wazua Tue, Mar 31, 2026

Earnings Expectations Fever
GenghisCapitalLtd
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 10:28:48 PM

Wazuans,

I think we all have caught the EE bug waiting and anticipating the Centum and Safaricom results to be announced tomorrow. I know you are, seen the activity in the market despite the hitch in the early hours of the day. Centum up 1.27% to 15.9 and Safaricom trading flat at 3.

What are your expectations? Do you have more confidence in Centum's performance than Safaricom? Do you feel Safaricom's results will be good? Or exceptional?

Let me know your opinions guys. Gdnyt and will update you on both as I will be there in person on both occasions. Centum's occasion will be at Serena hotel. smile
Follow us on Twitter @genghiscapital
“Be a yardstick of quality. Some people aren’t used to an environment where excellence is expected.” Steve Jobs,iGenius
the deal
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 10:52:21 PM

Both of them to dissapoint tomorrow with flat/drop in earnings, nothing to anticipate!
the deal
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 10:34:14 AM

the deal wrote:
Both of them to dissapoint tomorrow with flat/drop in earnings, nothing to anticipate!

one is out of the way now to Safcom
QW25081985
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 10:43:23 AM

Safcom will Not be in a loss but results will be soft....
GenghisCapitalLtd
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 11:45:09 AM

We are of the view that Centum did quite well considering the situation of the economy. It came up with a defensive strategy to liquidate its holdings in the NSE from 26% as at March 2011 to 9% as it stands today. James Mworia used this as a justification of his firm's performance stating that the Centum quoted equity holdings lost 7% compared to the 16% loss in the NSE, is that a good enough argument of defending the performance? The firm has now turned its eye into the real estate or property market with various projects in the offing in Kenya and Uganda. Involvement of professionals like GAAP (South African firm) have been mentioned with no shilling spared to hire the best so as to mitigate any development risk encountered.The outlook is exciting.
I, personally expect Safaricom to deliver positive results. They will be good but not exceptional. Expect Data and MPESA to contribute more to the top line, voice will still be the main revenue earner though its contribution will decline to around 55% compared to last year which was over 63% of total revenue. Can't wait for 3pm!
“Be a yardstick of quality. Some people aren’t used to an environment where excellence is expected.” Steve Jobs,iGenius
GenghisCapitalLtd
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 11:46:55 AM

On another note Centum is offing on an investment through listing it on the NSE soon, any idea what that investment/company is?
Mainat
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 11:47:42 AM

Most likely this is UAP
Sehemu ndio nyumba
GenghisCapitalLtd
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 11:54:20 AM

Mainat wrote:
Most likely this is UAP

@Mainat I'm with you on that one Applause , do you think the listing will be done within the year and is the appetite there?
Mainat
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 11:58:54 AM

According to Joe Wanjui, UAP was targeting December 2011. Lakini Family Bank talked about October and we are now in November, so I'd take that with a pinch of salt.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
the deal
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 3:59:22 PM

the deal wrote:

one is out of the way now to Safcom

Lesson of the Day: Never argue with a ContrarianApplause Applause Applause