thuks
#1 Posted : Monday, July 26, 2010 11:21:47 PM

thuks
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 9:20:28 AM

this is the third time they are tryingSad
I care!
conos
#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 1:21:28 PM

if greens win they might get us green cards to US.if reds win and they get us red cards where will they take us?? afghan? somalia? iraq???????????Pray Pray Pray
vote green
ukiona choo kwa ndoto usiingie, ni mtego!
kenyayetu
#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 3:32:23 PM

Hi Conos.... it depends on where Greens are leading us... (which looks like over a precipice to me)... there you need breaks man....

Another thing...
voting NO does not mean I hate this country
voting NO does not mean I love the current constitution to bits in its totality
voting NO does not mean I am an anti-reformer....

It simply means that the proposed draft is introducing issues and things which I cannot live with:

Article 2 (6) of the Proposed Constitution of Kenya (PCK), makes all conventions and treaties that have been ratified by Kenya AUTOMATICALLY part of the law of Kenya. In contrast, the Bomas, Wako and the previous drafts under this review had provisions for Parliament to approve the ratification of treaties before Kenya became a
party to them.
THERE SHOULD BE NO LEGISLATION WITHOUT REPRESENTATION (This is a cardinal and fundamental rule of democracy).

Article 14 (4) of the Proposed Constitution of Kenya, presumes any child who is under the age of 8 years, whose nationality and parents are not known to be a citizen of Kenya by birth. The danger is that it gives a loophole for the borders of Kenya to be open and subject to infiltration and abuse. Article 17 (2) which is meant to check this, is insufficient in light of the realities on the ground.

Article 26 (4) Abortion
Article 26 (4) provides that abortion is not permitted unless, in the opinion of a trained health professional there is need for emergency treatment or the life or the health of the mother is in danger or if permitted by any other written law. You need to read this in the context of Article 2 (6) AND Article 43 (1)(g) as well.

Article 33- Freedom of Expression.
Freedom of artistic creativity – if not defined often ends up as a simple term for pornography.
Indeed, in the USA the Courts have used this as a ground not to restrict pornography. Why did the CoE have to remove from sub article (2), the express prohibition of pornography, as was inserted by the PSC in their draft-at Naivasha? Pornography may include public nudity and nude parties.

Secondly, there is risk given that due to the casual way these rights have been worded, we may
potentially find ourselves hindered from ever expressing our opinions on issues to do with race, sex, pregnancy, marital status, health status, ethnic or social origin, colour, age, disability, religion, conscience, belief, culture, dress and language. This has happened in countries like the UK and Canada, where even Christian preachers have been prosecuted for hate speech, for example for preaching against homosexuality, atheism etc

Check out these links on a Swedish Pastor's brush with the Law:

Mark you, this is Sweden.... did you notice that they mentioned INTERNATIONAL LAW, the one that the COE wants to entrench in the draft? Did Wanjiku ask for this... I think NOT

Pastor Jailed for Homosexuality Sermon

The moral questions in this draft are not negotiable for me..... roho safi.... I am peacefully voting NO

conos wrote:
if greens win they might get us green cards to US.if reds win and they get us red cards where will they take us?? afghan? somalia? iraq???????????Pray Pray Pray
vote green

thuks
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 10:52:22 PM

kenyayetu wrote:
Hi Conos.... it depends on where Greens are leading us... (which looks like over a precipice to me)... there you need breaks man....

conos wrote:
vote green

Voting No does not mean i hate this country
true
Voting No does not mean i like the current constitution but can live with it for another 20 years

Pornography= is free in the internet even as we argue
Saying yes repeals the current constitution and all laws and treaties not consistent with the constitution (as passed) are void to the extent of the inconsistency

article 14(14) I don't get the beef here
I care!
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 11:07:10 AM

@kenyayetu, on the presumption of citizenship by birth, what would you prefer we do for all those infants abandoned at birth all over the country, ship them to guantanamo? You sound well versed in the law and if you are, then you should know that presumptions are rebuttable-presumption of marriage, death, sound mind etc
tony stark
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 2:02:16 PM

kenyayetu wrote:

Freedom of artistic creativity – if not defined often ends up as a simple term for pornography.
Indeed, in the USA the Courts have used this as a ground not to restrict pornography. Why did the CoE have to remove from sub article (2), the express prohibition of pornography, as was inserted by the PSC in their draft-at Naivasha? Pornography may include public nudity and nude parties.

