Market
Technical
Only 400 have hamaad - ported
By Friday last week, only 400 people had filed requests to port their mobile phone numbers: http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/ph29e1/-/index.html
This MNP thing is going to flop...and with it, Airtel will also go to the dogs.... Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 1,491 Location: Nairobi
I couldnt agree more these kuhama thing is just not working Number one most of us rely on Mpesa and it is everywhere. How many Zap agents do u see around? Kenya ni yetu sisi sote
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/12/2010 Posts: 1,199 Location: Eastlander
DN Tue..April12,2011 wrote: Porting Access Kenya Ltd, the company engaged to manage mobile number portability, targets at least 300,000 ports a year, for it to break even.
To beat this target, the firm must process over 25,000 ports a month. But that, too, looks unlikely. Information Permanent Secretary Dr Bitange Ndemo has painted a dim picture of the service.....
Now...if ever there was a ranking of worst,most ill advised investment venture of the year.. this one wins hands down!!..on all counts.. revenues, Return on Investment, Innovation, new product..market penetration..actually..no competition and you still flop!!.. .. @Portin Access Kenya Ltd,Airtel, na wengineo. Samahani, wateja wa nambari mnazotafuta, wamewaruka! ..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16 - 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
DN Tue..April12,2011 wrote: Information Permanent Secretary Dr Bitange Ndemo has painted a dim picture of the service.
Last week, he said it will be undermined by the fact that many Kenyans already have adopted a multi-SIM model, which enables them to enjoy the services of two or more networks.
“It (number portability) fails everywhere but we had to do it. People have many phones and so why would they move when they are already customers in the various networks? I cannot see it succeeding,” said Mr Ndemo.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 3/15/2011 Posts: 33 Location: Nairobi
I agree with this view. There is a key value added service (MPesa) that is connected to (or ridding on) the Safaricom Sim Card. Unless it is de-linked, its hard to see how this scheme will succeed.
ProverB wrote:DN Tue..April12,2011 wrote: Porting Access Kenya Ltd, the company engaged to manage mobile number portability, targets at least 300,000 ports a year, for it to break even.
To beat this target, the firm must process over 25,000 ports a month. But that, too, looks unlikely. Information Permanent Secretary Dr Bitange Ndemo has painted a dim picture of the service.....
Now...if ever there was a ranking of worst,most ill advised investment venture of the year.. this one wins hands down!!..on all counts.. revenues, Return on Investment, Innovation, new product..market penetration..actually..no competition and you still flop!!.. .. @Portin Access Kenya Ltd,Airtel, na wengineo. Samahani, wateja wa nambari mnazotafuta, wamewaruka! Whoever came up with this Porting Access Kenya Ltd is going to get his fingers seriously burnt. It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
Rank: Member Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 286 Location: Nairobi
I hope at the end of the month, CCK will come clear on the status of MNP - total number ported; and to which operators. It would be irresponsible of CCK to create so much hype about a technology and drive the industry to invest so much; and then just keep quiet about it. At the very list, Kenyan subscribers should be updated on status of MNP and impact. If CCK goes to slumber, can Synovate Kenya or some other company do a survey and tell Kenyans the status? The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
bkismat wrote:ProverB wrote:DN Tue..April12,2011 wrote: Porting Access Kenya Ltd, the company engaged to manage mobile number portability, targets at least 300,000 ports a year, for it to break even.
Now...if ever there was a ranking of worst,most ill advised investment venture of the year.. this one wins hands down!!..on all counts.. revenues, Return on Investment, Innovation, new product..market penetration..actually..no competition and you still flop!!.. .. @Portin Access Kenya Ltd,Airtel, na wengineo. Samahani, wateja wa nambari mnazotafuta, wamewaruka! Whoever came up with this Porting Access Kenya Ltd is going to get his fingers seriously burnt. Here is to hoping that it was some politically connected individual involved in some back room deal kind of thing. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
Rank: New-farer Joined: 3/13/2011 Posts: 39 Location: nairobi
Ooh save kenya such idle talk.. Ask the insiders. On 1st april alone, airtel activated thousands of PortINs on the system. I think..if allowed airtel shud publish its MNP REQ Ids to end such ignorant assumptions. Namukhaywa: walk by me & ill take u thea.
