wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Runda fights against intrusion by Nairobi road
yekeyeke
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 11:46:12 AM

These Rundans are at it again. However what dont get is walikuwa wapi all this time when 1) the road was conceived 25 years ago 2) when nema gave approval 3) when the convstruction of both bypasses as flagged of by baba wa taifa in 2009.

When will these people ever learn that Nairobi is choking and we need roads and more roads.....and tha fact that they themselves help in clogging the roads as each house has an average f 4-5 cars each.

Thys should just drive around and look at what is happeing on Thika road and they will see what i mean.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/siqywez/-/index.html
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 11:55:33 AM

yekeyeke, agreed! Government should go ahead with the plan to ease traffic
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 12:43:16 PM

GoK should just build the road... Tell the folks in Runda their actions amount to IMPUNITY... similar to land grabbing!!!

IMHO, the value of the land in Runda will RISE after the road goes through since it will be easier to move in/out of Runda...
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:02:37 PM

this guys should go and kill themselves 4 all i care.
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:20:47 PM

IMHO, the value of the land in Runda will RISE after the road goes through since it will be easier to move in/out of Runda...

You know what that means? More matatus! I think that is the nightmare they are fearing
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:45:28 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

You know what that means? More matatus! I think that is the nightmare they are fearing
Well, if they 'donate' a house to the Police Commish as an official residence... as close to the road as possible... LOL... that shud solve the matatu menace!
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:50:26 PM

The dogs and the parrots will be traumatized...
mozenrat
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 1:54:57 PM

Why are more matatus in their neighbourhood a bad thing? si nizakuwabeba?
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 2:15:08 PM

mozenrat wrote:

Kila mtu ako na gari yake huko
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 2:45:08 PM

The last time we had this debate; I was almost lynched for siding with the Rundans.

True; the shilling value of the plots will go up; but the aesthetic value will drop significantly.

Also; is a road designed 25 years ago still a valid proposition today?

Any way, don't bite me: I'm just trying to bring in the other side of the coin...
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 2:55:34 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
mozenrat wrote:
Some have 2. Ya weekday na ya weekend... Kweli!
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 2:56:44 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
mozenrat wrote:
Some have 2. Ya weekday na ya weekend... Kweli!

#13 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 3:12:57 PM

...The Rundans have a point and they should be listened to... sasa makelele kila mahali... Those who who want noise and chaos have chosen to live in eastlands...Why disturb the peace of others who want quiet life?
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 3:31:17 PM

They do have a point, a very valid one at that. But the road plan was done 25 yrs ago and they know that. So they cant be making noise now.
#15 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 11:20:42 PM

Ati the road will affect their lifestyle. Are these guys serious? So the rest of the city lives in perennial jams just to accomodate their 'lifestyle'. The government will proceed with the plan www.businessdailyafrica....04/-/6d6jlk/-/index.html
mv_ufanisi
#16 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 10:35:58 AM

Runda - uptown will meet downtown. Some of the people who live here never see Kenyans from lower economic classes. Their life is Runda-Villagemarket-Office-Airport. Welcome to the real Kenya Rundans. This is not S.Africa mjifungie hivyo. On a different note why don't the billionaires in Kenya ever donate their money to charity like in the US. Kenyans who make it in this society owe a debt to it.
Mtublack
#17 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 11:36:08 AM

The whole issue here IMHO is not about the road its about a class fight. the question is why should the elite get their way while the rest of humanity have to give way to a goverment projects. if the road was not passing through their posh neighbourhood would they have given a hoot about the envoronment?
Some you win some you lose
Mkimwa
#18 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 1:38:45 PM

@mukiha

On a matter of principle, a road was planned 25 years ago, govt bought land for the road. If anyone settled illegally on the road, then they have grabbed land, and the structures should be demolished, just like all others were in Githurai, and the greater Thika Road.

IMHO, this is a case of lack of due diligence or ignoring material facts, that may have seemed immaterial. If they knew that there was a planned road through that coffee farm, and still went ahead with the estate, they have themselves to blame. If they didnt know, then they did not do proper due diligence before starting the estate.

Either way, as a matter of principle, the government has done the right thing in constructing that bypass via the estate.

Putting myself in their shoes, I would agree with Runda residents that the govt can seek an alternative path for the bypass.. Question is, where will the land come from? Who will pay for it? and why should there be different treatment from all those other guys whose buildings were demolished summarily, including Nakumatt, Roy transporters, kitisuru and spring valley mansions e.t.c.?
#19 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 4:49:13 PM

@Mukiha,

Are you sure you have nothing against road expansion in general? I remember you arguing that thika road should not have been expanded!
yekeyeke
#20 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 5:44:48 PM

@ robinhood. i agree with your comments. @mukiha is not all together. He kind of tends to love the rich and hate the poor.