Quote:nimetafakari hayo... even Musikari Kombo clinched the national schools title with 10.4 but that does not imply that the current crop of people we have will do that. in Kenya the process of selecting sprinters is not as polished as that of selecting long distance runners. we need a process in place that works for these distances and yes - a woman of west african descent can beat us - let's not feel entitled to stuff just because we are 'men'. Kenya's expectation of good results from sprinters is synonymous with expect kuvuna pale haukupanda! then now you are busy saying that the katumani of your neighbour is doing better than the field you never planted crops in. let's not feel entitled to stuff we have not earned - hii sio accident!
@Masukuma
If the current crop of sprinters is only capable of running as slow as 10.85 then they should not go to the Commonwealths. You may as well send joyriders. The money used to pay for their allowances, tickets and accommodation would be better spent on identifying talents at school level and grooming them for the 2018 Commonwealth games.
This is not about entitlement. It is about investing money, time and effort intelligently. If an athlete has reached late 20s and has never run faster than 10.80 then it is time to start spending that money on the next generation . There are school vijanas out there capable of replicating the exploits of the Gikonyo and Ondiek generation. Kenya is a broke country. Its meagre resources should be spent wisely.
Hiyo mambo ya kupanda na kuvuna still does not explain running 10.85. Kwani how much support did that Muhindi Seraphino Antao have when he won gold medals ? And how much did kina Musinde have when he clocked 10.26 ?
And yes whichever way you slice it, sending people to run as fast as that Naija woman is not acceptable. Again that entitlement stuff makes no sense. Its about standards. An athlete has to meet certain standards to qualify for financial support. Britain has a lottery system to support athletes. But they have to meet certain standards first. That is intelligent. Kenya needs to support sprinters. But it must be done properly.
BTW Musikari's 10.4 is may be fake. Hand timing is notoriously unreliable.