Rank: Member Joined: 11/18/2010 Posts: 194 Location: Kenya
aydenjason wrote:Ooh save kenya such idle talk.. Ask the insiders. On 1st april alone, airtel activated thousands of PortINs on the system. I think..if allowed airtel shud publish its MNP REQ Ids to end such ignorant assumptions.
iko wapi LINK ya haya madai?... na uombe usaidiwe kama huelewi mambo ya wazua
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
aydenjason wrote:Ooh save kenya such idle talk.. Ask the insiders. On 1st april alone, airtel activated thousands of PortINs on the system. I think..if allowed airtel shud publish its MNP REQ Ids to end such ignorant assumptions.
Are you an Airtel insider then, championing their causes on Wazua?
Rank: Member Joined: 6/21/2010 Posts: 514 Location: Nairobi
On behalf of other Wazuans Proof ama link tafadhali otherwise Bharti will continue swimming in losses... 'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
dossy7 wrote:I couldnt agree more these kuhama thing is just not working Number one most of us rely on Mpesa and it is everywhere. How many Zap agents do u see around? None from where i am..
spanner wrote:dossy7 wrote:I couldnt agree more these kuhama thing is just not working Number one most of us rely on Mpesa and it is everywhere. How many Zap agents do u see around? None from where i am.. Find it hard to believe that one would port from Safaricom to Airtel knowing very well that they forfeit their Mpesa account with that. Then again for all we know Airtel may be targeting Yu and Orange users and not Safaricom. Personally think that Airtel ought to focus more on ZAP and 3G and less on this kuHAMA stuff. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
Rank: Member Joined: 9/19/2010 Posts: 237 Location: Republic of Graham & Doddsville
The low rate of response towards MNP just serves to show why Airtel & Orange CEOs, so badly, wanted to piggy ride on Safaricom Mpesa service!!! Their wish was for CCK to allow this to happen... they all along knew without that MNP wouldn't work in their favour. For example, l'd luv to port out of Safcon coz l've an issue with my Mkesho service since Aug. last year!!! Lakini sasa nikihama niende Orange naona nikiumia juu Iko Pesa haiko kila mahali... ZAP pia ni ivyoivyo. We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
.. pesky double post,,, He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
I heard the CEO say they were getting more than 1000 porting request a day but many of them would come back asking them to reverse it due to frustrations caused by safaricom.In that safaricom fails to lock out their ported customers from their system as written in their agreement. I think safaricom is playing dirty to frustrate this kuhama business and it should trend carefully not to be labelled as a bully hence helping Airtel get sympathy porting/subscription. I think this MNP is good in that it keeps dominant players on their toes hence enhancing the quality of their networks,therefore if this exercise is frustrated and Airtel looses this fight we will be in trouble.As a die hard safaricom subscriber I wish many pple port so that Airtel can remain afloat. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
porting wont work in an environment where there is multiple sim phones, i think it is given that whoever has mpesa would want to hold on to it....the rest is porojo.. If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
So I'm listening to this lady Mwende on CapitalFM from CCK about porting. My take:
*Safaricom is not keen to help people port. If you say you want to port and you get lost in space it's your problem
*Airtel are never very straightforward in their communication. They make everything look like chap-chap. Then you realise your number is off-air for 48 hrs then they blame others.
*CCK can only rely on operators who are more tech, more efficient, more budget. So they only intervene with a commission of inquiry when you are floating in space.
It would be fool-hardy to be the guineua pig. All sense dictates you wait just a little bit. And Mwenda doesn't want to commit on the numbers, and says the success on portability is not the numbers but blah blha...
Agree with @Elder, where's Airtel's 3G? More would hama then.
Market
Technical
Only 400 have hamaad - ported