This happened to my nice last week. She got an SMS saying that she had won sh100k in the "Safricom-na-Equity" promotion. The message ended with a warning: "DO NOT SEND ANY MONEY" She ignored it and a few minutes later it came again...and again...and again..... So finally, she called the sender and he explained that she had won the 100k and the money would be sent to her M-PESA account. To get the money, she was told to go to her M-PESA and go to ATM withdrawal; then enter agent number 286286 and her PIN. In return, M-PESA with send her an authorisation code which she was to send to the guy. The girl did exactly that and sent them the auth code! A few minutes later, she got an SMS from M-PESA saying the she did not have enough funds to complete the transaction... She call the guys and they said she needs "a good balance" to access the 100k..... they suggested she adds 5k, but she said she can only get 200 bob. "Sawa, weka hiyo halafu tuta jaribu" She ran to M-PESA kiosk and loaded sh200 and waited. Then a message came in from M-PESA: "You have withdrawn Sh200 from EQTY Bank ATM... your balance is now..." She cried....and I laughed when she told me the story! ========== You must give credit to these conmen. They know that most people have never withdrawn M-PESA cash from the ATM so they don't know the procedure.... And telling you not to send any money... and to add cash to YOUR M-PESA account... Obviously; there is a loophole in the ATM withdrawal process. Perhaps SCOM should add a requirement to enter you M-PESA PIN in the ATM before withdrawing. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: User Joined: 8/29/2011 Posts: 1,045 Location: Mtaani
WOW i have seen this mpesa atm trick ..i also got confused the first time but i know the con game now !
mukiha wrote:This happened to my nice last week.
She got an SMS saying that she had won sh100k in the "Safricom-na-Equity" promotion. The message ended with a warning: "DO NOT SEND ANY MONEY"
She ignored it and a few minutes later it came again...and again...and again.....
So finally, she called the sender and he explained that she had won the 100k and the money would be sent to her M-PESA account.
To get the money, she was told to go to her M-PESA and go to ATM withdrawal; then enter agent number 286286 and her PIN. In return, M-PESA with send her an authorisation code which she was to send to the guy.
The girl did exactly that and sent them the auth code!
A few minutes later, she got an SMS from M-PESA saying the she did not have enough funds to complete the transaction...
She call the guys and they said she needs "a good balance" to access the 100k..... they suggested she adds 5k, but she said she can only get 200 bob. "Sawa, weka hiyo halafu tuta jaribu"
She ran to M-PESA kiosk and loaded sh200 and waited.
Then a message came in from M-PESA: "You have withdrawn Sh200 from EQTY Bank ATM... your balance is now..."
She cried....and I laughed when she told me the story!
==========
You must give credit to these conmen. They know that most people have never withdrawn M-PESA cash from the ATM so they don't know the procedure.... And telling you not to send any money... and to add cash to YOUR M-PESA account...
Obviously; there is a loophole in the ATM withdrawal process. Perhaps SCOM should add a requirement to enter you M-PESA PIN in the ATM before withdrawing. Mukiha, so how did the guys get the 200 bob from ur niece? Yes she received the MPESA message but where did the monry go? were they waiting in an equity ATM somewhere and the money popped out ama...
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
chemos wrote:mukiha wrote:This happened to my nice last week.
She got an SMS saying that she had won sh100k in the "Safricom-na-Equity" promotion. The message ended with a warning: "DO NOT SEND ANY MONEY"
She ignored it and a few minutes later it came again...and again...and again.....
So finally, she called the sender and he explained that she had won the 100k and the money would be sent to her M-PESA account.
To get the money, she was told to go to her M-PESA and go to ATM withdrawal; then enter agent number 286286 and her PIN. In return, M-PESA with send her an authorisation code which she was to send to the guy.
A few minutes later, she got an SMS from M-PESA saying the she did not have enough funds to complete the transaction...
She call the guys and they said she needs "a good balance" to access the 100k..... they suggested she adds 5k, but she said she can only get 200 bob. "Sawa, weka hiyo halafu tuta jaribu"
Then a message came in from M-PESA: "You have withdrawn Sh200 from EQTY Bank ATM... your balance is now..."
==========
You must give credit to these conmen. They know that most people have never withdrawn M-PESA cash from the ATM so they don't know the procedure.... And telling you not to send any money... and to add cash to YOUR M-PESA account...
Obviously; there is a loophole in the ATM withdrawal process. Perhaps SCOM should add a requirement to enter you M-PESA PIN in the ATM before withdrawing. Mukiha, so how did the guys get the 200 bob from ur niece? Yes she received the MPESA message but where did the monry go? were they waiting in an equity ATM somewhere and the money popped out ama... Probably the agent number is for the ATM the conmen are using not the one the victim is using. Just guessing. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
chemos wrote:mukiha wrote:This happened to my nice last week.
==========
Obviously; there is a loophole in the ATM withdrawal process. Perhaps SCOM should add a requirement to enter you M-PESA PIN in the ATM before withdrawing. Mukiha, so how did the guys get the 200 bob from ur niece? Yes she received the MPESA message but where did the monry go? were they waiting in an equity ATM somewhere and the money popped out ama... The authorisation code works for all ATMs belonging to that particular provider e.g Pesapoint or Equity. If you have the authorisation code and you know the phone number of the source you will get the cash from any equity ATM for this case. You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
XSK, you are right!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
XSK wrote:chemos wrote:mukiha wrote:This happened to my nice last week.
