Sonko bans PSVs from Nairobi CBD
Life is a beach and I'm just playing in the sand
Watching closely ...... tren tren tren!!!!!!!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
How to worsen Traffic: 1. Reduce parking fees 2. Ban ma3s from cbd This will lead to lots of guys driving because of convenience. Why should a commuter from Jogoo rd alight at Muthurwa and have to walk to Fig Tree to take a mat to Westi??
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/28/2008 Posts: 2,276 Location: Kibish
Imagining someone who resides along Thika road and works at upper hill. Nadondosha meli kubwa seuze ngalawa!
He could just have banned packing empty and waiting matatus in town they make the majority,it should be drop and go or drop and pick, each route should not have more than 3 waiting vehicles,but hii pia sawa let's walk To Each His Own
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
My understanding is that he has banned the 14 and 33 seater matatus. I think big buses will be allowed into the cbd
You can't have a terminus in the CBD. The bus stops in the CBD are only for picking and dropping passengers and not packing there the whole day. You pack your matatu at the designated terminus then wait for the stage manager to call you up to pick your passengers. KBS, Double M, city hoppa have been doing this very well.
Bad move. He should have done the opposite. Ban private cars 🚗. work to prosper
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
The same Sonko who filed a case at the High Court the last time Matatus were banned from CBD... The same Sonko who owns dozens of Nganyas plying eastlands routes. .. Let's wait and see Life is short. Live passionately.
wukan wrote:You can't have a terminus in the CBD. The bus stops in the CBD are only for picking and dropping passengers and not packing there the whole day. You pack your matatu at the designated terminus then wait for the stage manager to call you up to pick your passengers. KBS, Double M, city hoppa have been doing this very well. he has employed the same stage managers with the saccos to make it work
penkon wrote:wukan wrote:You can't have a terminus in the CBD. The bus stops in the CBD are only for picking and dropping passengers and not packing there the whole day. You pack your matatu at the designated terminus then wait for the stage manager to call you up to pick your passengers. KBS, Double M, city hoppa have been doing this very well. he has employed the same stage managers with the saccos to make it work I saw Sonko's live video on his fb page. He says this is a pilot project at this stage matatus will still be allowed in the CBD. He had a good grasp of the issues the matatu reps were raising like the insecurity at Muthurwa after 7pm, the inadequate space at the proposed termini. He was really firm on the need for orderly public transport business. Very impressed in the way he handled those guys. Overall the plan will fail because it was designed by bureaucrats who used public transport decades back. They should have started with moving the long distance matatus from Accra road to the Ngara/Desai termini. Convert Accra road into a drop off point like the one at Agip (Haile Selassie). Have KBS, city hoppa operate from Fig tree and Ngara such that you take your no. 7C, 46, 4W at those points instead of concentrating all of them at the Kencom bus stop. Lastly Sonko should push that Nigerian contractor RCC to get started on the Acrra road-Ngara road extension. That will push traffic away from the globe roundabout. Sonko promised to lower parking fees for private cars which is an incentive for those of us who voluntarily opt for public transport to bring our jalopies back to CBD. Expect traffic nightmare from Wednesday
Its funny how nobody looks at anything objectively nowadays.
The gazette notice was published in May. It had nothing to do with Sonko.
I am sure the equivalent of a cabinet paper was presented to the county CECs and got approval.
Now Sonko's supporters are praising him as a genius. His haters are gleefully saying "we told you so".
For now it would be interesting to know whether Sonko has read the policy paper that informed the decision.
But wait, can he read ????????????????
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
wukan wrote:penkon wrote:wukan wrote:You can't have a terminus in the CBD. The bus stops in the CBD are only for picking and dropping passengers and not packing there the whole day. You pack your matatu at the designated terminus then wait for the stage manager to call you up to pick your passengers. KBS, Double M, city hoppa have been doing this very well. he has employed the same stage managers with the saccos to make it work I saw Sonko's live video on his fb page. He says this is a pilot project at this stage matatus will still be allowed in the CBD. He had a good grasp of the issues the matatu reps were raising like the insecurity at Muthurwa after 7pm, the inadequate space at the proposed termini. He was really firm on the need for orderly public transport business. Very impressed in the way he handled those guys. Overall the plan will fail because it was designed by bureaucrats who used public transport decades back. They should have started with moving the long distance matatus from Accra road to the Ngara/Desai termini. Convert Accra road into a drop off point like the one at Agip (Haile Selassie). Have KBS, city hoppa operate from Fig tree and Ngara such that you take your no. 7C, 46, 4W at those points instead of concentrating all of them at the Kencom bus stop. Lastly Sonko should push that Nigerian contractor RCC to get started on the Acrra road-Ngara road extension. That will push traffic away from the globe roundabout. Sonko promised to lower parking fees for private cars which is an incentive for those of us who voluntarily opt for public transport to bring our jalopies back to CBD. Expect traffic nightmare from Wednesday I have 0% confidence in Sonko to sort out Nairobi Problems Life is short. Live passionately.
Sonko has done a lot of showbiz so far, let's see if he has the brain power to sort this complex issue. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Tokyo wrote: Bad move. He should have done the opposite. Ban private cars 🚗. Exactly. Private cars are the problem. One private saloon car carrying one person occupies the same road space like a nissan matatu carrying 14 people. Therefore to ease traffic jams the best option is to go for an efficient way of moving people, and that is by encouraging matatus/buses in the CBD, not banning them. It is private cars that should be banned from the CBD. The graphic below shows what it takes to transport the same number people by bus vs private cars.
I saw an interesting look at this ban, will it inspire the matatus to start services from say Ngara to donholm, Ngara to Upperhill, Railways to westlands etc, is TLB still in control of matatu routes? To Each His Own
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Only one thing to do: wait and see how it pans out.
Anti_Burglar wrote:Only one thing to do: wait and see how it pans out. Sonko on his fb page has asked for ideas to manage the traffic and getting orderly public transport. His team also reads through wazua so don't just wait to see how it pans out. Share your ideas.
hardwood wrote:Tokyo wrote: Bad move. He should have done the opposite. Ban private cars 🚗. Exactly. Private cars are the problem. One private saloon car carrying one person occupies the same road space like a nissan matatu carrying 14 people. Therefore to ease traffic jams the best option is to go for an efficient way of moving people, and that is by encouraging matatus/buses in the CBD, not banning them. It is private cars that should be banned from the CBD. The graphic below shows what it takes to transport the same number people by bus vs private cars. We may start helping him by bombarding his timeline with such graphics. The message will be home in an instance. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Sonko bans PSVs from Nairobi CBD