Kahama is a nice hotel loved because it's fairly affordable and loved by many local indigenous Kenyans. It's owned by the same guys behind
K1 and K2.
But the problem for me is that it can get rowdy due to it's famous sports bar and we all how crazy Nairobians (who are mostly there) can get. Kahama have great nyama choma too and affordable Tusker.
Lakini as someone said above, they are NOT next to the beach, but 2nd row, walking distance of about 50 metres. If you don't mind Nairobians causing drama at the Coast, then book it!
But if you are like me and want a quiet time, relax and something totally different, then try somewhere else. I would recommend
Bamburi Beach Resort, which is priced same as Kahama, but it's right next to the beach with a big swimming pool and bar. (Don't confuse this tiny paradise with much classier and more expensive
Bamburi Beach Hotel)
Bamburi Beach Resort has
Makuti cottages dotted all over the compound, very relaxing. They serve nice breakfast if you book bed and breakfast at an extra cost. You eat your breakfast as you watch the sea right in front of you! It's hidden somewhere between Travellers on the right and Kenya Bay hotel on the left.
You can still walk to Kahama from there and watch a few matches or take a ma3 and join crazy Nairobians at Bobs near Kobil.
I have been to Bamburi Resort several times with my buddies. We did
self catering coz they have fridges and cookers placed outside every room. We did shopping for the groceries at Nakumatt Nyali which is just 30 bob away using a ma3.
Try their website, if you want something different with a twist and adventure. I highly recommend it. Another hidden gem for best nyama fry and the biggest screen for matches in Kenya has to be
Mastersin Bamburi, 1km past the cement factory on your left. But that's a story for another day!
Click and have a look at their "photo gallery" and admire those bamboo makutis.
http://www.bamburiresort.com/