wazua Thu, Jan 1, 2026

Unga Prices!
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 12:42:10 PM

I was in shock the other day to see a packet of Jogoo retailing at Shs. 136/- at Uchumi. This was at Shs. 70/- to 78/- for most of last year. I do not buy either maize nor wheat flour. It gave me a feeling that things are getting out of hand.
dasany
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 12:50:53 PM

Just out of curiosity, what do you eat because you have said you dont buy maize or wheat flour?
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 12:51:46 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
I was in shock the other day to see a packet of Jogoo retailing at Shs. 136/- at Uchumi. This was at Shs. 70/- to 78/- for most of last year. I do not buy either maize or wheat flour. It gave me a feeling that things are getting out of hand.

Mid April I bought this stuff at 78/=....kweli dunia imepasuka mahali!!!!
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 12:53:11 PM

Haven't I been crying 'im finished' all this time?

hasnt this been my reason as to why Uhuru is the man to beat in 2012?

welcome to the world.

'
First they came for the Communists but I was not a Communist so I did not speak out. Then they came for the Socialists and the Trade Unionists but I was not one of them, so I did not speak out. Then they came for the Jews but I was not Jewish so I did not speak out. And when they came for me, there was no one left to speak out for me.'
Martin Niemoeller
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 12:54:14 PM

@FA,
Lucky you....For some sticky fellows like myself,it's been slow and very painful.I go to the supermarket with a blackboard and chalk.
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 1:02:13 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
I was in shock the other day to see a packet of Jogoo retailing at Shs. 136/- at Uchumi. This was at Shs. 70/- to 78/- for most of last year. I do not buy either maize or wheat flour. It gave me a feeling that things are getting out of hand.

Makes the two of us. I personally don't buy unga and as a result I was out of touch with the prices till I overheard a conversation a few weeks ago with the price quoted at a hundred and twenty something. I was in total shock!!!
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 1:10:18 PM

@FA,
Lucky you....For some sticky fellows like myself,it's been slow and very painful.I go to the supermarket with a blackboard and chalk.

@guka - Word of advice. Give your wife a lump sum and don't ask for an expenditure breakdown! When you are told "pesa kwisha" go out and look for more na ikikosa, bas! Hakuna jabo rigine.

Trying to keep up with the prices and breakdowns is the shortest route to a heart attack - especially for an old man like you.
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 1:10:52 PM

FundamentAli wrote:

Makes the two of us. I personally don't buy unga and as a result I was out of touch with the prices till I overheard a conversation a few weeks ago with the price quoted at a hundred and twenty something. I was in total shock!!!

So Maich what do you eat? You may help some of us to cut costs.Drool
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 1:19:43 PM

@FA,

@guka - Word of advice. Give your wife a lump sum and don't ask for an expenditure breakdown! When you are told "pesa kwisha" go out and look for more na ikikosa, bas! Hakuna jabo rigine.

Trying to keep up with the prices and breakdowns is the shortest route to a heart attack - especially for an old man like you.

@Maich,
I would have posted a story....but for the many eyes and ears.Drool Drool Pray
vin
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 1:20:09 PM

So Maich what do you eat? You may help some of us to cut costs.Drool [/quote]
That is a funny quip.I actually think that Maich meant that he personally don't go to buy unga.I am at pain to imagine how my grandma can afford this daily meal.How can we as Kenyans come to the aid of our people who can not even afford it at 50 bob.we really need someone to do something or something is done to someone to put this price hike in check.
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 1:32:38 PM

@FA,

@Maich,
I would have posted a story....but for the many eyes and ears.Drool Drool Pray

@guka - If you are afraid the money will be ongeried [I hope this is not the case], you can ask for the supermarket receipt and look at the total [only]. You can also skim through the list [without looking at the prices] to ensure hakuna vitu funny funny zimenunuliwa! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
danas10
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 2:41:27 PM

FundamentAli wrote:

Ati??? wah wah...i have shares ni some kisiagi huko shaggs so nimeshtuka hiyo bei!!!!!!
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 3:21:13 PM

dasany wrote:
Just out of curiosity, what do you eat because you have said you dont buy maize or wheat flour?

Potatoes, bananas, githeri & rice.
For Sport
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 3:25:01 PM

FundamentAli wrote:

Do Kenyans have a breaking point on these food prices?
Burning Spear
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 3:38:55 PM

"ngunjagutu"

this kind of delicacy was very famous when we were young and especially when things were tough.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Seq Lu
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 3:57:37 PM

Its called Inflation daffynition - Cutting money in half without damaging the paper
They keep moving the cheese

stolen from opensuse forums :)
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 6:42:33 PM

FundamentAli wrote:

My favourite Hostess was retailing at 149/- at Tuskies!Sad
Nowadays we dont throw away leftover Ugali, we sprinle some water over it and warm the stuff in Microwave oven.
Ni kubaya.Pray

#18 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 7:04:35 PM

FundamentAli wrote:

My favourite Hostess was retailing at 149/- at Tuskies!Sad
Nowadays we dont throw away leftover Ugali, we sprinle some water over it and warm the stuff in Microwave oven.
Ni kubaya.Pray

Next time, store it in a plastic bag or in a covered container... it wont get hard and wont need water when warming.
jawz1
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 7:06:05 PM

Ni kubaya.Pray

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I'm laughing despite tears running down my face Sad Sad Sad
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
keke2
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 7:23:20 PM

The only way is too go pastas,ngwashe,githeri and rice way.Ugali once in 2wks!
Natuwache cooking hard ugali.needs to be porridge like and sticky kidogoSad good for our bowels too.