wazua Thu, Nov 14, 2024

Solar power
urstill1
#1 Posted : Monday, September 23, 2013 7:18:26 PM

Is it possible to power home purely on green(solar) energy? Consider a 5-beroomed house with all the electrical appliances that befits a 5-bedroomed house.
Penny-Stocker
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 2:04:20 AM

urstill1 wrote:
Is it possible to power home purely on green(solar) energy? Consider a 5-beroomed house with all the electrical appliances that befits a 5-bedroomed house.

Yes, it's being done as we speak. One thing to keep in mind, the initial investment is capital heavy. (the solar panels, battery, inverters e.t.c. If you have the quids, it's a smart move. One thing that you have to consider first and foremost your daily/monthly/annual energy consumption. The size of your house doesn't really matter that much, unless you'll be running AC and heat. You can quickly do this by adding up all your electrical appliances and electronics energy requirement. Or, by looking at your monthly electrical bill to figure out how much kWs (kilowatts) you are consuming. One thing I wish was happening is to allow us, the mwananchi to sell the power that we generate from solar panels back to KPLC. Good luck!
“None but ourselves can free our minds.”
- Bob Marley
urstill1
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 7:42:38 AM

Penny-Stocker wrote:
urstill1 wrote:

Yes, it's being done as we speak. One thing to keep in mind, the initial investment is capital heavy. (the solar panels, battery, inverters e.t.c. If you have the quids, it's a smart move. One thing that you have to consider first and foremost your daily/monthly/annual energy consumption. The size of your house doesn't really matter that much, unless you'll be running AC and heat. You can quickly do this by adding up all your electrical appliances and electronics energy requirement. Or, by looking at your monthly electrical bill to figure out how much kWs (kilowatts) you are consuming. One thing I wish was happening is to allow us, the mwananchi to sell the power that we generate from solar panels back to KPLC. Good luck!

I pray for the net-metering thing to be introduced. Hiyo ingine ni total rip-off!
XSK
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 8:37:08 AM

Penny-Stocker wrote:
urstill1 wrote:

@penny stocker

Thats the only part i dont agree with. Solar power is very limiting. In order to generate enough energy to power all the usual electrical appliance e.g iron boxes, fridge - you will need a massive battery bank. You should also remember that the sun is for some days not available. Your battery bank needs to be atleast 3 times bigger than your daily needs. This is referred to as autonomy to allow you to enjoy the service for a few days when the sun does not charge you bank. Solar should be considered as a complement to the AC mains.

FYI when you calculate the KWh cost for solar and compare with hydro and other sources, Solar is still more expensive in terms of production costs. This is from some projects i have carried out for schools and children's homes in Lodwar and the neighbouring areas.

You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
subzero
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 8:38:27 AM

it's easy to power TV, home theater, laptops from solar, etc

the challenging appliance is the refrigerator,
majimaji
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 8:45:04 AM

Visit chloride exide on enterprise rd for a quote if in nairobi. They gave me one of 250k for a similar hse. With a kenya power bill of at least 5k per month, you are home and dry after 50months.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 8:54:47 AM

majimaji wrote:

Visit chloride exide on enterprise rd for a quote if in nairobi. They gave me one of 250k for a similar hse. With a kenya power bill of at least 5k per month, you are home and dry after 50months.

you need to factor future value. ..250 today isn't the same 50 months later...go for hybrid system
Outvestor
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 2:53:53 PM

http://wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=17641
¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 5:23:25 PM

majimaji wrote:

By the 50th Month you would have changed the battery packs at least once...and a few inverters would have chpapad/blown up.

ION: I think its things like iron boxes and hairdryers plust instant water heaters that cant be run effectively by a solar power; but fridge iko sawa since the wattage is low although it will be running the longest! (will consume more but in small quantities)
My cents!

urstill1
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 5:52:03 PM

XSK wrote:
Penny-Stocker wrote:
urstill1 wrote:

@penny stocker

Thats the only part i dont agree with. Solar power is very limiting. In order to generate enough energy to power all the usual electrical appliance e.g iron boxes, fridge - you will need a massive battery bank. You should also remember that the sun is for some days not available. Your battery bank needs to be atleast 3 times bigger than your daily needs. This is referred to as autonomy to allow you to enjoy the service for a few days when the sun does not charge you bank. Solar should be considered as a complement to the AC mains.

FYI when you calculate the KWh cost for solar and compare with hydro and other sources, Solar is still more expensive in terms of production costs. This is from some projects i have carried out for schools and children's homes in Lodwar and the neighbouring areas.

In Kenya not North America bro!
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 6:05:34 PM

@Urstill1,

You might consider this.I know of someone who installed it 2 years back and he showed KP the middle finger.

http://access-collective.com/energy/wind-turbine/
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 7:04:17 PM

XSK wrote:
Penny-Stocker wrote:
urstill1 wrote:

@penny stocker

Applause Applause Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
urstill1
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 7:05:43 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
XSK wrote:
Penny-Stocker wrote:
urstill1 wrote:

@penny stocker

Applause Applause Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

I'm looking at it from a different angle: Reliability
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 7:12:58 PM

@ XSK

Your statement

FYI when you calculate the KWh cost for solar and compare with hydro and other sources, Solar is still more expensive in terms of production costs.

is fallacious misleading and incorrect...
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 7:32:56 PM

@ Urstill1

You cannot be helped unless you get some numbers coming your way...

Yes, it is possible to install a PV system which is capable of powering all your needs in that 5 bedroomed house including refrigerators, iron boxes, electric kettles, TV, and water pumps and any other domestic appliance.

