wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

Hemiplegia - in a child
Mtublack
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 1:37:08 PM

My son is two years old and suffers from this condition, any body in Wazua who have any exprience with this or any info that can help him.I have been taking him fot occupation Therapy fot the last one year and there is a tremedeous improvement. what toys should I buy to stimulate activities on the weaker side

what about in long term what do I need to do to make his life a bit more easy
Some you win some you lose
#2 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 1:59:26 PM

@Mtublack,
Pole sana kaka.....It touches me a lot to see kids with conditions but that's life and all we can do is give love.I know you want to go that extra mile for him...I have been there but on something different which got cured and i know how it feels and what it takes.Feel encourage.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 2:04:18 PM

Mtublack wrote:
My son is two years old and suffers from this condition, any body in Wazua who have any exprience with this or any info that can help him.I have been taking him fot occupation Therapy fot the last one year and there is a tremedeous improvement. what toys should I buy to stimulate activities on the weaker side

what about in long term what do I need to do to make his life a bit more easy

Am glad you have accepted his situation and are out to give him the best. Am proud of you! most parents hide children with unique conditions for whatever reason. While i do not have experience on this particular condition, i thought this site(i had actually not heard of this condition before so i decided to check it out to know what it is) could give you some info and also some experiences of those who have had the condition. Will check around too and if i get anything of help will report back.

http://www.hemihelp.org....pporting_child/parents/
Mtublack
#4 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 2:22:31 PM

@ Njunge
Thanks for the encouragement being my first kid it is not easy but i dont think as a parent one has the option of giving up by the way he is an overly jovial boy and the brain injury was told was not very acute

@ Wedz
Thanks for the website is quite informative
. I would never hide my son and prefered to ask for information without the usual stratergy of saying a kid of my friend............

I need toys for the boy his weaker side is starting to be a Bit active it doesnt have to be medically justified any idea from practical parenting is wellcome

#5 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 2:36:17 PM

@Mtublack
You are the type of men that we need in this country.Men who face what life brings and make the best of it.I have not heard of this condition before but I know you will find a way out!Please fill us in when you do!
#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 3:46:39 PM

Pole kaka.All will be well with God's grace.

Fundaah
#7 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 4:45:33 PM

Mtublack....you are a great person...a great father ....may God fill you with his blessings as you continue to take care of this angel boy.....Please let us know if there is a way we can help as Wazua brethrens....
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 4:53:03 PM

Fundaah wrote:
Mtublack....you are a great person...a great father ....may God fill you with his blessings as you continue to take care of this angel boy.....Please let us know if there is a way we can help as Wazua brethrens....

One way to help is to try find out the kind of toys he should buy his son to assist him in stimulating movement... other exercise equipments too that he can acquire would be of help. May be you can check out with your friends during the weekend starting tomorrow

Mtublack
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 5:17:11 PM

Thanks guys for the moral support
Guys Hemi plegia is not actually such a desparate case its totally different from a full case of Celebral palsy. the child may not totally recover but part of brain that is not damaged in a child learns to carry out the activites of the other side as such all what is needed is to stimulate thosen activities. thats why OT is very crucial( hence my enquiries of the Toy)

In my boy's case its not noticable until you realise he cant use one of his hands.and trust me where I attend the clinic there are actually cases that are really sad

But what really saddens me is the frustration most mothers who brings their Kid there. they are so fruastrated an sometimes bitter with their Kids. I never used to know where but later on i came to realise its because most of them have no support from there husband.you should hear some of the stories incuding abandonment etc I had a woman whose inlaws chased one woman kwetu
telling her in our family we dont give birth to cripples

The truth of the matter is in most case the mothers cannot work but has to become a full time mother so if you dont support her financially and more importantly emotionally its a bit tricky.

treat the kid as a normal kid and every one will treat him the same way discrimanate against him and people will look on him with pity and sympathy
for me I think am lucky went to school unlike some parents so am able to embrace my kid totally

suprising very few people including my family friends who we interact with even with in company of the boy know my son has handicap not cause am hiding him but I believe its very necessary to treat him as a normal kid so that he live a normal life

Ric dees
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 5:41:00 PM

@Mtublack,

Thats the way forward, and it will be ok, try and look at the below link, if there is a toy that would specifically help him and is not available locally, give me a shout will ship it out to you no cost. All the best man, give a hi five to the little man from me.

http://www.chasa.org/hand.htm

deez dot ric at gmail dot com

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Mtublack
#11 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 5:54:53 PM

@ Ricdees
Thanks alot for the link and the offer if am stuck will certainly let you know

like you byline also its quite inspiring especially in my case its been step by step

Thats what I like Wazua bring you problem here its goldmine for info

cheers
#12 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 7:24:00 PM

wewe ni mzazi wa kweli kabisa! Barikiwa tena saidi.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, August 03, 2010 8:50:20 PM

How old is he?

#14 Posted : Wednesday, August 04, 2010 11:38:56 AM

How old is he?

@2012,
Ngai!!!...Pray Pray ...
#15 Posted : Wednesday, August 04, 2010 1:36:37 PM

...Mungu ponyesha na ubariki huyo mtoto na baba yake...
#16 Posted : Wednesday, August 04, 2010 4:43:18 PM

Tunaomba Mungu amponye mwanao
thuks
#17 Posted : Wednesday, August 04, 2010 8:40:30 PM

Njunge wrote:
How old is he?

@2012,
Ngai!!!...Pray Pray ...

two
I care!
#18 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 12:28:14 AM

It must have been something that happened during birth. The occupational therapy and physiotherapy will help a lot. In respect to his age, if his he can speak a few words now and his speech develops appropriately, and there are no other congenital problems, then his ability to learn is increased. His milestones will be delayed, not like other children, but with time and effort and prayers, he will get there.

There is a boy who works in IT, has signs of developmental delay. I saw him fix a laser printer in record time, and I was greatly impressed. That boy, despite his awkward movements and his affected speech, has skills in IT.

Don't give up hope. Give him all the care he needs. He'll turn out alright.
funnyguy
#19 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 11:05:16 AM

Ric dees wrote:

@Mtublack,

Thats the way forward, and it will be ok, try and look at the below link, if there is a toy that would specifically help him and is not available locally, give me a shout will ship it out to you no cost. All the best man, give a hi five to the little man from me.

http://www.chasa.org/hand.htm

deez dot ric at gmail dot com

Wow. This is what Wazua's all about!
@mtublack, you're an encouragement to men folk! God's grace is sufficient indeed.
Mtublack
#20 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 12:57:27 PM

jguru wrote
It must have been something that happened during birth. The occupational therapy and physiotherapy will help a lot. In respect to his age, if his he can speak a few words now and his speech develops appropriately, and there are no other congenital problems, then his ability to learn is increased. His milestones will be delayed, not like other children, but with time and effort and prayers, he will get there.

There is a boy who works in IT, has signs of developmental delay. I saw him fix a laser printer in record time, and I was greatly impressed. That boy, despite his awkward movements and his affected speech, has skills in IT.

Don't give up hope. Give him all the care he needs. He'll turn out alright

yes the boy was preterm stayed in nursery for 5weeks. He can prounce on or two words mainly mum ( Somebody tell them there is no harm in starting with dad or baba Sad )

hope he turns out ok as you say mentally cause that actualy what really matters but that will only be evident I think in few years time. On the physical milestones we were quite lucky we recongonised the problem early hence started the OT quite early normally what have seen is that most of the kids tend to start OT when there are two years or even more. Hence sometimes its almost impossible to rectify some issues