Kenyans just love seen laws written on paper but never ever implemented. Look at the copyright laws and how many times do you watch 50 bob series.
By not writing down does not mean it is allowed in fact parliament can now legislate through an act of parliament without contravening the constitution.
Nway I Love porno and Writing down laws doesn't mean I will stop watching porno!!
real cindano
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 2:09:30 PM

Tony stark ..................
I see you have come out of the closet .....................
I can see you are a homo wanker .....................
Do not think this constitution will protect you ..................
From Kenyans who hate homos like you ............
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 9:20:45 PM

first porno's, next we are going to be calling for the banning of miniskirts; women wearing trousers...mambo gani hii?
kenyayetu
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 2:52:01 AM

The debate on the draft constitution in my opinion boils down to a personal moral question that I hope most Kenyans will ask themselves... Do we want God to play a central role in our lives as a country or not.... Porn is content I freely choose not to consume... it is morally unethical from my perspective and it is a distortion of a beautiful gift God gave mankind and one which he decided how and when it should be enjoyed... in the context of marriage....

I have no quarrel with anyone... I stand by convictions that this draft in the context of Kenya the country is not going to solve anything.... all it will do is give evil (Abortion on Demand, etc) a means to operate in a legal manner.... this is strucutured evil and I cannot sanction it.... whether it passes or not, I have made my stand.... peacefully voting NO
kenyayetu
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 2:58:29 AM

Have you noticed that the draft does not mention WHAT we will do? Granting the citizenship does not put food on their table, or a roof over their head.

If we really care, then as a nation we need to strengthen the institutions of the adoption and the extended family... anyway, I think as a country we have more serious problems e.g. Malaria epidemics.

I have not heard of this issue as a "National Disaster".. I think you are blowing it out of proportion.... what are the numbers that you speak of. Support your assertions with numbers... and anyway, I do not think that the evidence warrants such an entry in the draft.

We need to look at the articles in the draft objectively... not the like the blind men of Hindustan regarding the proverbial elephant they were trying to describe.

@kenyayetu, on the presumption of citizenship by birth, what would you prefer we do for all those infants abandoned at birth all over the country, ship them to guantanamo? You sound well versed in the law and if you are, then you should know that presumptions are rebuttable-presumption of marriage, death, sound mind etc

kenyayetu
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 3:07:55 AM

Article 14 (4) A child found in Kenya who is, or appears to be, less than eight years of age, and whose nationality and parents are not known, is presumed to be a citizen by birth.

This is a strange provision... if we have mechanisms to determine birth... e.g. Birth Certificates, then this provision negates that.

We can have an easy influx of children being "imported" into this country by our neighbours... our nationality is subject to be open to abuse... further putting more strain on scarce government resources to take care of these strange children... from SOmalis, Ethiopians, Sudanese, Ugandans, Tanzanians (and God know s who else) who cannot take care of all their kids could just send some to Kenya and hope that the "benevolent" state of Kenya, financed by your taxes and mine) will give them a decent life... this is a recipe for the Internationalization of our country... in 20 years ask yourself.. what will it mean to be Kenyan?... Nothing

Another issue is that it can open up the country to child trafficking... this is an international scourge that we cannot manage easily

kenyayetu wrote:

Another thing...
voting NO does not mean I hate this country
voting NO does not mean I love the current constitution to bits in its totality
voting NO does not mean I am an anti-reformer....

It simply means that the proposed draft is introducing issues and things which I cannot live with:

Article 2 (6) of the Proposed Constitution of Kenya (PCK), makes all conventions and treaties that have been ratified by Kenya AUTOMATICALLY part of the law of Kenya. In contrast, the Bomas, Wako and the previous drafts under this review had provisions for Parliament to approve the ratification of treaties before Kenya became a
party to them.
THERE SHOULD BE NO LEGISLATION WITHOUT REPRESENTATION (This is a cardinal and fundamental rule of democracy).

