wazua Tue, Nov 19, 2024

Purchase Price to Rent Ratio
MatataMingi
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 10, 2013 10:51:41 AM

Hi Guys,

Any one know what is the above ratio.

I am renting a house for 150K per month.
the landlord is willing to sell, and has asked me to make an offer.

- The house is in Kilimani area
- half acre, freehold.
- 4 bedrooms, 2 double en suite,The other 2 single bedrooms share a bathroom
- It is an old house, built in 1960. So the fittings etc. are not great, and I will have to spend quite a lot on improvements. Maybe about 2 million.

Thank you guys for your help.
Vj
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 10, 2013 11:05:25 AM

In this case it wouldn't be advisable to use the price/rent ratio because the land sitting under the house is way more valuable than the house itself.

If the plot is on a sewer line it could easily be worth over 80M. buy the land if you can, you won't regret it.
Before you can be be old and wise, you must first be young and stupid.
wilyum
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 10, 2013 12:23:52 PM

for hw long have u rented @150k?
Fair_Car_Dealer
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 10, 2013 12:58:16 PM

MatataMingi:

As VJ has pointed out, the basis for pricing the property is the value of the land, and not the rent paid.

Given how valuable the land is, you are better off not repairing the house but thinking of developing the land with townhouses/apartments. The units you develop will most likely be worth 2 times to more than 4 times what you paid for the land, depending on what you construct, when you start the project, the cost of financing, your available capital, among other factors.

You may want to get an informal valuation opinion from a valuer or real estate agent who is familiar with Kilimani. Recent comparable property sales should be able to give you the appropriate market price of the property.

Also, just to emphasize, the answer to your question about the basis for pricing the property is not the purchase price to rent ratio.

-Fair Car Dealer
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 10, 2013 1:57:56 PM

Some of this theories dont work in nairobi may be in other areas,just like properties in nairobi fetch more than their true value due to stretched demand.
a4architect.com
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 10, 2013 3:38:54 PM

The value of land is around 50 to 100m. The cost of a bungalow on the land is around 10m. The rental value of such land is when a minimum of 5 storeys have been constructed. This can bring in rental value of 5000m2 x kes 1000 per m2=5m per month at current rates.
This will assist you to make a good offer.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
MatataMingi
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 10, 2013 3:44:35 PM

Thank you guys.

Vj. the location where the house is does not allow townhouses / apartments - not at the moment anyway. this of course can change.

Plus 80M is way above my reach.
I was thinking of putting in an offer for 25M.
Maybe that wont work.
a4architect.com
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 10, 2013 3:53:41 PM

land use is controled by NCC. If the title is still under residential use, all you need is to apply for change of user to commercial and it will be automatically granted since this is in line with NCC land use for the area. You can get lucky with the 25m offer so its still worth to try...
Bachuma Gate
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 10, 2013 11:31:16 PM

Matata - If the final price is way above your reach, you can co-opt other people as long as you price is at a discount.
DOH
ali
#10 Posted : Friday, January 11, 2013 1:40:03 PM

wilyum wrote:
for hw long have u rented @150k?

Haleluya...150K?
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
#11 Posted : Friday, January 11, 2013 8:38:33 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
Thank you guys.

Vj. the location where the house is does not allow townhouses / apartments - not at the moment anyway. this of course can change.

Maybe that wont work.

25M is a single China constructed apartment on an 8 storey block in that neighbourhood.
#12 Posted : Friday, January 11, 2013 9:20:38 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
Thank you guys.

Maybe that wont work.

Resell it to me at 30m, you make 5m pap!

It's the half acre land that's of immense value not the old house.
stock.enigma
#13 Posted : Friday, January 11, 2013 9:46:39 PM

The minimum offer should be 72m. That is 150,000*2*12*20. Anythig less is a dream.That is how properties in nairobi are valued for old properties due for redevelopment.For new properties, use 1 in place of 2 in the formular.
#14 Posted : Sunday, January 13, 2013 1:12:13 AM

Some thoughts here

#15 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2013 8:08:21 PM

Purchase price to rent Ruto! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Drunkard
#16 Posted : Wednesday, January 16, 2013 12:36:07 AM

Hold on people, the land is probably approved for one family home, not apartments not koisks, so looking at the value of land might not really mean alot, my old folks have a house in riverside sitting on half acre land that they cannot do anything about unless they decide to blow up the current house and build a larger family house, most of the house build in 60s and 70s had a real planning to it and included the limits on what you can do to the land.
GGK
#17 Posted : Wednesday, January 16, 2013 9:22:35 AM

As someone pointed out, the value of land should be the indicator. I read another thread that seemed to suggest that the cost of land should constitute 1/3 of property cost.

Lets assume @MatataMingi makes an offer of Kshs 80M. Does it mean that he should target a property of about 160m.

Rent to price ratio here may not work so well in Kenya.

Land is over-valued..... see link

High cost of land a grave issue

"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
MatataMingi
#18 Posted : Wednesday, January 16, 2013 12:12:43 PM

Thanks Guys for your input.

I feel I should give you some more details.

- The house is owned by a very humble, honest and nice Mzee.
- He retired many years ago and moved to his rural home upcountry.
- The rent from the house is his only cash income, although I believe he gets a lot of his food from his shamba.
- I rented the house in March, 2011, on a two year lease for 90K pm
- At that time other similar houses in the area very going for 100K
- The Mzee liked the fact that the lease was with a big company, and the rent will be paid 3 months in advance every quarter by standing order.
- A few months ago, I spoke to him to tell him that I wanted to renew the lease for another 2 years. He came back and said the new rent would be 110K pm. The other similar houses around were now priced at 120 - 130K. So I agreed with his proposal.
- However, he spoke to me recently and said the the new rent would be 150K. This he said was due to the "new" tax on rental income, and it was not possible for him to dilute his income.
- I have looked around and found that other houses coming on the market have also factored in the tax.
- My employer, who provides me with housing, is willing to pay the new rent or give me that amount as a housing allowance.

I was therefore looking at buying a house, and using the 150K pm towards the mortgage payment.

Thanks again guys
a4architect.com
#19 Posted : Wednesday, January 16, 2013 1:30:15 PM

there is a 5 bedroomed house on o.5 acre plot at Muthaiga North being sold at kes 45m. Interested? Another 4 bdm near Windsor on a 1/8th going for 14m.
MatataMingi
#20 Posted : Wednesday, January 16, 2013 3:21:39 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
there is a 5 bedroomed house on o.5 acre plot at Muthaiga North being sold at kes 45m. Interested? Another 4 bdm near Windsor on a 1/8th going for 14m.

Thank you Sir.
Because of school, work etc. I need to be in Kilimani or Lavi.