wazua Sun, Dec 1, 2024

Safaricom half year results.
nse08
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 24, 2008 12:44:00 AM

The Safaricom half year results are due next week and as M Joseph promised,there will be dividents. Do you think this will be point of turn around?

Desiderious
virji1988
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 24, 2008 2:57:00 AM

wat date?
Wat is the expcted dividend?
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 24, 2008 4:55:00 AM

Devidends my butt....!!!....Even if Suffericon replicated last FY first half results and dished out the entire pre-tax profit of 9B to the 40B shares,we would still be talking about 0.225 cents per share.Of course that is a biiiiig dream.............Let's talk about a Ndururu...!
Hi-Lo
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 24, 2008 5:28:00 AM

...they couldn't summon courage to release 1Q results for Jun/08...so I doubt they'll do with 1H as well...read the signs

Hey...Somebody might make a killing out of me...?!
jammo
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 24, 2008 6:34:00 AM

As@9:33... Safaricom is up 1.01% probably the highest it will go this week! LOL!

' I have heard of You,o Lord. Now mine eyes have seen thee!! Baal-Perazim.. The Lord of the Breakthrough!!'
Nairobian
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 24, 2008 6:58:00 AM

@ Njunge

Check my reply under separate topic ' eabl vs Safaricom analysis

Happy Investing
cxz
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 7:21:00 AM

Anyone with a clue on what to expect?

'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool's wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 7:44:00 AM

what div? a ndururu?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
meshaque
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 9:54:00 AM

Finally breaks the Sh.4 barrier. Institutinal investors moppig up supply @ 3.95. whooping Demand of 18 million shares.

mesh
cxz
#10 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 10:19:00 AM

Only 3.36M shares traded. Demand @18.8M,supply @1M as at 1:18pm. Are they going to make any major announcement?

'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool's wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).
Riddler
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 6:05:00 AM

EPS up 8.1% PAT up 6.7%
cxz
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 6:57:00 AM

Download half year results from
http://www.safaricom.co....ults%20Presentation.pdf

#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 6:57:00 AM

Set to be announced today..

profits after tax grew by 6.7% from 6.22 bn last year to 6.63 bn as of 30th sept.
EPS up by 8.1% from 0.155 to 0.168..

However no dividends recommended
kenyan
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 7:04:00 AM

Key highlights of the six months period ended 30 September 2009
The following are the key highlights of the results compared to prior period i.e. 30 September 2008:
• The active subscribers increased to14.51m,up 21.4% from 11.96m in the prior period.
• Strong M-PESA service with 7.99m registered users,up 93% from 4.14m users in the prior
period.
• Subscriber market share estimated at 77.5% (Source: World Cellular Information Service).
• Revenue market share estimated at 83%.
• Turnover Kshs 40.66bn,an increase of 17.8% from Kshs 34.51bn in the prior year.
• Data revenue (including SMS and M-PESA) increased by 93.6% to Kshs 7.20bn.
• Blended Average Revenue Per User (ARPU) Kshs 466.5,7.3% lower compared to Kshs 503.0 in
the prior period.
• EBITDA at Kshs16.52bn up 10.1% from Kshs 15.01bn.
• Operating profit at Kshs 9.90bn up 3.5% compared to Kshs 9.57bn in the prior year.
• Taxes down 9.3% from Kshs 2.76bn to Kshs 2.50bn. Effective tax rate has reduced to 26.9%
from 30.7% in the prior period.
• Profit after tax Kshs 6.63bn grew by 6.7% from Kshs6.22bn.
• Earnings per share (EPS) growth of 8.1%.
• Capital expenditure down 15.1% at Kshs 8.53bn compared to prior period at Kshs 10.04bn. This
brings capital investment since inception to Kshs 128.3bn

the kenyan
Quoting one is plagiarism; quoting many is research.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 11:01:00 AM

data is where the growth is STRONG... With SEACOM (& maybe TEAMS) the data growth will be much higher... ***-*** MJ is smart... those 'free' modems @ 4k for 2GB went like hot cakes. All those are additional subscribers... And now the promotional 200/day has boosted users as well...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Waria
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 1:06:00 PM

@VVS i am one of the 200/day lemmings. I got a sms to call a certain number if i want to get more unlimited. I cant get through on that number and am not sure its not one of those kamiti pranksters. Any one with info on this?

Me first,U next
Njosh
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 4:27:00 PM

Waria,DO NOT be deceived. Any extension shud always be announced publicly to everyone. A very basic way of knowing fraudsters: SAFARICOM; OR ANY OTHER PROVIDER,WILL NEVER ASK YOU TO CALL IT!!! If need be,you can only call the publicly known customer care Nos. OR THEY CALL YOU THEMSELVES. It would simply beat logic why a whole mobile provider would ask a customer to call it for whichever information esp thro a chargeable line. They may only ask you to call for clarification purposes mostly thro their customer care lines which are mostly free if calling using their lines.

I thank you God,I need you forever.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 8:28:00 PM

@Waria and @Njosh,that message is not from a prankster's number. The number 0722004099 should be for Safcom's corporate sales.
If u want to know safaricom office numbers,they start with 072200XXXX. They've also provided an email address for corporate sales. From what I gather,the text is meant to inform the 200 bob unlimited offer subscribers to call and find out about the fixed data services; wimax and fiber that have unlimited browsing and guaranteed speeds at a cost ranging from 15K p.m.

You can also call customer care (if u get through) to confirm the above or the text.

The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience,but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy
jmm
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 10:32:00 PM

for more enqueries on safcom wimax and fixed data services you write email to corporatesales@safaricom.co.ke

success or failure is like a seed plant any and put enough effort and you will definately harvest
Waria
#20 Posted : Thursday, November 05, 2009 7:17:00 AM

@ jus blazin ..still doesnt make sense for me to call safcom on a non-toll free line for them to market to me

Lakini 15k pm!! is not an option for personal use. Why not extend indefinitely... translates to @6k pm but the beauty is that you can choose when to pay or not

Me first,U next