What do we do with this mzungu?
Rank: User Joined: 6/27/2008 Posts: 709 Location: Velayat-e Faryab
That European banks often induce African leaders into such crimes was shown when Julius Nyerere shared with the editors (and readers) of The Standard Tanzania a “top secret” letter from a Swiss bank urging the President to loot the Central Bank and bank the money in “the safety” of Switzerland. Mwalimu Nyerere was, of course, the rare bird among Africa’s political class. The literature shows that official Euro-America can only pay lip-service to the need to fight official looting in Africa because that looting is an essential part of the canal through which Africa’s wealth flows into Euro-America’s banks. It shows that 10 times more money flows out of Africa into Euro-America than flows out of Euro-America into Africa (as “aid”). In truth, it is Africa that aids Euro-America. Through ministries often called “International Co-operation”, huge money is collected from the Western taxpayer in the name of foreign assistance. Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
http://www.nation.co.ke/...00/-/q8shi4/-/index.htmlGo overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
"We are witnessing the greatest shift of wealth from poor to rich in history. In the United States alone, the wealthiest avoid paying an astonishing $53 billion in taxes each year. Nicholas Shaxson, in league with the Tax Justice Network, dives deep into the secret world of tax havens and takes us to hot spots from Switzerland to Panama to Delaware in a riveting narrative of how society loses through illegal tax evasion. With jaw-dropping stories and vivid explanations, Shaxson highlights the biggest players in the game, and shows how: - More than 12,750 foreign corporations get out of paying taxes each year by claiming to have offices in the same five-story building in the Cayman Islands. - One thousand children die every day as a result of illegal, trade related tax evasion. - Although billions are poured annually into Africa, corrupt officials there stow twice as much away in tax havens, making Africa a net creditor to the rest of the world. " (Shaxson, 2011). Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
In Laikipia, today 37 families of British origin own two million acres of land, on average 54,000 acres per family. However, the Maasais don’t get support from the government which is protecting Western interests. Missionaries, Mercenaries and MisfitsEdited by Rasna Warah. Milton Keynes (AuthorHouse) 2008, 199 pp. Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
In Kenya alone, there were 3,000 to 3,500 NGOs active in 2007, employing about 100,000 Kenyans. Lara Pawson considers NGOs as a mechanism to carry out “imperial foreign policy”, turning receivers of aid to dependent victims; often they act as a “surrogate state”, replacing the government, while Onyango Oloo mentions “cynical NGO types” who are hijacking and co-opting the ideals, struggles and aspirations of real social movements. Five “silences” have to be considered in the NGO discourse according to Issa Shivji: 1) The anti-state stance of the donor community pushed the upsurge of NGOs; (2) There are three types of NGOs: politically, morally and personally motivated ones; (3) African NGOs are donor-funded; (4) Advocacy NGOs are doing government jobs; (5) The NGOs’ success is measured by “strategic plans” and “log frames” how efficiently they are managed and not which constructive input they give. NGOs have to choose between national liberation and imperialist domination, between social emancipation and capitalist slavery. Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
In the book I argue in my introduction that the development industry has failed for the following reasons: 1) Those who work for it are motivated by the need to impose new systems of domination on people in poor countries — in other words, development is just another way that colonialism is perpetuated without being labelled oppressive. 2) That development models, such as those advocated by the World Bank and the IMF, favour the rich at the expense of the poor and are, therefore, instrumental in perpetuating poverty in the so-called developing world. 3) That the worldview, intentions and mindset of development practitioners are paternalistic, arrogant and totally ignorant of poor people’s lives. This has a negative impact on poverty alleviation efforts. Rasna Warah http://www.sidint.net/in...mercenaries-and-misfits/Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
Some time back on this forum, I did advance this kind of an argument but I was harshly reprimanded by "progressive" elements in here ( who are actually not progressive but still colonized minds). I am glad to see that people can see the perfidy of western "aid" now. The day Kenyans will recognize how badly we are ensnared by the former colonial masters and move to change break this, the better off everyone will be.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/7/2010 Posts: 1,279 Location: nbi
Alligator-wewe ni madame? Walala The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Wa_ithaka wrote:Alligator-wewe ni madame? Walala @Wa_ithaka No, am not a madame. I quoted an interview Rasna Warah had with Angela Zarro http://www.sidint.net/in...ercenaries-and-misfits/
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
C&P Quote:The notion that some races are superior to others soon turned around to haunt its Western proponents when German Nazis waged war on everyone except their own “master race” – everyone including Europeans of other kinds – whom Nazism considered subhuman and who must be subjugated at best and annihilated at worst. If Hitler was fought on account of his racial chauvinism, it followed that White supremacy could no longer be sustained as a basis to deny African-Americans their rights and to rule over people of other races.
