wazua Tue, Nov 19, 2024

Looking for property in slums.
#1 Posted : Thursday, April 11, 2013 10:00:18 AM

Any wazuan who knows how I can own a plot in a slum?I hear the returns are enormous.Please share your insights.I am looking at Kawangware,Kayole,Kariobangi,Mukuru.
#2 Posted : Thursday, April 11, 2013 10:48:33 AM

Any wazuan who knows how I can own a plot in a slum?I hear the returns are enormous.Please share your insights.I am looking at Kawangware,Kayole,Kariobangi,Mukuru.

Yes. You can use Ksh 1m to put up 50 mabati single rooms on 1/8th acre, which you can charge 2k per room to make 100k per month making a ROI of 120%. Compare that with apartments in kileleshwa that have a ROI of 6%.
citymayor
#3 Posted : Thursday, April 11, 2013 10:57:17 AM

Yes. You can use Ksh 1m to put up 50 mabati single rooms on 1/8th acre, which you can charge 2k per room to make 100k per month making a ROI of 120%. Compare that with apartments in kileleshwa that have a ROI of 6%.

Shame on you
The Emotional Dog and Its Rational Tail
#4 Posted : Thursday, April 11, 2013 11:10:46 AM

How do I go about getting the property because if I am lucky to own the plot for 10 years,I will have made handsome returns and the good thing is that the houses are always occupied!!!!!
Binti
#5 Posted : Thursday, April 11, 2013 12:37:43 PM

Am also looking for land in the slum.Anyone with any info on how to go about it please advice.
In God I trust...
#6 Posted : Thursday, April 11, 2013 12:44:48 PM

Binti wrote:
Am also looking for land in the slum.Anyone with any info on how to go about it please advice.

your first post and you are looking to be a slum lord?Majority of wazuans reside in Runda,Lavington,Kileleshwa,Dubai,UK,Canada etc.
#7 Posted : Thursday, April 11, 2013 12:49:07 PM

Binti wrote:

your first post and you are looking to be a slum lord?Majority of wazuans reside in Runda,Lavington,Kileleshwa,Dubai,UK,Canada etc.

Most dont have titles but are local arrangements with the chief, citycouncil or local kamjesh

for a start identify the area then approach the above
kryptonite
#8 Posted : Thursday, April 11, 2013 12:52:37 PM

How do I go about getting the property because if I am lucky to own the plot for 10 years,I will have made handsome returns and the good thing is that the houses are always occupied!!!!!

I read such a story in one of the newspapers. However, there was an inferred caveat. You have to live there and look and act like a kawa slum dweller. At least that's what one of the slumlords seemed to be saying. His returns were really great.

Mawinder, uko tayari?
The harder you work, the luckier you get
fmukiria
#9 Posted : Thursday, April 11, 2013 4:56:57 PM

Worrior, i know someone who is selling like 11 houses at around 1.5k.He charges 1700Ksh per month
#10 Posted : Thursday, April 11, 2013 5:06:42 PM

I thought we are looking for ways to reduce slums instead of increasing them.
#11 Posted : Thursday, April 11, 2013 7:32:14 PM

@mawinder – it is easier to create a new slum then own land in already established slums. Go to a place like Mlolongo and get some 5 acres and put up your slum there. If you don’t have enough capital to build the entire 5 acres lease out some parts of it.
maligumu
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 11, 2013 7:50:10 PM

Nikujipanga before upangwe .Kwani umetupwa, ongea na @Live blue.
Peace be with you
#13 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2013 9:29:14 AM

@Mastermind,I want to provide housing to Nairobians and from the crowds that I see walking around General Motors in the morning,there is an opportunity.
@ZZE123,if I do the slums the returns are 150% p.a which beats formal housing and other conventional investments and no one will dare touch the houses in demolition as I will invoke powers from above.
Ngong
#14 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2013 7:56:12 PM

Binti wrote:

smile Na wewe ni wa wapi?
#15 Posted : Saturday, April 13, 2013 12:26:38 PM

@mawinder, Rather than looking for one, just create it. Just look at conditions conducive to a slum environment, filth, lack of basic amenities, etc create such in any environment and hola u have ur own slum and u become the slum lord!
Pesa Nane
#16 Posted : Saturday, April 13, 2013 3:48:27 PM

Gathige wrote:
@mawinder, Rather than looking for one, just create it. Just look at conditions conducive to a slum environment, filth, lack of basic amenities, etc create such in any environment and hola u have ur own slum and u become the slum lord!

And give it a name like Mukuru kwa mawinder, kambi mawinder, kiamawida Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly All the best mate. smile
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#17 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 8:04:28 AM

It's good to see the $s, the ROIs, etc. problem is how to actualize it.... ask the slumlords... that's where you'll find a guy only owns a matress and is a new tenant every end of month... so they'll come in, just before you knock on the door, the guy folds his matress and the last you see is his heels... illegal cartels too.... but anyway, good luck though. You might have a better strategy of collecting.... like weekly, may be.
#18 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 8:38:57 AM

To create a slum, identify an empty piece of land, nevermind who the owner is. Start building. Recruit an enforcer gang to protect your investment and collect rent. Kwamawaider is born.
Binti
#19 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 9:21:40 AM

Think Think
fmukiria wrote:
Worrior, i know someone who is selling like 11 houses at around 1.5k.He charges 1700Ksh per month

Expound on this!

In God I trust...
Bachuma Gate
#20 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 9:45:11 AM

Mawinder,

A better way is to shop for an 1/8th plot in the outskirts of Mulolongo, Kitengela, Kiserian going for say 450,000.00 to 700,000.00. Spend another 700,000.00 (20*35,000.00) to put up 20 mabati houses (plot size is 50*100ft. Tu rooms are 10*10). Total spend 1.3m - 1.4m. Income 20*1,800.00=36,000.00 less expenses may be 30K. For 1.4m, 30k return is not bad. Rent for a 2 bed house at Nyayo Embakasi is going for 30K but it costs 6.5m to buy. Return is about 26% pa. The beauty is that the land is yours, you have a title and it will keep on appreciating.
DOH