobo.....U know nothing !! You'll be waking up everyday wondering if cops have patad him....alafu even if they pata the dude,he too will try to hongana to buy his way out. My God!! The mental anguish all this will put u thru... is it worth it to u and ur family??!?? I don't think so!

'All they see is my glory...they don't know my pain. Nothing good comes easy in life.'
- Multibillionaire Nelson Muguku Njoroge