Article 14 (4) of the Proposed Constitution of Kenya, presumes any child who is under the age of 8 years, whose nationality and parents are not known to be a citizen of Kenya by birth. The danger is that it gives a loophole for the borders of Kenya to be open and subject to infiltration and abuse. Article 17 (2) which is meant to check this, is insufficient in light of the realities on the ground.

Article 26 (4) Abortion
Article 26 (4) provides that abortion is not permitted unless, in the opinion of a trained health professional there is need for emergency treatment or the life or the health of the mother is in danger or if permitted by any other written law. You need to read this in the context of Article 2 (6) AND Article 43 (1)(g) as well.

Secondly, there is risk given that due to the casual way these rights have been worded, we may
potentially find ourselves hindered from ever expressing our opinions on issues to do with race, sex, pregnancy, marital status, health status, ethnic or social origin, colour, age, disability, religion, conscience, belief, culture, dress and language. This has happened in countries like the UK and Canada, where even Christian preachers have been prosecuted for hate speech, for example for preaching against homosexuality, atheism etc

Check out these links on a Swedish Pastor's brush with the Law:

Mark you, this is Sweden.... did you notice that they mentioned INTERNATIONAL LAW, the one that the COE wants to entrench in the draft? Did Wanjiku ask for this... I think NOT

Pastor Jailed for Homosexuality Sermon

The moral questions in this draft are not negotiable for me..... roho safi.... I am peacefully voting NO

conos wrote:
vote green

#13 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 6:24:39 AM

kupigia mbuzi guitar..."♬..this is a bad♪ draft, Abortion ...♬ gay marriages...♬, very big government...♬, international law...♬, not representative...♪,too many commissions without tenure...♬, ...aG without tenure...♬...etc"
Mtu Biz
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 9:11:16 AM

kupigia mbuzi guitar..."♬..this is a bad♪ draft, Abortion ...♬ gay marriages...♬, very big government...♬, international law...♬, not representative...♪,too many commissions without tenure...♬, ...aG without tenure...♬...etc"

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Sola Scriptura

tony stark
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 29, 2010 11:40:31 AM

kenyayetu wrote:
Article 14 (4) A child found in Kenya who is, or appears to be, less than eight years of age, and whose nationality and parents are not known, is presumed to be a citizen by birth.

This is a strange provision... if we have mechanisms to determine birth... e.g. Birth Certificates, then this provision negates that.

We can have an easy influx of children being "imported" into this country by our neighbours... our nationality is subject to be open to abuse... further putting more strain on scarce government resources to take care of these strange children... from SOmalis, Ethiopians, Sudanese, Ugandans, Tanzanians (and God know s who else) who cannot take care of all their kids could just send some to Kenya and hope that the "benevolent" state of Kenya, financed by your taxes and mine) will give them a decent life...

Kweli you are a true patriot. Kenya government in the same sentence with benevolent ... Oxymoron
Kenya is pretty shitty that the people from the said countries with the exception of Somali are just as pathetic as Kenya.
The reality is no one will send children to Kenya to be citizens!
No one will seek an abortion because the constitution does not explicitly say not to!
And no one will become Gay who was before the constitution
And vote yes or no legislation or no legislation I will still watch my porno!!!
cindano .... Bongo lala wewe
#16 Posted : Sunday, August 01, 2010 12:33:13 PM

kenyayetu, you keep on mentioning God in every statement you make. How then can you abandon those kids sparkly is talking about? Stop being selective. You are being like those pastors who only quote the scriptures that will aid them in fleecing the flock
thuks
#17 Posted : Sunday, August 01, 2010 10:46:14 PM

Today i took time to watch the "NO' and the "YES" on telly. Aki nilionea "NO' sympathy as asked by Kibs the other day

Machage " If the Greens win, then the church will have lost credibility forever"
Ng'ang'a " si wangetuachia tu hiyo Uhuru Park"

The looks on the leaders were also won out

Sorry folks!

compare with this

Kibs "...5th tuendelee kujienjoy as we celebrate a green win"

Rao ".. Kalonzo na mpira, amemchenga Ruto ambaye ameanguka, amempasi Raila, Raila ....'
I care!