Market
Technical
Mazda- Demio (engine sounds like Diesel Engine)
Rank: Member Joined: 10/19/2009 Posts: 671 Location: Nairobi
Hi, Car experts, this Mazda Demio sounds like a Diesel engine, yet it's a Petrol engine. Worse in the morning, and still persists during the day. Is this normal with Mazda's? (1st time to use Mazda). garage guy changed the timing belt sometime back and problem persists. That sound is quite irritating. I expect a petrol engine to be smoother than this. Car came in November. Mileage was 40K then (if it matters at all) Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
webish wrote:Hi, Car experts, this Mazda Demio sounds like a Diesel engine, yet it's a Petrol engine. Worse in the morning, and still persists during the day. Is this normal with Mazda's? (1st time to use Mazda). garage guy changed the timing belt sometime back and problem persists. That sound is quite irritating. I expect a petrol engine to be smoother than this. Car came in November. Mileage was 40K then (if it matters at all) @webish How is the fuel consumption? like how many km to a litre of fuel? You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
webish wrote:Hi, Car experts, this Mazda Demio sounds like a Diesel engine, yet it's a Petrol engine. Worse in the morning, and still persists during the day. Is this normal with Mazda's? (1st time to use Mazda). garage guy changed the timing belt sometime back and problem persists. That sound is quite irritating. I expect a petrol engine to be smoother than this. Car came in November. Mileage was 40K then (if it matters at all) Did it have this problem when it came? is the engine light on? has the exhaust manifold mounting been checked it could be leaking? did you import the car yourself because 40K for such a car would be as good as new!
XSK wrote:webish wrote:Hi, Car experts, this Mazda Demio sounds like a Diesel engine, yet it's a Petrol engine. Worse in the morning, and still persists during the day. Is this normal with Mazda's? (1st time to use Mazda). garage guy changed the timing belt sometime back and problem persists. That sound is quite irritating. I expect a petrol engine to be smoother than this. Car came in November. Mileage was 40K then (if it matters at all) @webish How is the fuel consumption? like how many km to a litre of fuel? Consumption is okay, according to my estimations. I do 20KM (to and frm Work) everyday, and I can easily use (1500-2000) from Monday to Friday. For example, if I fuel 1500/= on Monday, I will only fuel on Friday again. Cc should be 1300. Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
jamplu wrote:webish wrote:Hi, Car experts, this Mazda Demio sounds like a Diesel engine, yet it's a Petrol engine. Worse in the morning, and still persists during the day. Is this normal with Mazda's? (1st time to use Mazda). garage guy changed the timing belt sometime back and problem persists. That sound is quite irritating. I expect a petrol engine to be smoother than this. Car came in November. Mileage was 40K then (if it matters at all) Did it have this problem when it came? is the engine light on? has the exhaust manifold mounting been checked it could be leaking? did you import the car yourself because 40K for such a car would be as good as new! Never had a problem before, (i.e since November, 2012 when it was brought in). And yes, Self Import. SBT Japan. No Engine light. (atleast I have not seen yet) Exhaust manifold mounting (not sure I have checked this at all). Done at the garage? And yes, it came at 40K, basically New. To me, was a good deal (i still think). 3500 USD -CIF, then. Generally, nothing else obviously suspicious, apart from the 'diesel-like' sound. The revs are quite noticeable. Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
drove in a friends demio 2wks ago. Sauti ni hiyo hiyo, diesel like. I think its normal. The Main thing is making the Main thing the Main thing.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
webish wrote:XSK wrote:webish wrote:Hi, Car experts, this Mazda Demio sounds like a Diesel engine, yet it's a Petrol engine. Worse in the morning, and still persists during the day. Is this normal with Mazda's? (1st time to use Mazda). garage guy changed the timing belt sometime back and problem persists. That sound is quite irritating. I expect a petrol engine to be smoother than this. Car came in November. Mileage was 40K then (if it matters at all) @webish How is the fuel consumption? like how many km to a litre of fuel? Consumption is okay, according to my estimations. I do 20KM (to and frm Work) everyday, and I can easily use (1500-2000) from Monday to Friday. For example, if I fuel 1500/= on Monday, I will only fuel on Friday again. Cc should be 1300. @webish Nothing to worry about your car is normal. its a design issue there is nothing to fix. You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
XSK wrote: @webish
Nothing to worry about your car is normal. its a design issue there is nothing to fix.