To start with the residential houses electrical requirements differ from one developer to the next depending on taste...for example there are those five bedroomed houses in Runda which the owners have installed A/Cs in each and every bedroom including sitting room and apart from that they have instantaneous water heaters to each and every bathroom in each of the bedroom and there is also a hot water cylinder (geyser) as a back up and a separate undersink water heater in the kitchen..

A similar dwelling in Kahawa Sukari do not have the A/C (or probably has one in the sitting room), no geyser etc etc...

So you have to be specific on the appliances that you would wish to have in your house and that is where we start...

urstill1
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2013 10:33:18 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
@ Urstill1

You cannot be helped unless you get some numbers coming your way...

Yes, it is possible to install a PV system which is capable of powering all your needs in that 5 bedroomed house including refrigerators, iron boxes, electric kettles, TV, and water pumps and any other domestic appliance.

To start with the residential houses electrical requirements differ from one developer to the next depending on taste...for example there are those five bedroomed houses in Runda which the owners have installed A/Cs in each and every bedroom including sitting room and apart from that they have instantaneous water heaters to each and every bathroom in each of the bedroom and there is also a hot water cylinder (geyser) as a back up and a separate undersink water heater in the kitchen..

A similar dwelling in Kahawa Sukari do not have the A/C (or probably has one in the sitting room), no geyser etc etc...

So you have to be specific on the appliances that you would wish to have in your house and that is where we start...

Naongea juu ya hiyo ya Runda lakini toa AC
#17 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2013 11:02:01 AM

@urstill1

Is the house existing or you are planning to build one??

In case it is an existing one, give us the electrical services details and the available appliances.

In case it has not been built, below could be an optimised scenario....

I am going to assume the following:

1. That for every bedroom, you will have a bathroom.
2. That there will be an extra toilet/bathroom for day visitors.
3. That you don't have a servants quarter.
4. That the house will be a Bungalow

So here we go:

The electrical services in the house will be as follows:

1. Sitting room (Assume size 5m x 5m)

(i) 2No lighting points
(ii) 4No Socket outlets

2. Bedrooms

(i) 1No lighting point
(ii) 1No Socket outlet

3. Bathroom

(i) 1No Lighting point
(ii) 1No instantaneous water heater (shower)

4. Kitchen

(i) 1 No Lighting point
(ii) 3No Socket outlets
(iii) 1No Cooker outlet point
(iv) 1No Undersink water heater

5. Store

(i) 1No Lighting point
(ii) 1No Socket outlet

6. Appliances in the house

(i) 1No Refrigerator
(ii) 1No Microwave Unit
(iii)1No Electric kettle
(iv) 1No Iron box
(v) 1No 42" LCD/Plasma TV unit
(vi) 1No DVD player
(vii) 1No Music System
(viii)2No Personal computers
(ix) 1No Hot water cylinder (geyser)

7. Security Lights

(i) 4No lighting points

Before we go to the finer details could you confirm that the above information is consistent with your expectation...

XSK
#18 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2013 1:28:41 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
@ XSK

Your statement

FYI when you calculate the KWh cost for solar and compare with hydro and other sources, Solar is still more expensive in terms of production costs.

is fallacious misleading and incorrect...

@Kaigangio

I still stand by that statement. The per unit cost of power generated by solar power generation system is higher than hydro. Just do your research mine is based on practical experience. If the reverse was true everyone including the utilities would be on solar. Dont be cheated by the long life span of the PV module. Do your math!

BTW I dont mean to say that there are something that cannot be powered by solar power but if you ask me anything more 2 KW should be on mains its more economical.

FYI Check the link below for those who are thinking that this only applies to NA.

http://erepository.uonbi.../handle/123456789/19021

You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
urstill1
#19 Posted : Wednesday, September 25, 2013 3:50:49 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
@urstill1

Is the house existing or you are planning to build one??

In case it is an existing one, give us the electrical services details and the available appliances.

In case it has not been built, below could be an optimised scenario....

I am going to assume the following:

1. That for every bedroom, you will have a bathroom.
2. That there will be an extra toilet/bathroom for day visitors.
3. That you don't have a servants quarter.
4. That the house will be a Bungalow

So here we go:

The electrical services in the house will be as follows:

1. Sitting room (Assume size 5m x 5m)

(i) 3No lighting points
(ii) 4No Socket outlets

2. Bedrooms

(i) 1No lighting point
(ii) 1No Socket outlet

3. Bathroom

(i) 1No Lighting point
(ii) 1No instantaneous water heater (shower)

4. Kitchen

(i) 1 No Lighting point
(ii) 3No Socket outlets
(iii) 1No Cooker outlet point
(iv) 1No Undersink water heater

5. Store

(i) 1No Lighting point
(ii) 1No Socket outlet

6. Appliances in the house

(i) 2No Refrigerator
(ii) 1No Microwave Unit
(iii)1No Electric kettle
(iv) 1No Iron box
(v) 2No 42" LCD/Plasma TV unit
(vi) 1No DVD player
(vii) 1No Music System
(viii)2No Personal computers
(ix) 1No Hot water cylinder (geyser)

7. Security Lights

(i) 4No lighting points

Before we go to the finer details could you confirm that the above information is consistent with your expectation...

Great! There are 3 2-roomed servant quarter detached from the main house. Apart from that, the rest are as corrected!
eddy01
#20 Posted : Wednesday, October 09, 2013 10:08:31 PM

Hey Subzero well i think that your statement is right like its easy to power technical products from solar. Thanks!!