wazua Tue, Mar 24, 2026

12 Pages«<34567>»
What's the Worst mistake and/Best decision you have made in the NSE todate?
PKoli
#41 Posted : Friday, July 30, 2010 12:39:55 PM

The people who bought at 53, even if they were to consider the dividends alone, must be smilling. This is a super stock.
shauriyako
#42 Posted : Friday, July 30, 2010 3:32:09 PM

Then the mother of all my mistakes came in 2008.
After the PEV I salvaged my modest holding in the market and went into the matatu industry hoping for quick money. I hoped to reinvest the returns in the market regularly - my thinking then was 50K a month - how wrong I was. My net earnings were about 30% of the 50K. I reliased my crew was putting on weight both literaly and financialy. I quit matatu business having a cool 1.2M in sunk costs as I could not sell the van.
I am now wiser & only do business that I have control over & pay salaries rather than guys paying themselves and then giving me their pocket change.
When we wake up in the morning, we have two simple choices. Go back to sleep and dream, or wake up and chase those dreams. The choice is yours! .
winston
#43 Posted : Friday, July 30, 2010 3:55:31 PM

Buying paka at 10/= now stuck with more than 60% loss.

Best decision...yet to come.
PKoli
#44 Posted : Friday, July 30, 2010 4:04:02 PM

@Winston,

That what happens when one is in a speculative market. Please sell at a loss and move on. You could buy some stock that will give you dividends.
winston
#45 Posted : Friday, July 30, 2010 4:23:21 PM

@Pkoli - Thanks. Have been mulling on selling and moving on but decided to wait for this year's result and see how it goes
#46 Posted : Friday, July 30, 2010 4:42:30 PM

Buying CMC at 22

trooperj
#47 Posted : Friday, July 30, 2010 5:50:37 PM

buying EACBL at 77 post split, it was my 1st stock dont think i`ll ever recover from that. i still hold them for sentimental value lol
tkzee
#48 Posted : Friday, July 30, 2010 5:57:14 PM

kyt wrote:
indeed none like kengen walala.

True to that.I gather people made fortunes partly cuz the ATS was not there.Many dealers made cash out of that loop hole.
''i can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies,but not the madness of people''-Isaac Newton
Gatheuzi
#49 Posted : Friday, July 30, 2010 7:30:21 PM

Best decision: Bying KQ @ 17 and selling @ 80 6months later back in 2005.

Worst decision: trying to repeat the KQ magic, I bought KQ in 2007 @ 72, it fell to 20, but I never increased the volumes. I still have it to this day. Luckily the volume was jusk 1K.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
mzeiya411
#50 Posted : Friday, July 30, 2010 8:00:47 PM

tkzee wrote:
My first buy Mumias @55 after asking 'the broker' and she told me "naona watu wakinunua Mumias hiyo ndiyo inashika sana saa hii" I haven't decided whether that was my biggest mistake or my best lesson.

@2012,that was a pick up line and a half.hata mimi i bought Msc IPO with ma little 10k from campus only to sell later @ 12.50 and start a fresh.

@tkzee, Got Mumias IPO when i started campo and exited @64 when i finished. That was my 'tarmacking' chapaa. smile smile
12 Pages«<34567>»