What design issue is this?I also have a 1300cc Demio...
Rank: Member Joined: 1/28/2009 Posts: 353 Location: Cloud
Webz, ominous sound. the engine is on its way out. it will get worse with time/heat. take this to the bank. The tappets/valves are most likely loose/worn out. the cylinder head has to be opened and i doubt if they are adjustable for a demio. Let your mech confront you with the truth.To hide the hideous noise add motor honey to engine oil and see if that helps. Long time back, in my case, i just bought another cylinder head and the noise was sorted. "For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
noticed the same in the familia model,I think its something to do with water in the plugs or the air intake..actually been ignoring it..will check it maybe tunaweza saidiana.
mlefu wrote:noticed the same in the familia model,I think its something to do with water in the plugs or the air intake..actually been ignoring it..will check it maybe tunaweza saidiana. if you get any information let me know. It would be very surprising if it's a design issue with the Mazda petrol cars. Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
Guys dont worry, though its not normal. Most mechs will give you theories instead of factual. Check on the engine mountings and am sure thats the problem. Mine had the same problem 2 days ago, i got this young mech from Grogon and as we rode to town he told "boss your mountings are gone, thats why you hear that diesel like sound" he replaced themm and today am enjoying my demio again. Life is an endless adventure
@webish,@freiks Where do you guys buy the Demio spares from?
Chaka wrote:@webish,@freiks Where do you guys buy the Demio spares from? Hard to get but you could get them in industrial area or grogon you just need to be patient. I once looked for a demio sensor for 2 weeks and then they come at crazy costs. I like its consumption anyway Life is an endless adventure
Chaka wrote:@webish,@freiks Where do you guys buy the Demio spares from? mostly R.Road/grogon and NPC area (where my main fundi has always been). Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
I didnt know men owns and drives Demios until I read this thread. SAD INDEED!!!! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Member Joined: 8/16/2010 Posts: 149 Location: hapa Kenya
@impunity, eti sad?? how?
Rank: Member Joined: 1/1/2010 Posts: 511 Location: kandara, Murang'a
Impunity wrote:I didnt know men owns and drives Demios until I read this thread. SAD INDEED!!!! Pride comes before fall. I proudly drive a vitz. ni mfuko wangu and if thats how to avoid matatus so be it. Nobody forced them they chose or their situation dictate. Thank God for your Hummer but by no means look down on up coming hustlers. Kila Nyani... Foresight..
gatoho wrote:Impunity wrote:I didnt know men owns and drives Demios until I read this thread. SAD INDEED!!!! Pride comes before fall. I proudly drive a vitz. ni mfuko wangu and if thats how to avoid matatus so be it. Nobody forced them they chose or their situation dictate. Thank God for your Hummer but by no means look down on up coming hustlers. Kila Nyani... There are certain type of vehicles reserved for the fairer sex, how can a man with balls come here and yap that "...my Demio makes such and such a sound, sijui consumes less...? Ati my Vitz leo ilikataa kunguruma asubuhi...mara sijui my Duet has diarrhead!!!" Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:gatoho wrote:Impunity wrote:I didnt know men owns and drives Demios until I read this thread. SAD INDEED!!!! Pride comes before fall. I proudly drive a vitz. ni mfuko wangu and if thats how to avoid matatus so be it. Nobody forced them they chose or their situation dictate. Thank God for your Hummer but by no means look down on up coming hustlers. Kila Nyani... There are certain type of vehicles reserved for the fairer sex, how can a man with balls come here and yap that "...my Demio makes such and such a sound, sijui consumes less...? Ati my Vitz leo ilikataa kunguruma asubuhi...mara sijui my Duet has diarrhead!!!" Impunity wacha kelele... I have also owned a demio. both 1340 and 1500 cc. Na sasa natumia nissan march ya mama (Its on sale... inaweza kubeba certificate ya yellow fever). One thing... never peg the worth of a man by the means of mobility... You will be shocked
Market
Technical
Mazda- Demio (engine sounds like Diesel Engine)