Digital-database-for-all-kenyans GoK to register afresh
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 6:53:21 AM

This I support but some mboys will not see beyond kutendasmile
IEBC and 2017 tryanny seen it on twirra tayari

C&P

The Government will register all Kenyans afresh in a new national digital database.

The registration aims at addressing security issues as well as assist in national planning.

It will also assist the government in identifying persons with forged or fake identification documents.

The database will contain biometric details of all persons, land, establishments and assets.

The Ministries of Information, Communication and Technology and Interior and Coordination of National Government will spearhead the registration.

Deputy President William Ruto has said that there were gaps in the different registers currently being held by the government.

“In order to address the prevailing security challenges, we intend to consolidate all current registers of persons into a single national register with accurate and relevant information,” Mr Ruto said.

MISSING LINKS

He said there were missing links in birth registration, Personal Identification Number, Public Service Commission, National Social Security Fund and National Hospital Insurance Fund registers and voter registration, among others.

He spoke when he met commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to seek their input on how best the government could register all Kenyans.

He said the government decided to consult the IEBC because it has the technical expertise on registration matters since it used biometric voter listing in the run-up to the 2013 General Elections.

The Commission chairman Issack Hassan welcome d the proposed registration saying it is an important undertaking that will make the work of IEBC easier and also help to cut costs.

“With an accurate and credible database an electoral commission will not need to conduct a parallel voter registration as it can draw information from the national database,” Mr Hassan said.

The IEBC chairman said digital registration was the practice in developed democracies.

GUIDE IN PLANNING

ICT Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i said the new register will guide the government in planning as well as help the IEBC in planning future elections since there will be readily available information.

“This is your know-your-citizen-campaign that will help us develop a reliable master database that will assist in national planning and security,” Mr Matiang’i said.

Interior Cabinet Secretary Joseph ole Lenku said registration of persons was an important component in tackling security challenges.

“We must know who is a Kenyan and who is not. We can only do this from a credible digital database,” Mr Lenku said.

A technical team from the two ministries is working out modalities of rolling out the registration programme.

It is anticipated the registration will take a period of up to six months once the government puts the required infrastructure in place.

/url]
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 7:48:02 AM

@siringi. This is not a njumbiree project. It was conceptualized and implemented by the NARC garment, is already in place, and named IPRS (Integrated Population Registration System). It is based at Nyayo House, where the servers are.

There are organizations like Tangaza money that already use it to verify population details.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 8:03:10 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
@siringi. This is not a njumbiree project. It was conceptualized and implemented by the NARC garment, is already in place, and named IPRS (Integrated Population Registration System). It is based at Nyayo House, where the servers are.

There are organizations like Tangaza money that already use it to verify population details.

Boss, this has to be done again afresh, kwani hauelewi?
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 10:11:19 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Boss, this has to be done again afresh, kwani hauelewi?

Na Kutenda... nayo watch this space
ION i was honestly surprised with the amount of data that GoK has on tax payers. Once you log in to KRA system you discover kumbe sirkal in mikono mirefu they even know your mothers maiden namesmile

The linkage between PIN, ID NO, Passport NSSF NHIF Drivers license et in a digital smart card is long overdue.

There are some gaarment office you cannot be serviced by presenting your passportSad they dont recognize it as a form of identification !

Hiyo mambo ya property tu ndio chiidaShame on you
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 10:54:01 AM

White Elephant kama kawaida... We first want the Westgate COI??
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 11:19:17 AM

The smart identity document project was first mooted in 2005 but failed in the tendering stage for over three times under the previous government.

Under the Jubilee Manifesto, the government proposed to establish a universal single registration system activated at birth which will streamline birth registration, National ID registration, voter registration, NHIF, NSSF, and any other tax or commercial related registration.

The document will also facilitate regional trade where East African countries are implementing E-visa, E-identity and E-border management systems as well as collection of all types of taxes including property taxes.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 11:19:38 AM

Siringi wrote:

C&P

The Government will register all Kenyans afresh in a new national digital database.

The registration aims at addressing security issues as well as assist in national planning.

It will also assist the government in identifying persons with forged or fake identification documents.

The database will contain biometric details of all persons, land, establishments and assets.

The Ministries of Information, Communication and Technology and Interior and Coordination of National Government will spearhead the registration.

Deputy President William Ruto has said that there were gaps in the different registers currently being held by the government.

“In order to address the prevailing security challenges, we intend to consolidate all current registers of persons into a single national register with accurate and relevant information,” Mr Ruto said.

MISSING LINKS

He said there were missing links in birth registration, Personal Identification Number, Public Service Commission, National Social Security Fund and National Hospital Insurance Fund registers and voter registration, among others.

He spoke when he met commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to seek their input on how best the government could register all Kenyans.

He said the government decided to consult the IEBC because it has the technical expertise on registration matters since it used biometric voter listing in the run-up to the 2013 General Elections.

The Commission chairman Issack Hassan welcome d the proposed registration saying it is an important undertaking that will make the work of IEBC easier and also help to cut costs.

“With an accurate and credible database an electoral commission will not need to conduct a parallel voter registration as it can draw information from the national database,” Mr Hassan said.

The IEBC chairman said digital registration was the practice in developed democracies.

GUIDE IN PLANNING

ICT Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i said the new register will guide the government in planning as well as help the IEBC in planning future elections since there will be readily available information.

“This is your know-your-citizen-campaign that will help us develop a reliable master database that will assist in national planning and security,” Mr Matiang’i said.

Interior Cabinet Secretary Joseph ole Lenku said registration of persons was an important component in tackling security challenges.

“We must know who is a Kenyan and who is not. We can only do this from a credible digital database,” Mr Lenku said.

A technical team from the two ministries is working out modalities of rolling out the registration programme.

It is anticipated the registration will take a period of up to six months once the government puts the required infrastructure in place.

/url]

This is long overdue I hope we will be able to use our national ID's as voter's card, NSSF,NHIF,university admission number etc instead of havng so many IDs and cards in your wallet
#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 11:25:39 AM

Siringi wrote:

C&P

MISSING LINKS

GUIDE IN PLANNING

/url]

This is long overdue I hope we will be able to use our national ID's as voter's card, NSSF,NHIF,university admission number etc instead of havng so many IDs and cards in your wallet

no such thing exists in kenya!
#9 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 11:32:53 AM

@ siringi, why >>>>> Hiyo mambo ya property tu ndio chiida

Anyway this is Kenya, yet another eating avenue like the laptops that disappeared in MH370!
streetwise
#10 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 11:39:30 AM

Only issue I see here the govt wants to list all that you own. I am not sure how many people are comfortable with this...you may even guess why