Thus the end of the Second World War marked the start of the end of the racial justification for oppression and domination. Another justification for the domination of Africans was invented: yes, Africans are not biologically inferior to Whites, but African culture is inferior to Western culture.
Suddenly, African culture, rather than the African race, became the obstacle to the modernisation of the continent. It was therefore in the interest of Africans to be ruled by the Whites, for this rule provided the Blacks with the opportunity and the motivation to overcome their inferior traditional cultures and embrace superior western cultures. And even after independence, the Whiteman would carry on the burden of civilizing Africans through all possible ways.
One such way was – and continues to be – indoctrination through mass media propaganda. In The Passing of Traditional Society, Daniel Lerner convinced the West that the people of the Middle East, and by extension all ‘uncivilized’ peoples of the world whose traditional cultures hampered their modernisation, would be westernised and hence modernised through constant exposure to western media propaganda. To Lerner and indeed to the West, westernisation equals modernisation and development; any other culture equals backwardness and barbarism.
These backward and barbaric cultures would attain ‘social transformation’ through constant exposure to media propaganda, cosmetically coined as Development Communication. This approach has since supplemented military action and sanctions in spreading western culture and entrenching western hegemony. These and other methods of subjugation have now been joined by the programmes of western-based NGOs. How NGOs are indoctrinating young African politicians “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
Very nice post! The minute you let someone else dictate, not advise, dictate for you what is morally right or wrong, you have already lost that battle coz they would never tolerate you telling them how to live their lives. I never knew the true meaning of backstabbing until I dealt with people from the western hemisphere. I think part of the reason they think Africans can reason at a 5 year olds level is because they cannot understand how Africans are so gullible and dont see the backstabbing, while they on the other hand are normally on their toes ready for it. What they miss is that for the most part, Africans are straight forward and wear their emotions on their sleeves, they on the other hand believe in concealing the cards that you hold. So im sure there's some NGO heads somewhere laughing about how it took Africans over 10 years to unveil this NGO scam.Its pretty inhumane to benefit off the poverty and misery of other people, how do you sleep at night knowing 80% of the NGO money goes to benefit your exorbitant lifestlye? If they were truly out to save the world, why cant they live like Mother Teresa? Why do they travel half way around the world when there are just as many poor, homeless and starving people in their home countries?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
Nabwire wrote:Very nice post! The minute you let someone else dictate, not advise, dictate for you what is morally right or wrong, you have already lost that battle coz they would never tolerate you telling them how to live their lives. I never knew the true meaning of backstabbing until I dealt with people from the western hemisphere. I think part of the reason they think Africans can reason at a 5 year olds level is because they cannot understand how Africans are so gullible and dont see the backstabbing, while they on the other hand are normally on their toes ready for it. What they miss is that for the most part, Africans are straight forward and wear their emotions on their sleeves, they on the other hand believe in concealing the cards that you hold. So im sure there's some NGO heads somewhere laughing about how it took Africans over 10 years to unveil this NGO scam.Its pretty inhumane to benefit off the poverty and misery of other people, how do you sleep at night knowing 80% of the NGO money goes to benefit your exorbitant lifestlye? If they were truly out to save the world, why cant they live like Mother Teresa? Why do they travel half way around the world when there are just as many poor, homeless and starving people in their home countries? . @Nabwire, you are spot on kabisa.@.. aligator, also read "How Europe underdeveloped Africa" by Walter Rodney, "The Wretched of the Earth" by Frantz Fanon and "Lords of Poverty" by Graham Hancock and you will surely get the bigger picture of the modern day Political Economy of Africa vis a vis imperialism and how the same is propagated by collaboration as well as sheer blackmail and ignorance of our leaders. Add to this the picture of the killing of all anti imperialism agents from Lumumba to Gadaffi. Now fast forward to NGO business and our sheer greed is all open for us to see... a good example is the anti jigger campaign, I often laugh at how it is expected that washing the poor peoples' feet will eradicate their poverty and save them from jiggers.
