wazua Wed, Dec 31, 2025

Punda amechoka- Kenya spending Kshs 55M per MP
heri
#1 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 10:03:36 AM

IN SUMMARY
Constitution audit team led by Auditor-General Edward Ouko said the allowances earned by MPs and other State officers mostly exceed the basic pay and should be capped at 40 per cent to ease pressure on the wage bill.
This would see MP's total monthly take-home drop below Sh1 million from the current over Sh1.5 million.
The team also said that Kenya needs 290 MPs and not 416 in line with the global citizen’s representation quotas.

Mr Ouko’s team said that in the year ending June 2015, the country was spending on average Sh55 million per member, adding that the cost of running Kenya’s Parliament is nearly four times the global average.

http://www.businessdaily...15964-8vrmt1/index.html
#2 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 10:13:29 AM

heri wrote:
IN SUMMARY
Constitution audit team led by Auditor-General Edward Ouko said the allowances earned by MPs and other State officers mostly exceed the basic pay and should be capped at 40 per cent to ease pressure on the wage bill.
This would see MP's total monthly take-home drop below Sh1 million from the current over Sh1.5 million.
The team also said that Kenya needs 290 MPs and not 416 in line with the global citizen’s representation quotas.

Mr Ouko’s team said that in the year ending June 2015, the country was spending on average Sh55 million per member, adding that the cost of running Kenya’s Parliament is nearly four times the global average.

In case you forgot, I voted NO for the activism Katiba in 2010.

#3 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 10:21:45 AM

Mpigs to debate in parliament on how to reduce their remunerations and numbers?. I think i am drunk!
#4 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 10:23:38 AM

Mpigs to debate in parliament on how to reduce their remunerations and numbers?. I think i am drunk!

In Kenya Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
heri
#5 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 10:42:06 AM

heri wrote:
IN SUMMARY

if only there was even a tiny tiny return from these investments in salaries

instead what do we get?

anyway maybe in 20-30 years the electorate will stop being bewitched
Wamunyota
#6 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 10:44:08 AM

In Kenya Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly This is hogwash.Wakenya hawajachoka.These are the demonstrations we should be having.
Hutia Mundu!!
#7 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 11:13:12 AM

The auditor General has done some great work, but will the politicians listen?
Wamunyota
#8 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 11:42:30 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Politicians Do not give a f**k.Will kenyans listen?
Hutia Mundu!!
Nandwa
#9 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 11:44:49 AM

heri wrote:
IN SUMMARY

In regard to politicians 'working' for us, Kenyans are over-represented over and above global quotas!
As for Doctors, Police etc Kenya is well under the global quotas.

In the meantime Doctors, Police and other such Govt employees are paid less than 5% of what an MP earns!

Peculiar Country!
Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
#10 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 11:53:03 AM

I have always held that Kenya does not require all those Mpigs. How about having a lower house which has the same number as the upper house and do away with nominated Mpigs?
#11 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 1:10:03 PM

I also don't understand the concept of sitting allowances as its so widely practiced in the public sector.

My work involves many meetings including some outside the office, meeting many people etc. I don't ask my employer to pay me a sitting allowance, all those meetings are part of my JD.

Our non exec board members however do get a sitting allownace coz they are not on salary but their eetings are restricted to 4 per year.

Why then is it that in the public sector, everybody is paid a sitting allowance for manner of things that they are expected to do as part of their JD and even for mundane things like to visit the toilet.

Further, Does the president get a sitting allowance when he is meeting other presidents or attending some international function. Why is it then that an MP gets a sitting allowance for attending a committee meeting which is part and parcel of their JD.

We need to really figure out a way to force change in our public institutions.

PUNDA AMECHOKA
thuks
#12 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 1:21:22 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
I also don't understand the concept of sitting allowances as its so widely practiced in the public sector.

My work involves many meetings including some outside the office, meeting many people etc. I don't ask my employer to pay me a sitting allowance, all those meetings are part of my JD.

Our non exec board members however do get a sitting allownace coz they are not on salary but their eetings are restricted to 4 per year.

Why then is it that in the public sector, everybody is paid a sitting allowance for manner of things that they are expected to do as part of their JD and even for mundane things like to visit the toilet.

Further, Does the president get a sitting allowance when he is meeting other presidents or attending some international function. Why is it then that an MP gets a sitting allowance for attending a committee meeting which is part and parcel of their JD.

PUNDA AMECHOKA

Only elected leaders get sitting allowance, not the holloi polloi of public sector
I care!
#13 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 2:10:13 PM

thuks wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

PUNDA AMECHOKA

Only elected leaders get sitting allowance, not the holloi polloi of public sector

Why are these elected leaders getting sitting allowances

Secondly, they will not call it sitting allowance but everyone in public sector is always getting one form of allowance or another starting with the drivers all the way to the top of whichever organization they are in.
Alba
#14 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2016 8:24:27 PM

Wamunyota wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Nope
There are many even on wazua who think spending this much money on MPs is appropriate.

Aside from too many MPs, I don't understand why Kenya needs senators. What do they accomplish?
marko
#15 Posted : Saturday, October 15, 2016 7:36:02 PM

Alba wrote:
Wamunyota wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Nope
There are many even on wazua who think spending this much money on MPs is appropriate.

Aside from too many MPs, I don't understand why Kenya needs senators. What do they accomplish?

Those people are either mpigs or aspiring mpigs.
WHO DARES WINS
#16 Posted : Saturday, October 15, 2016 8:25:19 PM

Mungai Kihanya had a good suggestion : To reduce MPs while dealing with gender rule, scrap senate, have natl assembly be based on current counties. Each county votes 2 people: 1 man 1 woman. That deals with both problems at national level.

At county level, reduce the wards to the current constituency numbers. Eg Nairobi will have just 17wards. Vote as above
#17 Posted : Saturday, October 15, 2016 8:32:16 PM

My only issue with MuKihanya's suggestion is that it disadvantages populous counties like Nairobi, Kiambu,Kakamega..

Each county will have an equal share of votes. Very undemocratic when crucial decisions are made by parliament

This can be mitigated by allocating votes per county. So Nairobi would have 17 votes while Lamu just 2
#18 Posted : Saturday, October 15, 2016 9:43:13 PM

Katiba YES!! hii kitu ni kama mdomo ya nyoka!! hakuna reverse gear! Who do you expect to lead this discussion? MPs? Who?
Iganamagana
#19 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2016 10:41:33 AM

Mungai Kihanya had a good suggestion : To reduce MPs while dealing with gender rule, scrap senate, have natl assembly be based on current counties. Each county votes 2 people: 1 man 1 woman. That deals with both problems at national level.

At county level, reduce the wards to the current constituency numbers. Eg Nairobi will have just 17wards. Vote as above

Problem solved. Make it a referendum issue for August 2017 elections. Implement August 2022 elections.
Iganamagana
#20 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2016 10:44:33 AM

My only issue with MuKihanya's suggestion is that it disadvantages populous counties like Nairobi, Kiambu,Kakamega..

Each county will have an equal share of votes. Very undemocratic when crucial decisions are made by parliament

This can be mitigated by allocating votes per county. So Nairobi would have 17 votes while Lamu just 2

Then re-draw the County boundaries but ensure they do not exceed the current 47. We should reduce them to below 40.