Investor
Stocks
BAT 2020 and beyond
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,684 Location: NAIROBI
Half year results are out. Interim dividend @ksh.3.50 per share Profit after tax at sh.2.679bn compared to sh.2.528bn in 2019 https://mobile.twitter.c...3408582361456641/photo/1Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Wachana ha hii share pris . The say they leave Kenya ama NSE, am doomed coz am a chair smoker In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Member Joined: 11/21/2018 Posts: 564 Location: Britain
Angelica _ann wrote:Wachana ha hii share pris . The say they leave Kenya ama NSE, am doomed coz am a chair smoker What do you mean by leaving?
Rank: Member Joined: 12/1/2007 Posts: 539 Location: Nakuru
Queen wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Wachana ha hii share pris . The say they leave Kenya ama NSE, am doomed coz am a chair smoker What do you mean by leaving? Haha CHAIR... nice one For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
winmak wrote:Queen wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Wachana ha hii share pris . The say they leave Kenya ama NSE, am doomed coz am a chair smoker What do you mean by leaving? Haha CHAIR... nice one This is a mzungu controlled company that can wake up one day and decide that they are leaving Kenya, Africa, de-list and minority shareholders has no say. So let us enjoy while it lasts. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,098 Location: Nairobi
Angelica _ann wrote:winmak wrote:Queen wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Wachana ha hii share pris . The say they leave Kenya ama NSE, am doomed coz am a chair smoker What do you mean by leaving? Haha CHAIR... nice one This is a mzungu controlled company that can wake up one day and decide that they are leaving Kenya, Africa, de-list and minority shareholders has no say. So let us enjoy while it lasts. That pays a sweet dividend and doesn't have the drama of local firms. I like such firms over cons like HAFR and Tranny. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Angelica _ann wrote:winmak wrote:Queen wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Wachana ha hii share pris . The say they leave Kenya ama NSE, am doomed coz am a chair smoker What do you mean by leaving? Haha CHAIR... nice one This is a mzungu controlled company that can wake up one day and decide that they are leaving Kenya, Africa, de-list and minority shareholders has no say. So let us enjoy while it lasts. BAT Kenya was founded in 1907 and has been listed for 51 years since 1969. The company may be controlled from Europe but it is has been around for longer than all of us. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/10/2014 Posts: 969 Location: Kenya
[quote=Ericsson]Half year results are out. Interim dividend @ksh.3.50 per share Profit after tax at sh.2.679bn compared to sh.2.528bn in 2019 https://mobile.twitter.c...408582361456641/photo/1[/quote] I see this as a good result despite it being the peak of covid fear and all the border challenges. Things should be going up from now...I can park some money here till I see how bad the banks are burnt.
Blow for BAT as Health CS Kagwe declares Lyft illegalQuote:Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe has declared the registration of nicotine pouches, including BAT's popular product Lyft, illegal and wants them deregistered.
The ban follows intense lobbying by parents and anti-tobacco groups to have the Ministry of Health ban Lyft.
The Kenya Tobacco Control Alliance (Ketca) had raised concerns that Lyft is easily accessible and being abused by minors.
"A product that is highly addictive, which poses health risks, should not be sold freely. We want the nicotine product heavily taxed and regulated, just as we handle other tobacco products," said Ketca chairman Joel Gitali.
BAT announced early this year that it would build a Sh2.5 billion factory in Nairobi to produce the nicotine pouches.
However, BAT Kenya Head of Corporate Affairs Caroline Mavuti has indicated in a recent interview with Nation that Lyft is a tobacco-free modern oral nicotine pouch.
“It is made from high-quality ingredients, including pharmaceutical grade nicotine, water, eucalyptus and pine tree fibres, flavouring and sweeteners,” said Ms Mavuti.
kmucheke wrote:Blow for BAT as Health CS Kagwe declares Lyft illegalQuote:Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe has declared the registration of nicotine pouches, including BAT's popular product Lyft, illegal and wants them deregistered.
The ban follows intense lobbying by parents and anti-tobacco groups to have the Ministry of Health ban Lyft.
The Kenya Tobacco Control Alliance (Ketca) had raised concerns that Lyft is easily accessible and being abused by minors.
"A product that is highly addictive, which poses health risks, should not be sold freely. We want the nicotine product heavily taxed and regulated, just as we handle other tobacco products," said Ketca chairman Joel Gitali.
BAT announced early this year that it would build a Sh2.5 billion factory in Nairobi to produce the nicotine pouches.
However, BAT Kenya Head of Corporate Affairs Caroline Mavuti has indicated in a recent interview with Nation that Lyft is a tobacco-free modern oral nicotine pouch.
“It is made from high-quality ingredients, including pharmaceutical grade nicotine, water, eucalyptus and pine tree fibres, flavouring and sweeteners,” said Ms Mavuti. The tobacco lobby is very strong $$$ Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,098 Location: Nairobi
https://www.businessdail...icotine-pouches-2719520 BAT sees a future through the smoke on nicotine pouches Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/bd/corporate/companies/bat-sees-a-future-through-the-smoke-on-nicotine-pouches-2719520 BAT sees a future through the smoke on nicotine pouches
It will be interesting to see how the will ward off the resistance from the Ministry of Health and the anti-tobacco lobby groups.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/6/2018 Posts: 175 Location: Kinshasa
MD resignation https://mobile.twitter.c...5821155073187840/photo/1If it don't make dollars, it don't make sense
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,684 Location: NAIROBI
Final dividend ksh.41.5 per share. Total dividend for FY2020 ksh.45 per share Book closure 16 April 2021 https://mobile.twitter.c...399105373380608/photo/1
https://pbs.twimg.com/me...ormat=jpg&name=smallWealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
[quote=Ericsson]Final dividend ksh.41.5 per share. Total dividend for FY2020 ksh.45 per share Book closure 16 April 2021 https://mobile.twitter.c...399105373380608/photo/1
https://pbs.twimg.com/me...rmat=jpg&name=small[/quote] Before tax DY at 10.6% based on my Average price of KShs 425. No regrets at all. Wapi mjamaa wa "NSE is a Casino, sell now!" Life is short. Live passionately.
[quote=Ericsson]Final dividend ksh.41.5 per share. Total dividend for FY2020 ksh.45 per share Book closure 16 April 2021 https://mobile.twitter.c...399105373380608/photo/1
https://pbs.twimg.com/me...rmat=jpg&name=small[/quote] In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/4/2016 Posts: 1,997 Location: Kitale
Huyo jamaa ni mtu wa sportpesa.Akae huko kabisa.NSE is not gambling. Towards the goal of financial freedom
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/4/2019 Posts: 69 Location: Nairobi
I think I need to quit smoking, and buy BAT shares instead.
Thanks to @CNN whose comments drew my interest to this share in 2010. Tumemumunya dividends hapa which has repaid the initial purchase price of the shares. Keep smoking In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:Thanks to @CNN whose comments drew my interest to this share in 2010. Tumemumunya dividends hapa which has repaid the initial purchase price of the shares. Keep smoking Wow! You are living my dream :) And to think that when it recently fell to Ksh 300, I thought about wading in then grew cold feet.
Investor
Stocks
BAT 2020 and beyond