I don't buy into this "dog ate my homework" excuses to try and explain our misery. Bottom line is the mzungu has as much right to be selfish as we africans, they also have a right to act in their self interest including hoodwinking us to believe that they are trying to help us. It is our responsibility as africans to act in our interests and do whatever it takes to succeed, if we can't then too bad. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:I don't buy into this "dog ate my homework" excuses to try and explain our misery. Bottom line is the mzungu has as much right to be selfish as we africans, they also have a right to act in their self interest including hoodwinking us to believe that they are trying to help us.
It is our responsibility as africans to act in our interests and do whatever it takes to succeed, if we can't then too bad. Actually this kind of attitude is what facilitates Africa's rape! You should see the 'save the poor, starving and dying children' ads, its pathetic! I remember some show did a satire on the ads coz the " Ambassadors" for the poor children are always well fed and clothed. Africans need to realize that perception matters alot, the more we allow Africa to be portrayed as a basket case, the more we will stagnate. Ever wondered why those save the children "Ambassadors" never save American children? Believe me there are alot of needy American children too! Coz the US government would never allow their own citizens to be exploited, if 80% of your funding goes towards Administrative purposes, that NGO is there to help its staff not the starving people! If the mzungu has every right to hoodwink us, then how come we dont have a right to hoodwink them? If I took a shot of all the homeless and dying people on Skidrow, and sent out an SOS for them, how far do you think I would go? And what if, for every donation, I kept 80% of it, how soon before I am shut down?
Nabwire wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:I don't buy into this "dog ate my homework" excuses to try and explain our misery. Bottom line is the mzungu has as much right to be selfish as we africans, they also have a right to act in their self interest including hoodwinking us to believe that they are trying to help us.
It is our responsibility as africans to act in our interests and do whatever it takes to succeed, if we can't then too bad. Actually this kind of attitude is what facilitates Africa's rape! You should see the 'save the poor, starving and dying children' ads, its pathetic! I remember some show did a satire on the ads coz the " Ambassadors" for the poor children are always well fed and clothed. Africans need to realize that perception matters alot, the more we allow Africa to be portrayed as a basket case, the more we will stagnate. Ever wondered why those save the children "Ambassadors" never save American children? Believe me there are alot of needy American children too! Coz the US government would never allow their own citizens to be exploited, if 80% of your funding goes towards Administrative purposes, that NGO is there to help its staff not the starving people! If the mzungu has every right to hoodwink us, then how come we dont have a right to hoodwink them? If I took a shot of all the homeless and dying people on Skidrow, and sent out an SOS for them, how far do you think I would go? And what if, for every donation, I kept 80% of it, how soon before I am shut down? Let me be more clearer for you. The Mzungu takes his own dollar, spends 0.8 and gives the african 0.2, why would you complain about that. Do you the beggar want to insist on getting the whole dollar! "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Nabwire wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:I don't buy into this "dog ate my homework" excuses to try and explain our misery. Bottom line is the mzungu has as much right to be selfish as we africans, they also have a right to act in their self interest including hoodwinking us to believe that they are trying to help us.