==========
Obviously; there is a loophole in the ATM withdrawal process. Perhaps SCOM should add a requirement to enter you M-PESA PIN in the ATM before withdrawing. Mukiha, so how did the guys get the 200 bob from ur niece? Yes she received the MPESA message but where did the monry go? were they waiting in an equity ATM somewhere and the money popped out ama... The authorisation code works for all ATMs belonging to that particular provider e.g Pesapoint or Equity. If you have the authorisation code and you know the phone number of the source you will get the cash from any equity ATM for this case. But how did the buggers get the authorization code from mukihas niece????? something still doesnt add up.. Mukiha fafanua..
Chemos, soma hiyo story tena bana!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
Eish! Some Kenyans are just too gullible.
McReggae wrote:Chemos, soma hiyo story tena bana!!!! Kweli mimi ni malenge... I will fire my teacher...
mukiha wrote:This happened to my nice last week.
She got an SMS saying that she had won sh100k in the "Safricom-na-Equity" promotion. That was a not so good a nice move not to load accouunt with 5k. she would have learn't her lesson never to open up to con thieves. I received a call from the same thugs saying that I had won 100k on furahi na safaricom. I asked them why they were calling from airtel line which they replied that they were in conjunction with Ekwete Bank. i asked them why they are not using 0729 333 333 to call the winners. Unfortunately they hang up thereafter.I would have told them they could as well use the money they have so far collected to ........................... The mobile no. was 0789****** "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
the circus continues Teenage coni.am.back!!!!
I played along with one 'safcom customer care manager' Made him sweat a lil with maswali while pretending to be gullible. Until his english reached a dead end and swa took over! He went like 'lakini sasa madam, situongee kiswahili kwa maana wewe ni customer!!' Imagine a whole 'manager!' nkt.' "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
essyk wrote:I played along with one 'safcom customer care manager' Made him sweat a lil with maswali while pretending to be gullible. Until his english reached a dead end and swa took over! He went like 'lakini sasa madam, situongee kiswahili kwa maana wewe ni customer!!' Imagine a whole 'manager!' nkt.'
Isn't swahili a national language?
When will it end?(the con game)
Wakandi wrote:essyk wrote:I played along with one 'safcom customer care manager' Made him sweat a lil with maswali while pretending to be gullible. Until his english reached a dead end and swa took over! He went like 'lakini sasa madam, situongee kiswahili kwa maana wewe ni customer!!' Imagine a whole 'manager!' nkt.'
Isn't swahili a national language? yes,though not spoken professionally.It was swahili ya mtaa with a wide grin on his face. Swahili isn't the issue here.Read btwn the lines. He introduced himself as a manager using english 'twang'but got tired of faking and the true colours showed. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
ZILLION wrote:When will it end?(the con game) There is a common one that goes like: "uncle mtoto ameumwa na nyoka.... tafadhali nitumie pesa mia mbili niite bodaboda tumkimbize hosi...."
I conned myself two weeks ago; it started with sending money through Mpesa. since safaricom started the contact search tool on mpesa menu, i no longer have to write down numbers on palms. So i searched and the name popped up. I didn't have to confirm the number coz I had searched. After sending the money, a confirmation with a strange name was replied. Do I say I raised so much hell at I&M customer care only to be told I had saved the wrong number. I strongly refuted that since I called the right person I wanted to send the cash to. To cut a long story short, the contact had rightly saved on phone memory, but wrongly on the Simcard. The mpesa search tool searches on the simcard not on phone memory. It was embarrassing. The nigga had withdrawn the money within 10 minutes and safaricom advices that to recover the cash, I have to file a fraud claim with the police. With our inefficient police force, it is impossible to trace the guy coz the bribes will exceed the till. Is it possible for safaricom to put a rule that when one cons, next time he loads money in his mpesa account is automatically sent from his connees. A week later, i received double the money I had lost from a questionable source. I didn't withdraw the cash. I was tempted to, but didn't. I gladly reverted the transaction when customer care called. We need better rules to address fraud. we cant rely on honesty and goodwill.
kenmac wrote: Is it possible for safaricom to put a rule that when one cons, next time he loads money in his mpesa account is automatically sent from his connees.
I think the reason why they may get into problems in doing that is because, as much as Mpesa is a mode of cash transfer its also a mode of payment for goods and services rendered. For example if you were to pay for an item using mpesa you can easily then cal safcom and say you sent cash to the wrong account thereby relieving the seller of his cash and goods/services “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
http://www.nation.co.ke/News/Te...18/-/dxanuc/-/index.htmlTeenager arrested in Sh75,000 M-Pesa fraud syndicate Quote:The “Safaricom official” told the girl, who is waiting to join university, to save the number as 234 and present the phone to an M-Pesa agent so that he could facilitate return of the cash.
The suspect claimed she was not aware that she was dealing with criminals and innocently presented the phone to an M-Pesa agent.
According to a police officer investigating the incident, the girl was being held on suspicion that she was working in cahoots with the fraudsters, who went on to withdraw Sh75,000, which was part of the Sh120,000 in the M-Pesa agent’s account.
The officer said the fraudsters hacked into the system and accessed money belonging to M-Pesa agents by issuing instructions and directing agents to key in numbers with the intention of “fishing” their PINs.
At the time she was receiving the instructions, the suspect said she was unable to check whether the money had entered her account because of the incessant calls from the “Safaricom official” who identified himself as Paul Wambua.
The 'customer service manager 'I brushed off bore that name. strange. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.