KulaRaha wrote:There was a time when Kenya was ranked higher than Bangladesh, and then came corruption and destroyed everything.
True Kenya was at one point ranked higher than Bangladesh but i doubt if corruption is the main reason that "truly" killed the game.(Remember that George Owino - wise of Mathare United was found guilty of match fixing but football in KE is still flourishing).
To me it is all about catchment. Kenya is no longer identifying and building cricket talent.
Currently,as we speak, there is no competitive cricket league in Kenya. Also, kids don't play cricket anymore in their formative years. With our collective greed as a nation there is not even enough space for kids to play bano anymore in schools, residential areas etc. Sport cannot grow without playing spaces in residential areas, schools and even worship areas such as churches and Mosques. In Bangladesh, India, Jamaica, Trinidad, Sri Lanka etc cricket is played everywhere. I once visited Bangladesh and was amazed to see kids(boys and girls) playing cricket everywhere with makeshift bats, wickets, balls etc. Just like we used to make footballs out of juala and makeshift goalposts made of stones and sticks back in the day and play everywhere and anywhere even on our way to school, parking lots, corridors etc
Sasa mnataka tufanye nini jameni
Stop the corruption of building schools on 1/8 acre plots and charging parents an arm and a leg for school fees. Stop the madness of filling-up every open space with ugly storied buildings...etc
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money