It is our responsibility as africans to act in our interests and do whatever it takes to succeed, if we can't then too bad. Actually this kind of attitude is what facilitates Africa's rape! You should see the 'save the poor, starving and dying children' ads, its pathetic! I remember some show did a satire on the ads coz the " Ambassadors" for the poor children are always well fed and clothed. Africans need to realize that perception matters alot, the more we allow Africa to be portrayed as a basket case, the more we will stagnate. Ever wondered why those save the children "Ambassadors" never save American children? Believe me there are alot of needy American children too! Coz the US government would never allow their own citizens to be exploited, if 80% of your funding goes towards Administrative purposes, that NGO is there to help its staff not the starving people! If the mzungu has every right to hoodwink us, then how come we dont have a right to hoodwink them? If I took a shot of all the homeless and dying people on Skidrow, and sent out an SOS for them, how far do you think I would go? And what if, for every donation, I kept 80% of it, how soon before I am shut down? @Obi, bravo. To @Nabwire and the ilk, i think yours as much as it is true,you miss the point,the solution. And that is what @ Obi is trying to explain. In short we should all be selfish. The mzungu and the African. But what does the African do, he gets lazy and greedy. He wants to invest 1$ and reap 100$. How is that possible? The mzungu is "smart" and selfish,the African is "lazy" and greedy. The solution is therefore not to hate the mzungu and his ways,but to be smart and selfish. A good example is USAid and the malaria program it was running. Where did the money go? The Africans working there [i personally know several], got "lazy" and greedy. Colluded with some wazungus and they "ate" the funds. How then do you blame the mzungu? "Wajinga ndio waliuwawa". Its our stupidity killing us, not the mzungus wits. There is an election coming here,have you been following the debates? How many are using their minds in their choice of the next leader? How can you use emotion where a functioning brain is needed and expect to come out better? Tuache ujinga na tutatoboa. Otherwise the mzungu has just an easy target,why blame him? Why do you think the mzungu doesn't pull the same on most of the Asian countries? It's because they are smart and selfish.
@mkeiyd - you are slowly replacing @guka as my hero on this site. I like your deliberations.
Sisi especially Wakenya we are such escapists! The problems are there, solutions come in (some with NGO's), but we each take our share and then leave the mzungu with the rest. And with this kind of selfishness we expect to deliver some sort of social justice? equality? reprieve? NONSENSE!!! Recall the AIDS body - a Kenya Govt. body that was spending only 3% or so on actual AIDS related stuff? Was it full of mzungu? was it headed by a mzungu?
Let's think!! the fault is with this escapism and self-preservation tactics at the expense of national momentum which has become norm in our country. The same fuels corruption levels that are possibly highest in the world at the moment. I agree that corruption networks are topped by some westerners - but they are originated and facilitated by our own pple - politicians and corporate types alike!!
You know what I give up!! Honestly the next time a mzungu calls you ignorant or inferior to him, please bow down and accept, coz thats essentially what you are doing here. No one has answered my question of why isnt the African allowed to set up NGOs and keep 80% of the proceeds? One thing I will admire about Westerners is they dont have this defeatist mentality that most of you have, they will never say since X is exploiting us, why not let Y exploit us too? They will fight to the death to keep their dignity. Do you not see anything wrong with using images of starving children to collect money and build yourself a mansion? Sigiriri define Escapism, coz what you are advocating is actually escapist. They are taking 80%, lets bury our heads in the sand and just accept the 20%. At this rate and with this kind of thinking, Africa will be recolonized again, oh wait, it already is, grow a spine!!
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:[quote=Nabwire][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi]
Let me be more clearer for you.
The Mzungu takes his own dollar, spends 0.8 and gives the african 0.2, why would you complain about that. Do you the beggar want to insist on getting the whole dollar! First of all its not his own dollar, without the image of the dying, starving child he would not have gotten those donations. And the people donating are thinking that their donations are going to the starving child, not towards "Administrative costs". And next time you are required to pay exorbitant fees so you can beg for a visa to go to Western countries, or when Africa is called a backward/dark/basket continent, please dont complain or when you are always short changed in the business world coz your image is lacking. Its not as simplistic as you are looking at it, and its amazing that you call yourself(Africa) a beggar and inadvertently raise the mzungu to a superior status. Sometimes you cant be mad at the mzungu for thinking of himself as superior, how much easier can you make it for him to eff you up over and over?
What do we do with this mzungu?