OMO safari sevens? - New era
now that EABL have stopped their sponsorship for the Tusker Safari 7s after being asked to also sponsor the Elgon Cup,will this event retain its lustre? the top team action,pints,beautiful women etc made this event a sellout brand...Tusker in Tusker Safari 7s nice..if OMO come onboard for the OMO Safari 7s,what next?  Rugby Union pls be careful with your title sponsor
The massive sponsorship by EABL surely made this event a success.However,due to their exit,its not really definate that the event will lose its fame and lustre.I think RFUEA should seek for international sponsorship e.g. Heineken etc.
Are they still campaigning to make the Nairobi event part of the Rugby series?
freddro...
Powerfoam 7s,I like that.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
OMO..NO stains!..NO Wendz!.that should sell...
or
SK safari sevens.
wishes to inform the citizens of Kenya,in the light of your failure to elect a competent President for the past 46 years,and thus failure to govern yourselves,I hereby give notice of the revocation of your independence...
Safari 7s will still sell........guy come to watch rugde,to drinkand other to play i always wondered why OMO and detergent companies kept away from rugby. it was long over due. Tusker guys try other brands keroche,UDV,just wait you will even wonder where brewers co-sponsoring came from. 'Until the lions have their historians,tales of hunting will always depict the hunter as a brave man.'
"Until the lions have their historians, tales of hunting will always depict the hunter as a brave man."
they would be better off going with a non-alcoholic beverage player - Orange,Safaricom....or an airline.... etc
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
@fred - True. Not sure on your question all the same I think the inaugural Trustco Namibia Sevens is large and has attracted a lot more top sides to Africa than Safari 7s. However,if the 7s is made an Olympic sport as they are planning,the world rugby body will be under some pressure to make 7s more mass appealing. Safari 7s may by default be a continental benefactor and the only sticky issue would be funding...
two things... 1. thanks to EABL for bringing the safari sevens this far....their contribution made a big difference. 2. Its very sad in my opinion for them to opt out of the sevens and instead waste shareholders money on the USELESS TUSKER PROJECT FAME...total miscalculation! less is more for Architects only!! Less is more....for Architects only!!
SUMMIT SAFARI 7s sounds royal... Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
@kishindo,nice point. @skabz Summit Safari 7s sounds more catchy to Trustco Namibia Sevens..or worse a new Rob Safari 7s ama Headaches Safari 7s.
@mLEFU Lol,more suggestions Eno Safarisevens Member Safari s7s New Doom Safari s7s forewarned is forearmed
I think KRFU were right to demand that EABL sponsors both elgon cup and safari sevens or none at all. Most probably EABL have realised that they don't need to be a title sponsor of safari sevens when it is only popular locally,they can use the same amount for TPF and get prime airtime for a longer duration and anyway guys wont be drinking ketepa tea at saf sevens .
Invest with alpha not leveraged beta
Always Ultra Safari Sevens...Safari Cane Safari Sevens
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/4/2008 Posts: 1,289 Location: Nairobi
A good example of the 'Haki yetu' mentality.
Shs. 26 million can go a long way.
Baada ya dhiki,faaraja
@ Solloh i beg to differ will omo pump the sh 26 million for 5 years running? time will tell I think KRFU blundered,big time and by the way the safari sevens international profile was growing immensely,this year about 1300 guyz came from as far as Australia due to the Kenya team success at the IRB sevens circuit. I think the KRFU should instead have sought the emerging regional business giants such as KCB,Member etc instead of the haki yetu mentality.. less is more for Architects only!! Less is more....for Architects only!!
This could easily mark the end of Safari Sevens. Very few corporates would have the money or interest to take up the sponsorship (Safaricom,Virgin,zain,BBK,KCB,coke and maybe pepsi in the near future) best bet for now is zain.
What are your thoughts?
Bright and interesting people talk about ideas. Those of average intelligence talk about things. Stupid people talk about other people.
1st I don't know why EABL always imagines they are the ones who made rugby successful? They have funded rugby which goes without saying and the funds have been useful in supporting the budget of the KRFU but are not in anyway the largest source of financing. Remember most of the 26m goes into media which is just EABL redirecting their media spend in May and June,so really i actually think its EABL gaining at that time alot more.
EABL has been asleep not knowing what to do with the positive vibe from safari sevens. The downside of having women marketers (no offence to the sisters) trying to sponsor sport,they simply can't understand it,they tend to want large crowds similar to what you get at roadshows around a mall,or the TPF after parties. EABL is making a blunder and you watch and see,we all remember their other blunder,terminating the 7's deal and Virgin taking over and doing what good marketers would do,exploiting the association globally at 2 bob.
Watch the space,you will see new sponsors and many at that with even larger spend and a beer sponsor meaning no EABL products over that weekend. Iko heineken,Castle beers,Siera,Summit and even Windhoek. This thing will be done that way. This year Heineken was official drink partner of Floodlights and they outsold breweries products......why does EABL want to invite competition in their back yard? Typical kenyan company feeling too cocky. The Elgon discussion was logical,you can't sign contracts to sponsor elgon cup then fanya a high jump......no one forced them to sponsor they were rukaing a contract by saying they never signed yet people have a copy. which was exposing both union bwana....wacha wakwende!
@ kishindo - u say TPF is a miscalculation?
I say its worked! how many young jamaas you know that finished campus and started working past 3-5 years or so do you know that drink? ... Age group between early to late 20s.
TPF is not about nurturing musical talent,its about increasing sales by inducting new drinkers.
Dude but how many drink Tusker? TPF has no effect on young drinkers infact most opt for viceroy,richot,vodka etc,but not tusker which is what TPF wants them to do. Infact if you care to look,there are more new white cap drinkers than there are tusker drinkers. Most of these were formerly tusker drinkers,tusker beer quality is gone to the timbers and this is what they need to sort before they go on a publicity blitz...ok enuf said I should be billing debz now
You wait OMO will sell 7s is our game in the next four the kenyan circuit will kick off.Don't be surprised if you get to see. Keroche 7s.....'know why birds fly' Mara moja kama umeme......not even injera can catch up. Eno 7s......eno works faster that 7s Marangi...with his Dura coat thing.......'the expert thing' there are so many guys who always wished tusker would opt out...Just watch that space 'Until the lions have their historians,tales of hunting will always depict the hunter as a brave man.'
"Until the lions have their historians, tales of hunting will always depict the hunter as a brave man."
OMO safari sevens? - New era